We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Scot M

Misrepresented on Air BNB

1.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 19 Feb 2023
We booked the cottage on Air bnb for 2 nights
With the expectation of finding a lovely cottage set in nice gardens .
The main photo on the Air bnb website shows a cottage , with nice green lawns , hedges , green trees along the fence line for privacy .
The gardens have no lawns , no hedges , no trees along the side fence . No plants in the plant pots .
The neighbours look over the property , there is no privacy .The front patio is all cracked and dilapidated .
The photo used do not represent the current property.
We are still fighting with Air bnb to get a refund as we cancelled our stay as soon as we arrived .
This property is misrepresented on Air bnb
Do not waste your time and money on this property .
We are very dissapointed .
Date of stay: February 2023
2.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • eDreams
  • Lol.travel
0.2 km from Keefer's Cottage
Free Wifi
Free parking
eDreams
  • Lol.travel
1.4 km from Keefer's Cottage
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • eDreams
1.5 km from Keefer's Cottage
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Lol.travel
1.2 km from Keefer's Cottage
Free Wifi
Free parking
Aerial view of Swansea Holiday Park and Schouten Beach
Booking.com
  • eDreams
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
1.1 km from Keefer's Cottage
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • Official Site
    AU$160
  • Hotels.com
2.1 km from Keefer's Cottage
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
2.0 km from Keefer's Cottage
Free parking
Pool
View of motel from near the beach area
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$149
  • Hotels.com
1.5 km from Keefer's Cottage
Free Wifi
Free parking
a bar in a bedroom
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • Official Site
    AU$107
  • Hotels.com
1.4 km from Keefer's Cottage
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
9.3 km from Keefer's Cottage
Free parking
View more hotels in Swansea
Reviews (8)
Filter reviews
8 results
Traveller rating
1
0
2
0
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
1
0
2
0
5
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 8 reviews
Reviewed 24 January 2023

Charming cottage with lovely peaceful garden. It was set back from highway so noise was not an issue.
Great amenities- there was a washing machine, line and pegs with detergent provided. Lovely home made cookies were left for us to enjoy ( they were delicious). Glad wrap, baking paper, oil provided for cooking, as well as milk and S&P. Cottage was clean and comfortable. Great to stay in a old stone cottage, but with modern amenities, including reverse cycle aircon. A little out of town, which suited us perfectly, but only a short walk to the conservation beaches and a path into town.
Lovely stay and far better than the previous reviews would indicate.

Date of stay: January 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank FelicityW120
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 September 2019 via mobile

The Keefer’s Cottage located in Swansea is a quaint early Australian stone cottage with a single large bedroom and lounge under the main roof. Located just metres off the main highway the cottage sits amongst a mix of Australian natives and what can be best described as a neighbouring caravan storage that appears to have tenants that come and go.

The cottages rear garden seating looks over and only metres from the neighbouring garage and two caravans and a clothes line. Privacy in this part of the cottage lacks as neighbouring caravan tenants are looking into the rear yard.

On site photos by the owner do not for obvious reasons show this aspect.

The lack of heating and aircon leaves the cottage in the 1800’s with a modern day price tag.

The cottage has single glazing panel windows that do little to keep the cold or the noise from passing cars, trucks and delivery vehicles out.

Heating is provided by a combustion wood heater that has some kindling wood provided and large logs that make it difficult to keep the fire going to get logs burning. Whilst this added to the overall quaint experience the warning by the owner to use the wood sparingly - it will not be topped up - was indicative of owners view of visitors warmth and comfort.

The interior is a mix of early Australian mixed with Freedom furniture, faux leather and guilted mirrors.

Visitors expecting a quaint early Australian stay would be disappointed in the interior.

Site photos show a table spread with breakfast provisions and an elaborate table setting of cups, saucers and plates, creating an expectation that you could expect to have some breakfast provisions provided - it is on a bed and breakfast site after all.

However, there is only a few tea bags provided and no milk, which is far from the normal. Mugs provided for tea and limited cutlery provided saw us washing between food courses.

A spa bath in the bathroom has a large warning sign attached stating not to use it.
We wondered why it simply wasn’t repaired as previous Reviews on Air BnB had highlighted the problem.

Overall a quaint cottage that does not deliver the hype on its site.

Best described unfortunately as “Quaint Australian meets Trailer Park”.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Hwy31
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 October 2017

Stayed two nights at this cosy cottage. I was surprised at most of the cottage's electrical appliances as they looked as good as new, probably because the cottage just got renovated. Also, this place has no heater but it does have a fireplace for you to get warm in the house and an electric heat blanket! Oh, and not forgetting a variety of dvds for us to choose from.
Very quiet place and really suitable for a romantic short stay with your significant other.
Downside would be the worms that can be found easily on the floor which i thought they might have dropped from the wooden ceiling.

Overall, it was a pleasant stay

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZeeQC
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 January 2017 via mobile

I was quite surprised at the reviews I just saw...
I booked this cottage as it was so cute! And a lot more affordable than other options in the area and due to it was a little closer to Hobart for our flight home.

We stayed two night and really loved the cottage feel. We visited the supermarket in Swansea (about a 3min drive) to get a few things for breakfast, a packed lunch for our hike and dinner. But there are a few restaurants around if you'd prefer not to cook.

It was clean, sheets were soft, kitchen was well equipped and it had everything we needed. The only thing that could be added would perhaps be some TLC to the back garden and maybe some olive oil for cooking in the kitchen as the pans are not non stick.

Date of stay: January 2017
Thank Minnie288
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 January 2017

We were really looking forward to staying here, and at first thought it was really cute. The gardens were lovely and it was in a good location. It was very hot and there was only one little fan which didn't provide much cooling. Our last night there we were surprised with a massive huntsman spider, and two more the next morning! Plus multiple smaller spiders in the bathroom. Would be a great place to stay with a little more TLC inside.

Date of stay: January 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank IzzijA
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews