We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
maninboots
Brisbane, Australia

Wonderful Cottage

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 26 Apr 2023via mobile
Wagners cottage was exquisite. We felt very at home. So nice to have fresh bread provided along with port and sherry !
Enjoyed getting the open fire 🔥 lit up and settling in on a cold night.
We would definitely stay again if we are in the area. Thank you !
Date of stay: April 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kerry Russell, Owner at Wagner's Cottages, responded to this review
Responded 17 Jan 2024
Sorry it took so long to respond to your terrific review !!

Yes....you cant beat the open fire to sit in front of and wind down after a busy day exploring !!
Best wishes from us all here at Wagners Estate.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
  • Lol.travel
1.6 km from Wagner's Cottages
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.7 km from Wagner's Cottages
Free Wifi
Free parking
    1.4 km from Wagner's Cottages
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Booking.com
    • Hotels.com
    • Algotels
    1.8 km from Wagner's Cottages
    Free parking
    Pool
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Booking.com
    • Official Site
      AU$160
    • Hotels.com
    2.3 km from Wagner's Cottages
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    • Expedia.com
    • ZenHotels.com
      AU$136
    • Hotels.com
    1.7 km from Wagner's Cottages
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Cherry Cottage - 2nd bedroom
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Hotels.com
    • ZenHotels.com
      AU$183
    • Booking.com
    2.0 km from Wagner's Cottages
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    • Priceline
    • eDreams
    • Agoda.com
    9.1 km from Wagner's Cottages
    Free parking
    a bar in a bedroom
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Booking.com
    • Official Site
      AU$101
    • Hotels.com
    1.7 km from Wagner's Cottages
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Hotels.com
    • ZenHotels.com
      AU$134
    • Booking.com
    12.9 km from Wagner's Cottages
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    View more hotels in Swansea
    Reviews (219)
    Filter reviews
    219 results
    Traveller rating
    213
    5
    1
    0
    0
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    Traveller rating
    213
    5
    1
    0
    0
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviews primrose cottage fresh flowers open fire loaf of bread cakes spa bath breakfast supplies thought of everything finishing touches wished we could have stayed longer extra touches fabulous stay lounge room the east coast lovely touch comfortable bed washing machine
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    7 - 12 of 219 reviews
    Reviewed 2 April 2023

    Stayed in Hollyhock Cottage at Wagners Cottages. Stay was set up nicely by the care taken to make sure we had lots of information prior to our visit. Comfortable beds, clean rooms and good self contained facilities made it a joy to stay. A surprise was the vivid display of the birds in the nearby gardens. Good for use as base to visit this pristine area.

    Room tip: If planning to dine out then it is best to book in advance. Limited local restaurants. No problem if self-catering.
    Date of stay: March 2023
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    Thank John R
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Kerry Russell, Owner at Wagner's Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2023

    So glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us ......I have just put a new pair of binoculars up at your cottage, for a better view of the abundant birdlife that you witnessed during your time with us. Belinda's peacock Mackey is now starting to strut around too !
    Best wishes.......Kerry, Belinda and the birds.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 16 March 2023

    My wife and I stayed at Wagner's Cottages on the night of February 10th, 2023. We stayed in the cottage called The Studio, which has been beautifully rebuilt around the stone ruins of an old stable dating back to 1860. The cottage is absolutely charming, meticulously clean and the owner/manager Belinda has spared no effort in her attention to detail.

    There was a fresh loaf of locally-baked sourdough bread for us, the fragrance of which greeted us as we entered the cottage, as well as a decanter of port to sample after dinner. The entire cottage is rustic and lovely, with a vaulted ceiling constructed of shiplapped timber boards with untreated poles as the rafters, their bark still intact. The floorboards are bare Tasmanian oak and there is a lovely English-style cottage garden right outside the French doors, crowded with pink roses, fox paws and other colourful flowers. The space is very private, surrounded by bushes and trees.

    The main room is the bedroom, kitchenette and lounge room all in one, with a table, deep comfy armchairs and a TV. The bathroom is very roomy and has a large spa bath to relax in. In fact, the cottage was so welcoming that we decided to forego the search for a local restaurant and just stay in for the afternoon and evening, dining on some crackers and cheese we had brought with us, as well as the tasty sourdough bread. The bed is very comfortable too.

    We paid AUD$205 for the one night and do not regret one cent of that (quite reasonable) cost. If we were not on a schedule to get to Port Arthur the next day, we would have stayed another night.

    We have no hesitation in recommending Wagner's Cottages to anyone who is passing through the town of Swansea, Tasmania. You will love this place, guaranteed!

    Date of stay: February 2023
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    Thank Neil Q
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Kerry Russell, Owner at Wagner's Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2023

    Whoo hooo ! Thank you for the great review !
    Belinda will be happy that you were pleased with our lovely open plan Studio cottage. I have just been up in the garden giving things a bit of a spring feed !
    Best wishes from us all here at Wagners Estate.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 19 December 2022

    This is such a gem for accommodation, and to totally appreciate the wonderful facilities, one should stay several nights. We stayed only 1 night, but wished that we had had the time to stay several nights. The studio cottage was very comfortable with many delightful extras. We weren't curious enough though, and only discovered these extras when we were tidying up to leave, and opened more cupboard doors! We did however, explore the garden attached to our studio, and loved this cottage garden and the privacy. Next time, we will book to stay several nights to totally appreciate this lovely accommodation.

    Date of stay: November 2022
      • Value
      • Sleep Quality
      • Service
    Thank Kasia-Marie
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Kerry Russell, Owner at Wagner's Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2024

    Kasia !........My apologies for the late reply ! Thank you for the fabulous review ! Yes.....if you drop by again, you can avail yourself of the little extras and check out Mackie....Belinda's peacock who now gads about the gardens !
    Thank you again.....Kerry, Belinda and Angus....the dog.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 17 December 2022

    Spent two days at Wagners Cottages and wish we had 2 weeks. Cottages are delightful and set up with everything you would need. Immaculate. Owner was delightful and so very helpful to plan out your stay. Great location to visit along the East Coast of Tasmania. We had high expectations for Wagners Cottages but it surpassed all our needs. If you are on the East Coast you must stay at Wagners Cottages.

    Date of stay: November 2022
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    Thank Jeffrey R
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Kerry Russell, Owner at Wagner's Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2024

    My apologies for the late reply you two !! Cannot thank you enough for taking the time to review !! Glad that we met with your expectations too !
    Kind regards .....Kerry, Belinda and the chooks.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 13 December 2022

    Primrose Cottage is a beautifully maintained one bedroom stone cottage with its own semi-formal gardens. It has all the facilities you'd expect and then some. The inclusions and toiletry items are all top notch stuff, no skimping here. It claims to include a continental breakfast but it goes beyond that with fresh eggs provided from the owners' chooks. The owners and managers, Kane and Belinda, are unobtrusive but helpful if needed. All in all an exceptional relaxing experience and very good value. Highly recommended.

    Date of stay: November 2022
    • Trip type: Travelled with friends
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    Thank Y0ttie
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Kerry Russell, Owner at Wagner's Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2023

    Thank you so much for the grreeaat review !
    We have just gotten some more chickens to ensure the egg supply continues unabated !
    Bit of pushing and shoving going on in the chook house at the moment !
    Best wishes Kerry (Kane) and Belinda.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews