We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
BronMD
Australia

Large apartment with all facilities

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 25 Apr 2019via mobile
We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment as a family of four.

Downstairs included a lounge with gas fire, kitchen, dining table, full bathroom and bedroom with built-ins. Upstairs included a large main bedroom with full and large ensuite.

The decor is vintage, but the whole apartment is comfortable. It feels like you’re walking into the 1980s with only a VHS player. And no wifi! That was the greatest let down.

Laundry facilities (free) - washed and dryer are in a separate building.

Strahan - great idea is to go to Macquarie Headlands, and if you have a 4WD, explore some of the beach runs along there and Ocean Beach. Also do the Hogarth Falls walk (45 mins return) through beautiful rainforest. It’s a mostly flat walk and easy for all ages (we had a 2 year old with us).

The Coffee Shack has great coffee, but does get busy in the mornings.

We couldn’t try out any restaurants as we stayed over the Easter period with lots of things closed, however, after doing some research, we would recommend Risby Cove for dinner, although bookings are essential.

The visitor info centre was very helpful. Lots to do around Strahan. You’re on the edge of the end of the urban world.
Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
AU$169
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    AU$169
  • Vio.com
0.2 km from Aldermere Estate Luxury Accommodation
Free Wifi
Free parking
Welcome to ALOFT
AU$180
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    AU$176
  • Hotels.com
    AU$176
0.5 km from Aldermere Estate Luxury Accommodation
Free parking
Exterior
AU$161
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    AU$160
  • Hotels.com
    AU$161
0.5 km from Aldermere Estate Luxury Accommodation
Free parking
Restaurant
AU$200
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    AU$181
  • Hotels.com
    AU$200
1.0 km from Aldermere Estate Luxury Accommodation
Free Wifi
Free parking
Bedroom, Q+S
AU$195
Fully refundable
  • Tripadvisor
    AU$195
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    AU$195
0.8 km from Aldermere Estate Luxury Accommodation
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$143
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    AU$143
0.5 km from Aldermere Estate Luxury Accommodation
Free parking
AU$135
  • Agoda.com
    AU$135
2.4 km from Aldermere Estate Luxury Accommodation
One Bedroom Cabin - Bedroom
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$143
  • Booking.com
0.5 km from Aldermere Estate Luxury Accommodation
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Algotels
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$140
  • Priceline
0.5 km from Aldermere Estate Luxury Accommodation
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$176
  • Booking.com
0.5 km from Aldermere Estate Luxury Accommodation
Free parking
View more hotels in Strahan
Reviews (147)
Filter reviews
147 results
Traveller rating
104
31
11
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
104
31
11
1
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 147 reviews
Reviewed 17 March 2019

We booked for 2 nights in the luxury apartment.
We stayed in unit 3. This 2 story apartment was old worldly and had a lot of charm. Located in the main street of Strahan within easy reach of everything.
You enter into the kitchen/dining area and living room with fire place. Ground floor bathroom.
The main bedroom and ensuite was upstairs and quite spacious. The bed was firm and comfortable. The only downside was that there is no air conditioning and the upstairs bedroom gets very hot. We did have a ceiling fan which was incredibly noisy so we were not able to use it.
We were able to park our car at the back of the apartment.

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GJ-816
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 February 2019 via mobile

We highly recommend staying here if you come to Strahan on the West Coast of Tassie.😁
Friendly and welcoming owners at reception. The place was just so beautiful with everything you need catered for. The fire place was lit when we entered which made us feel right at home and snugly.
Extremely clean.
The bed was like sleeping on a cloud and the lounge felt like it was your old favourite at home.
We seriously didn’t want to leave.

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Maggie-isle
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 January 2019

We booked this place as it allowed one night stays which are often hard to find. We enjoyed the heritage look of the décor and furniture. The checkin was slightly delayed as the office was unattended at first and then the whole town had the phone/internet down so that caused a few hiccups. Luckily we had paid in advance as otherwise we would not have had cash to cover the cost.
The rooms were very comfortable and the supermarket was in easy walking distances as was most things in the town. The amenities were very adequate and suitable for our short stay.
We would recommend a longer stay in Strahan and at Aldermere however we were on a tight schedule.

Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank gekelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 January 2019

The word estate is a bit misleading as it is located on a busy road however, the facilities were great. The Gas fire in the lounge was a huge bonus and a welcome sight in the evenings. The hosts were lovely and accommodating also.

Room tip: Don't worry about the road. The apartments make up for it.
Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 September 2018

Friendly and flexible staff. I stuffed up the booking but was not punished for it. Fabulous apartment. Everything you need plus plus. Huge bath downstairs... shower up stairs. Loved it. Highly recommend Aldermere Estate.

Room tip: We were in room 1. I think they are all the same.
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Colin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews