We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking views”
Review of Strahan Village

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Strahan Village
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Strahan
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

From our Hilltop Harbourview Room we had the most breath-taking views. Room was spacious and clean. Bed was very comfortable. Long walk down and back to town centre but well worth it. Cottages at town level looked lovely as well.
Staff were all very friendly and helpful. Check-in was very professional.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 11royboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (972)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

15 - 19 of 972 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Strahan Village is in the middle of all the activities. The view from the hotel balcony is brilliant especially at sunset.
The room was good and comfortable but there is no air conditioning in the room we stayed in

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mervyn202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We had to get the cheapest room as there wasn’t much left when we booked. The room desperately needed an opening window or at least a fan, but for the money the value was there. It is clean and all the amenities you need are provided. The location is very good, with lovely views from the restaurant.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Jellydino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

As I understand things Strahan Village has a number of different accommodation types. We stayed at the Hilltop Accommodation, Gordon Wing. These have great views over the town and the bay.

The room was divided in to two parts with the Bedroom and Bathroom on one level and a fes steps down to a "living" area with easy chairs, a desk and chair and fridge,
These give a psychological separation which I thought was great. The bed was large and teh room warm. As we visited in late August the temperature was low (drove through snow on the way up form Hobart) therefore the heat lamps in the bath room were simply superb when getting out of the shower.

From the living area there were doors out on to a balcony with views over the bay and down to town.

Access by car is to right outside the accommodation and there is a walkway down to the town. Take a torch if going or coming back after dark.

Note during the low season the restaurant is not open for evening meals so you have to find food in the town. Hamers Hotel provides a limited but nice range of food. No matter what season there is breakfast which was the normal buffet with tea and coffee being brought to you.

In the morning there has been a frost so the balcony and boardwalk required care,

A thoroughly nice stay,

Room Tip: The Gordon Wing has views over the bay and town (I assume more expensive) other wings near-by have n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank WylieNorwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We've lived in Tasmania for about 3 years so we thought for Xmas we might see what the West coast of Tassie is like so we went to Strahan, I'd love to say it's pretty etc like most of Tassie is but Strahan has been taken over by one business which has limited its variety and otpions. It's very tourist oriented (which we weren't aware of) and unless you plan to do the tours there's not a lot to do. Lessons learnt!

We search on the ever faithful Trip Advisor for info about accomodation and found Strahan Village. We had the hilltop view executive suite and it was great. It's all about views in this place and we had them for two days. Gorgeous. The staff are lovely and the room was great.

Room Tip: Great views and big room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank suemicro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Strahan
0.6 km away
Gordon Gateway
Gordon Gateway
#4 of 4 in Strahan
87 reviews
20.3 km away
The Empire Hotel
The Empire Hotel
#3 of 6 in Queenstown
121 reviews
0.3 km away
Risby Cove
Risby Cove
#2 of 4 in Strahan
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 km away
Motel Strahan
Motel Strahan
#3 of 4 in Strahan
180 reviews
0.5 km away
Franklin Manor
Franklin Manor
#1 of 6 in Strahan
241 reviews
21.2 km away
Comfort Inn Gold Rush
Comfort Inn Gold Rush
#1 of 6 in Queenstown
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strahan Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strahan Village

Address: The Esplanade, Building A, Strahan, Tasmania 7468, Australia (Formerly Quality Suites Strahan Village)
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Strahan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Strahan
Price Range: $106 - $218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Strahan Village 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set right on the waterfront Strahan Village is your ideal base for west coast explorations. The individual cottages and terraces take you back to a time when the wild West was inhabited by miners, piners, fishermen and their families. Fitted out with a variety of room types, the cottages recall an old-world charm with every modern facility. Above the harbour, the 4-star rooms of the Hilltop have sweeping views over Macquarie Harbour. Tasmanian Tourism Awards Winner 2013 "Standard Accommodation". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HotelQuickly, lastminute.com.au and Cancelon so you can book your Strahan Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strahan Village Hotel Strahan
Village Hotel Strahan
Strahan Village Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing