We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best location right on the footpath”
Review of Strahan Village

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Strahan Village
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Strahan
Reviewed 4 October 2017

8 of us had 3 rooms right on the street with the best views to admire from the shared verandah. One of the rooms had two separate bedrooms, a small kitchen and easily slept 5 people. The staff were really friendly from booking to checking in. This hotel has a range of rooms but I would always stay on the street as it was also like a house. The other point worth noting is, the rooms are a couple of doors from the pub and basically right there with easy access to everything. The only downside is the rooms are showing some wear but they were clean.

Room Tip: Chose a room right on the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Daniel_R011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam B, General Manager at Strahan Village, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2017

Dear Daniel_R011,

I am very happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay!, I am also happy that you were able to enjoy the Hotels Food & Beverage outlets. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel sometime soon!

Kind Regards,

Adam Brooks
GM - Strahan Village

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (972)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

58 - 62 of 972 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2017 via mobile

Me and 3 other girls stayed here overnight as the following morning had to wake early to do the Gordon River Cruise, it was clean and the beds were comfortable, only dissappointment was the pillows could be a little bit firmer otherwise was a comfortable stay.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank Liliana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam B, General Manager at Strahan Village, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2017

Dear Liliana P,

Thank you for your feedback. I very happy to see that you enjoyed you stay in the hotel and got to enjoy the Gordon River Cruises!

Kind Regards,

Adam Brooks
GM - Strahan Village

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2017

We stayed 2 nights upstairs across from the docks in Strahan, in a spa room, a lovely balcony, beautiful views clean room, big bed, wonderful and relaxing. Awesome river cruise on the Lady Jane II with terrific staff. Even the weather couldn't turn us off, rain, hail wind and sunshine, still loved every minute, Awesome place to stay. some places to eat are overpriced, but look around, it depends on what you want

Room Tip: . on the hill is lovely, but if you want to walk but without up and down a hill, then recommend the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Y599SWelizabethr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam B, General Manager at Strahan Village, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2017

Dear Y599SWelizabethr,

I am very happy to see that you enjoyed your stay in the hotel!. We are very lucky to be situated in inn such a beautiful spot!. I am glad that you got enjoy all of the hotels facilities as well as our Gordon River Cruises. We look forward to welcoming you back!.

Kind Regards,

Adam Brooks
GM - Strahan Village

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2017

We stayed here for one night on our way around Tasmania. The hotel was clean and tidy and met all requirements for our stay.

We had one of the rooms leading directly onto the car park at the back of the main building, if we were to stay here again we would probably pick one of the front rooms just so we could wake up to a fantastic view in the morning.

Whilst the decor is a little bit dated it is clean, water pressure if great, and staff are friendly. There is a restaurant on the premises and breakfast can be included in your stay for extra $. We chose to eat in town though in order to see as much as possible in our short stay.

The village has wifi although it is intermittent and not a strong signal. If you are travelling and have need of your mobile or internet anywhere on this side of Tasmania...highly suggest you go with TELSTRA as they have a monopoly on this side of Tasmania.

I would recommend this hotel for a stay, we were happy enough with the service we received, The front desk people were informative and provided information for our trip up to Cradle Mountain which was greatly appreciated..

Room Tip: If you can afford the extra costs, choose a room overlooking the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scorps_sting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam B, General Manager at Strahan Village, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2017

Dear scorps_sting,

Thank you for your comments. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am also pleased that you got to enjoy the facilities as well. You will be happy to know that issue with the wifi caused by our external provider has now been rectified. We look forward to welcoming you back some time soon!

Kind Regards,

Adam Brooks
GM - Strahan Village

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2017

Stayed in a water front cottage with lovely views across the road and park from the dock. About 50 metres from the front door to the water. The cottage was small but suited to a couple and the bathroom size was more than adequate for 2. The bed was comfortable and the air conditioning was well received. Short walk to the cruise boats and the pub which was the closest venue for dinner. There is a restaurant on site that offers a extensive buffet but the prices are high. There is no microwave or plates, cutlery etc so eating in your room is limited.

Room Tip: Get a local map as there are other eating options a short drive away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam B, General Manager at Strahan Village, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2017

Dear Jeff B,

Thank you for your comments. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel sometime soon.

Kind Regards,

Adam Brooks
GM - Strahan Village

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Strahan
0.6 km away
Gordon Gateway
Gordon Gateway
#4 of 4 in Strahan
87 reviews
20.3 km away
The Empire Hotel
The Empire Hotel
#3 of 6 in Queenstown
122 reviews
0.3 km away
Risby Cove
Risby Cove
#2 of 4 in Strahan
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 km away
Motel Strahan
Motel Strahan
#3 of 4 in Strahan
180 reviews
0.5 km away
Franklin Manor
Franklin Manor
#1 of 6 in Strahan
242 reviews
21.2 km away
Comfort Inn Gold Rush
Comfort Inn Gold Rush
#1 of 6 in Queenstown
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strahan Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strahan Village

Address: The Esplanade, Building A, Strahan, Tasmania 7468, Australia (Formerly Quality Suites Strahan Village)
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Strahan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Strahan
Price Range: $106 - $218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Strahan Village 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set right on the waterfront Strahan Village is your ideal base for west coast explorations. The individual cottages and terraces take you back to a time when the wild West was inhabited by miners, piners, fishermen and their families. Fitted out with a variety of room types, the cottages recall an old-world charm with every modern facility. Above the harbour, the 4-star rooms of the Hilltop have sweeping views over Macquarie Harbour. Tasmanian Tourism Awards Winner 2013 "Standard Accommodation". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HotelQuickly, lastminute.com.au and Cancelon so you can book your Strahan Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strahan Village Hotel Strahan
Village Hotel Strahan
Strahan Village Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing