We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,080)
Filter reviews
1,081 results
Traveller rating
245
419
267
89
61
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
245
419
267
89
61
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hilltop room buffet dinner hilltop executive split level gordon river cruise harbour view executive room hill top waterfront cottages two nights great room mini bar hamers hotel macquarie harbour spa bath wilderness railway balcony
Filter
Updating list...
121 - 126 of 1,081 reviews
Reviewed 3 January 2018

Strahan Village is in the middle of all the activities. The view from the hotel balcony is brilliant especially at sunset.
The room was good and comfortable but there is no air conditioning in the room we stayed in

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mervyn202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam B, General Manager at Strahan Village, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2018

Dear mervyn202,

Thankyou for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

Kind Regards,

Adam Brooks
GM - Strahan Village

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2018 via mobile

We had to get the cheapest room as there wasn’t much left when we booked. The room desperately needed an opening window or at least a fan, but for the money the value was there. It is clean and all the amenities you need are provided. The location is very good, with lovely views from the restaurant.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Jellydino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam B, General Manager at Strahan Village, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2018

Dear Jellydino,

Thank you for your comments, I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay!

Kind Regards,

Adam Brooks
GM - Strahan Village

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2018

As I understand things Strahan Village has a number of different accommodation types. We stayed at the Hilltop Accommodation, Gordon Wing. These have great views over the town and the bay.

The room was divided in to two parts with the Bedroom and Bathroom on one level and a fes steps down to a "living" area with easy chairs, a desk and chair and fridge,
These give a psychological separation which I thought was great. The bed was large and teh room warm. As we visited in late August the temperature was low (drove through snow on the way up form Hobart) therefore the heat lamps in the bath room were simply superb when getting out of the shower.

From the living area there were doors out on to a balcony with views over the bay and down to town.

Access by car is to right outside the accommodation and there is a walkway down to the town. Take a torch if going or coming back after dark.

Note during the low season the restaurant is not open for evening meals so you have to find food in the town. Hamers Hotel provides a limited but nice range of food. No matter what season there is breakfast which was the normal buffet with tea and coffee being brought to you.

In the morning there has been a frost so the balcony and boardwalk required care,

A thoroughly nice stay,

Room Tip: The Gordon Wing has views over the bay and town (I assume more expensive) other wings near-by have no such views.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank WylieNorwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam B, General Manager at Strahan Village, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2018

Dear WylieNorwich,

Thank you for your comments, I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards,

Adam Brooks
GM - Strahan Village

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2017

We've lived in Tasmania for about 3 years so we thought for Xmas we might see what the West coast of Tassie is like so we went to Strahan, I'd love to say it's pretty etc like most of Tassie is but Strahan has been taken over by one business which has limited its variety and otpions. It's very tourist oriented (which we weren't aware of) and unless you plan to do the tours there's not a lot to do. Lessons learnt!

We search on the ever faithful Trip Advisor for info about accomodation and found Strahan Village. We had the hilltop view executive suite and it was great. It's all about views in this place and we had them for two days. Gorgeous. The staff are lovely and the room was great.

Room Tip: Great views and big room
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sue R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam B, General Manager at Strahan Village, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2018

Dear suemicro,

Thank you for your comments, I am glad that you enjoyed your stay in general, in particular the views and staff service.

Kind Regards,

Adam Brooks
GM - Strahan Village

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2017

Strahan Village is like a village within a town with a variety of accommodation. In a corner of the harbour are a variety of quaint-looking buildings close to the cruise boats, shops and the pub. The beds are very comfy, and the rooms are well appointed.

Room Tip: Handy to town centre, with comfy beds.
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Timbo300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam B, General Manager at Strahan Village, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2018

Dear Timbo300,

I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay in the hotel. We are certainly very lucky to have such a great property in a beautiful part of the world!

Kind Regards,

Adam Brooks
GM - Strahan Village

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews