We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Ben S
Melbourne, Australia

Step back in time for nostalgic comfortable getaway

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 21 Feb 2024
We spent two nights at Wagner cottages with another couple. We had a two bedroom cottage and they had a single bedroom cottage near the "free" herb vege garden. Our host Belinda was extremely accommodating. Each cottage had all the amenities of home, beautiful fresh baked bread and eggs from her chickens along with cereal and great yogurt from the Tamar valley close by. Stepping into the cottage is like walking back in time with antique furniture in the simple life of the 40's and 50's. They are truly time capsules, even the peacock walking through the garden at dawn created a country nostalgic bygone era feel. Well worth the stay in Swansea. The beds were comfortable and plenty of room. Even the port on the sideboard was a homely touch and unexpected. Security gates allow secure entry exit.
Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kerry Russell, Owner at Wagner's Cottages, responded to this review
Responded 25 Feb 2024
Thank you for the grreeeeaat review !! So happy to see that we ticked some boxes for you during you time with us ! Hopefully you didn't step in any peacock poo.....apparently it is veeeeerry smelly !! Hope you had a safe journey home.

Kind regards......from us all, here at Wagners estate.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Aerial view of Swansea Holiday Park and Schouten Beach
AU$99
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    AU$99
  • eDreams
    AU$99
1.4 km from Wagner's Cottages
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$136
Fully refundable
  • Official Site
    AU$160
  • Expedia.com
    AU$134
  • Priceline
2.3 km from Wagner's Cottages
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$450
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    AU$450
  • eDreams
    AU$450
1.8 km from Wagner's Cottages
Free parking
Pool
AU$138
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    AU$137
  • Tripadvisor
    AU$137
  • Priceline
1.7 km from Wagner's Cottages
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$150
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    AU$150
  • eDreams
    AU$150
9.1 km from Wagner's Cottages
Free parking
a bar in a bedroom
AU$143
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    AU$214
  • Official Site
    AU$100
  • Hotels.com
    AU$204
1.7 km from Wagner's Cottages
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$149
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    AU$149
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$137
  • Priceline
12.9 km from Wagner's Cottages
Free Wifi
Free parking
Go to your Happy Price
  • StayForLong
  • Trip.com
  • Vio.com
1.7 km from Wagner's Cottages
Free Wifi
Free parking
Cherry Cottage - 2nd bedroom
Go to your Happy Price
  • Hotels.com
    AU$230
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$188
  • Expedia.com
    AU$219
2.0 km from Wagner's Cottages
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Expedia.com
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
2.9 km from Wagner's Cottages
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Swansea
Reviews (219)
Filter reviews
219 results
Traveller rating
213
5
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
213
5
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews primrose cottage fresh flowers open fire loaf of bread cakes spa bath breakfast supplies thought of everything finishing touches wished we could have stayed longer extra touches fabulous stay lounge room the east coast lovely touch comfortable bed washing machine
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 219 reviews
Reviewed 17 January 2024

We stayed in the Hollyhock Cottage for 2 nights, and we all had a fantastic time! The owners go to a lot of trouble to provide everything you could possibly need. There was fresh milk (not long life), coffee, a range of tea, fresh eggs from their chickens, yoghurt, freshly made bread, and scones.... even a carafe of port...
There were plenty of blankets, beautifully soft dressing gowns and slippers...
And the gardens were stunning, with an abundance of birdlife.
What was most enjoyable for us, was it was evident that the cottages and everything in them was of the highest quality... from the crockery, to the furnishings, beds...We highly recommend staying here!

Date of stay: December 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Melissa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kerry Russell, Owner at Wagner's Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2024

Melissa ! thank you for the grrrreeeeaatt review !!

So pleasing to see that you enjoyed all that Hollyhock has to offer ! Glad that you got some time to enjoy the grounds during your stay too. Yes, we are lucky to have all the birdlife as part of our gardens particularly the honeyeaters !
Hope you have a safe journey home.
Kind regards........Kerry, Belinda and Angus ( the dog )

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2023 via mobile

We stayed at Wagner’s Cottages as a convenient jump off point for Freycinet National Park, and it was wonderful. The propitiators were friendly and did everything they could to enhance our stay, including making us fresh scones when we came back from hiking, and providing us with freshly laid eggs and just picked grapefruits for breakfast. Ours was the smallest cottage and it was still plenty big and very comfortable for the two of us. It is furnished and decorated with great attention to detail. The grounds are a delight. We will definitely go back if we are fortunate to be back in the area.

Date of stay: October 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank lesliewnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kerry Russell, Owner at Wagner's Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2023

Glad you two enjoyed your stay with us....we enjoyed having you ! Happy that my scones went down a treat too. Hoping you have a safe journey home.
Best wishes from us all here at Wagners Estate.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2023 via mobile

Wagners cottage was exquisite. We felt very at home. So nice to have fresh bread provided along with port and sherry !
Enjoyed getting the open fire 🔥 lit up and settling in on a cold night.
We would definitely stay again if we are in the area. Thank you !

Date of stay: April 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank maninboots
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kerry Russell, Owner at Wagner's Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2024

Sorry it took so long to respond to your terrific review !!

Yes....you cant beat the open fire to sit in front of and wind down after a busy day exploring !!
Best wishes from us all here at Wagners Estate.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2023

Stayed in Hollyhock Cottage at Wagners Cottages. Stay was set up nicely by the care taken to make sure we had lots of information prior to our visit. Comfortable beds, clean rooms and good self contained facilities made it a joy to stay. A surprise was the vivid display of the birds in the nearby gardens. Good for use as base to visit this pristine area.

Room tip: If planning to dine out then it is best to book in advance. Limited local restaurants. No problem if self-catering.
Date of stay: March 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kerry Russell, Owner at Wagner's Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2023

So glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us ......I have just put a new pair of binoculars up at your cottage, for a better view of the abundant birdlife that you witnessed during your time with us. Belinda's peacock Mackey is now starting to strut around too !
Best wishes.......Kerry, Belinda and the birds.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2023

My wife and I stayed at Wagner's Cottages on the night of February 10th, 2023. We stayed in the cottage called The Studio, which has been beautifully rebuilt around the stone ruins of an old stable dating back to 1860. The cottage is absolutely charming, meticulously clean and the owner/manager Belinda has spared no effort in her attention to detail.

There was a fresh loaf of locally-baked sourdough bread for us, the fragrance of which greeted us as we entered the cottage, as well as a decanter of port to sample after dinner. The entire cottage is rustic and lovely, with a vaulted ceiling constructed of shiplapped timber boards with untreated poles as the rafters, their bark still intact. The floorboards are bare Tasmanian oak and there is a lovely English-style cottage garden right outside the French doors, crowded with pink roses, fox paws and other colourful flowers. The space is very private, surrounded by bushes and trees.

The main room is the bedroom, kitchenette and lounge room all in one, with a table, deep comfy armchairs and a TV. The bathroom is very roomy and has a large spa bath to relax in. In fact, the cottage was so welcoming that we decided to forego the search for a local restaurant and just stay in for the afternoon and evening, dining on some crackers and cheese we had brought with us, as well as the tasty sourdough bread. The bed is very comfortable too.

We paid AUD$205 for the one night and do not regret one cent of that (quite reasonable) cost. If we were not on a schedule to get to Port Arthur the next day, we would have stayed another night.

We have no hesitation in recommending Wagner's Cottages to anyone who is passing through the town of Swansea, Tasmania. You will love this place, guaranteed!

Date of stay: February 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Neil Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kerry Russell, Owner at Wagner's Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2023

Whoo hooo ! Thank you for the great review !
Belinda will be happy that you were pleased with our lovely open plan Studio cottage. I have just been up in the garden giving things a bit of a spring feed !
Best wishes from us all here at Wagners Estate.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews