We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Tracey S
Melbourne, Australia

Henty Cottage

1.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 27 May 2012
You think you are getting the whole cottage, but you don't!! It is divided into 2 units and the wall beween is paper thin. We could hear constant noise on the other side.The heating was terrible and we froze all night.They do not even supply basic tea, coffee and milk.They are getting money for 2 units in one cottage. What a rip off!!!!
Date of stay: February 2012
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Welcome to ALOFT
AU$180
  • Priceline
    AU$180
  • Expedia.com
    AU$176
  • ZenHotels.com
0.1 km from Strahan Colonial Cottages
Free parking
AU$169
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$169
  • Agoda.com
    AU$169
  • Vio.com
    AU$169
0.5 km from Strahan Colonial Cottages
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$200
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$200
  • Expedia.com
    AU$200
  • Hotels.com
    AU$200
0.8 km from Strahan Colonial Cottages
Free Wifi
Free parking
Bedroom, Q+S
AU$195
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$195
  • Expedia.com
    AU$195
  • Vio.com
    AU$195
0.6 km from Strahan Colonial Cottages
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
AU$161
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    AU$161
  • Hotels.com
    AU$157
  • Expedia.com
    AU$161
0.5 km from Strahan Colonial Cottages
Free parking
Restaurant
Studio Living Area
AU$165
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Go to your Happy Price
  • Expedia.com
    AU$165
  • Hotels.com
    AU$165
  • StayForLong
1.0 km from Strahan Colonial Cottages
Free Wifi
Free parking
One Bedroom Cabin - Bedroom
AU$146
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$146
  • Expedia.com
    AU$146
  • Hotels.com
    AU$146
1.1 km from Strahan Colonial Cottages
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$140
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$114
  • Agoda.com
    AU$111
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$140
1.1 km from Strahan Colonial Cottages
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$56
  • Priceline
    AU$56
  • Agoda.com
    AU$56
  • ZenHotels.com
1.1 km from Strahan Colonial Cottages
Free Wifi
Free parking
External photo of one of the apartments
AU$280
  • Priceline
    AU$278
  • Agoda.com
    AU$246
  • Expedia.com
    AU$275
1.1 km from Strahan Colonial Cottages
Free parking
Spa
View more hotels in Strahan
Reviews (27)
Filter reviews
27 results
Traveller rating
6
10
4
5
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
6
10
4
5
2
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 27 reviews
Reviewed 18 February 2012

This cottage had all the old charm of the past, the furniture was well suited to this cottage "Henty" the cleaner was very friendly and set up the table as we were catching up with friends and having them for dinner. The next day the owner dropped by with his shirt saying sercurity..asked about our guests and how our dinner went said we didn't have them the first night but would this night, he was really quizzing me...making me feel really uncomfortable as if it was too hard to cook for 5 in a small cottage. give me a microwave hotplate miricles do happen, I did ask the cleaner for extra cultery which she took from other cottage. I was in the bathroom which I could hear every word spoken from the laundry....he was talking about us and said about having 5 people in the cottage. I must say that the cleaner was only listening...what a rude man! As I wrote in his guest book hospitality goes along way for making a visitor welcome....remember it is the guest that puts income into you wages. Stay away Owner and let someone like your lovely cleaning lady deal with the tourists.Your shonky and don't deserve any respect as you treat your quests with suspicion.

There was a free laundry, great for the light traveller

Room tip: try to avoid the owner he is two faced....
Date of stay: February 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank michellejeanette
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 January 2012

dont trust the owner he will not refund any money grabbed from your credit card in error. this is the shameful face of Australian tourism. It promises much but deliver little. Strahan is fine town and would be much better if people like this were removed from the scene.

Date of stay: December 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank andrewS351
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 January 2012

You have got to be joking!!!! $320 a night for this. I have stayed in resorts in even bigger tourist hubs than here for less and got more. Quaint and cosy = dated and tiny. Too small for four. I was really disappointed at the quality of the properties inclusions. Despite its own self rated 4 star status, for the money paid I think the van park might have been a better option (my rating would be a conservative 3 star). The kitchenette was more akin to a caravan with a small bar fridge and dated appliances and cutlery from decades past. It states on several websites that this place has stairs and a spa, maybe there was a secret door because I looked. The lighting is poor and space is a premium. The owners are definitely out for a quick buck with minimal effort. The flame effect heater didn't warm my heart, it just blew lots of warm air without effect. The photos on the website make it look bigger than it really is.

Date of stay: January 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kitten40
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 January 2012

My wife and I stayed in the Church Cottage between Christmas and New Years. Based on the website, we expected a charming cottage, ideal for spending a quiet few days together. Unfortunately, we did not get what we expected.

I could write quite a long essay detailing our woes with the cottage, but for the sake of brevity, I will summarise them:
- A faulty smoke alarm caused us to get no sleep on our first night
- We were unable to contact anyone on the contact number provided to try and fix the alarm during the night
- When we finally did make contact, and electrician was sent to fix the alarm. His fix was to remove it entirely, leaving the cottage with no smoke alarm at all, despite the issue simply being a flat battery (or so he told us).
- The advertised king size bed is actually two single beds pushed together, a situation which did not allow for a comfortable night's sleep.
- The fold down double bed downstairs was more comfortable, but the discovery of two cockroaches in it the following morning actually led us to cut short our stay by a night.
- The lighting in the building is inadequate, as not all light fittings have globes. We resorted to taking a globe from a different light fitting in order to have enough light in the kitchen.
- Out of three remotes in the cottage, only one had a working set of batteries.

In addition to this, when we contacted the operators to raise these issues, and request a refund, the response we received was rude, and quite unprofessional. We were made to feel as if it was our fault that we had not enjoyed our stay. Quoting from the response we received, we were told, for example, that "the world is full of worse things than cockroaches so if that totally ruined your holiday I so feel sorry for you".

I will not be staying here again, and cannot, in all conscience, recommend staying here to anyone.

Date of stay: December 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Damo42
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 January 2012

What appears to be a lovely little cottage is indeed quite neglected and poorly presented. Broken windows in bedroom, no lightbulb in lamps, milk crates for chairs in courtyard, microwave in the loungeroom, cheap towels, zero (and I mean none) condiments, butter, breakfast provisions, no coffee, a few old tea bags, crappy kettle. But the highlight was the large bags of dirty linen on the front landing during our entire stay. The owner doesn't care, or has died. Which at $275/night falls VERY short of expectations. Sorry. So much promise, failed to deliver. This could be such a charming place, but it isn't.

Date of stay: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Boodar
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews