We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Steve S
Melbourne, Australia

Don’t know about the Hotel, but this Restaurant is incredible

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 9 Apr 2023via mobile
Didn’t stay there - but we had an amazing dinner.

Zac and Alex have created an incredible restaurant that - if it was in Melbourne - would undoubtedly be considered one of the best and most innovative in town. The fact it’s tucked away in the corner of the sleepy town of Swansea, in just about the most unassuming spot one could imagine, only makes it more impressive. Love it. 10/10. Will return to Swansea just to eat here again.
Date of stay: April 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
0.2 km from Waterloo Inn Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Lol.travel
0.4 km from Waterloo Inn Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$134
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Official Site
    AU$160
1.0 km from Waterloo Inn Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • eDreams
  • Expedia.com
1.7 km from Waterloo Inn Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$137
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.1 km from Waterloo Inn Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
    0.3 km from Waterloo Inn Hotel
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    • Hotels.com
    • Algotels
    • Priceline
    3.3 km from Waterloo Inn Hotel
    Free parking
    Pool
    Cherry Cottage - 2nd bedroom
    • Hotels.com
    • ZenHotels.com
      AU$189
    • Priceline
    0.8 km from Waterloo Inn Hotel
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    • Priceline
    • eDreams
    • Agoda.com
    10.8 km from Waterloo Inn Hotel
    Free parking
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Booking.com
    • ZenHotels.com
      AU$138
    • Hotels.com
    11.5 km from Waterloo Inn Hotel
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    View more hotels in Swansea
    Reviews (139)
    Filter reviews
    139 results
    Traveller rating
    24
    48
    48
    11
    8
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    Traveller rating
    24
    48
    48
    11
    8
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviews third floor room was extremely clean spectacular sunrise food and wine peak season comfortable stay road trip overlooking the bay the east coast one night stay spa bath comfy bed oysters views tasmania zac makeup
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    4 - 9 of 139 reviews
    Reviewed 20 February 2023

    This is a really nice place. We stayed in a room on the third floor with wonderful panoramic views of the bay. It was peaceful and the room was really comfortable, clean and well appointed. Staff were friendly and helpful. Nothing bad to say-just thankyou!

    Date of stay: February 2023
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    Thank Sherpa691784
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 31 January 2023

    Only stayed one night on my Tasmania road trip and was genuinely sorry that I could not stay longer. Lovely friendly staff and spotlessly clean room with what felt like new carpet on the floor and super bedding and towels. Comfy bed and amazing view over the bay- woke up to spectacular sunrise.
    Everything I required for a comfortable stay, crockery, cutlery, glassware, generous tea and coffee supplies, bar fridge and microwave.
    Thank you all for a lovely stay

    Date of stay: January 2023
      • Location
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Eryl E
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 27 October 2022 via mobile

    Very clean and well appointed rooms. Large rooms with dining table. Bathrooms huge with all the amenities you would need. Not the most modern but good quality sheets, towels and bedding.
    Stayed just the one night on a rainy weekend but warm and cosy inside.

    Date of stay: October 2022
    Trip type: Travelled with friends
    Thank Hobartgirl
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 10 August 2022

    The Waterloo Inn is perfectly located in Swansea on Waterloo Point. Overlooking the bay, the rooms have gorgeous views to sit and watch the sun rise or set. We went for a walk around the point, which is listed as one of Tasmania’s 60 Great Short Walks and gives you a magnificent view of the Hazards in Freycinet.

    The room was luxuriously spacious and had everything we needed. The decor suits the style of the Inn and definitely adds to the experience.

    There is also a restaurant on site (it was actually under our room), which served incredible food and wine. We had a long lunch and then retired upstairs for a spa bath. It was devine!

    Date of stay: July 2022
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    Thank dominiquegA1508OZ
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 16 July 2022 via mobile

    This is a review for the restaurant at the Waterloo Inn. Food was sensational! Customer service brilliant. It was like going back to the late 1970s decor wise but the food was out of this world! Seasonal menu and food cooked fresh to order and quickly. Even my 15 year old was genuinely impressed. Fried chicken bites with house mayo, warm olives to start. Risotto with a generous serve of Tasmanian truffle and mushrooms, a beef and red wine pie encased in a magic flaky pastry topped off with devil's food cake. Highly recommended!

    Date of stay: July 2022
    Trip type: Travelled solo
    Thank annamariaw1972
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    View more reviews