We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“strahan village umm”
Review of Strahan Village

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Strahan Village
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Strahan
Reviewed 17 January 2016

Strahan village has seen better days, in need of a refurb, especially the ventilation, the whole main building smelt of stale seafood cooked earlier..not in our room, but everywhere else. The rubbish bins had broken pedals, there were several hairs left behind in the bathroom..all small things but they sort put you off. The young staff were friendly so that was a plus. Suggest a self catering place might be better value. Plus side the view over the harbour was fantastic

Room Tip: Steep climb to access hotel rooms, otherwise need to drive
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Maggieiov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brad C, General Manager at Strahan Village, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2016

Hi Maggieiov

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. Its disappointing to read that you did not have enjoyable stay and that we fell short in a few areas. Please be assure that I have passed your comment onto the team.

regards

Brad Coelho

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (976)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

372 - 376 of 976 reviews

Reviewed 16 January 2016

We stayed in a family room. Firstly I would say the rooms are clean and tidy and the staff were friendly enough.

The rooms are a bit stuck in the 80's.The clock radio was straight out of the 80's and the tv was the old style analogue tube style with a set top box on it. There is no aircon in the rooms and no ceiling fan.


The room had one queen size bed and one single in the main motel room and another single bed in what can only be described as a cross between a wardrobe and a small bedroom.

I found the hotel quite comfortable although I think it is overpriced at $200 a night. If you don't expect too much you won't be disappointed.

Lets hope they can upgrade the rooms soon. The view from the bar is amazing though.

The wifi had a strong signal and was very fast.

Room Tip: Ask for a level 2 harbour view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulfam2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brad C, General Manager at Strahan Village, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2016

Hi paulfam2016

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. Our 3.5 star rooms do not have an A/C but have a fan in the room. We recently purchased new linen, toweling, doonas and bathroom amenities for all 142 rooms. We will be receiving brand new bed bases later this month. We do have plan to continue upgrading our rooms over the winter period.

I do hope you visit us again in the future so that you can view the changes first hand

regards

Brad Coelho

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2016

We had a habour view room. The view was lovely. The room was clean, however it is a little dated and could do with a face lift. The balcony had not been cleaned properley as there was rubbish still out there from the last guests. It was ok for an over night stay.

Room Tip: Habour view room is the way to go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lilpurplegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brad C, General Manager at Strahan Village, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2016

Hi Lilpurplegirl

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We have spent a fair bit of money recently and purchased new linen, toweling, doonas and bathroom amenities. We will be receiving brand new bed bases later this month. I do hope you are able to visit us in the future to see the physical changes we have made.

regards

Brad Coelho

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2016

We made the decision to pay more to enjoy our stay in Strahan and booked two sea view rooms through Booking.com in December. We also requested that our children's room be adjacent to our room, a logical request one would think. I rang the hotel 5 whole days before arrival to confirm our booking and that our children were in the adjacent room as requested. We arrived to find our children located in a room to the far left of one building, ours to the far right of the next building. We opened the door to our room, number 1156 with a view straight out on to the carpark. It is now obvious, not only by the joke a staff member made when we mentioned the room we were in, but also by other reviews, that this room is being palmed off to guests without a mention - do they really think people don't notice?. Our question to management is, why do you sell this room as a sea view when it is most obviously not, and why do you sell it for the same price as a sea view room and leave your desk staff to deal with the complaints? The staff member we approached after check in could not care less. The staff member we spoke to on check out offered us a discount. We did not book into the hotel for a discount, we booked in for a sea view. The discount did nothing to improve our opinion of the place. This company obviously has dibs on just about every room in Strahan township, and they are not relying on repeat business as Strahan sells itself. The decor in the rooms was grim, the windows filthy! But housekeeping had done a good job with cleaning and preparing the rooms.

Room Tip: Room 1156 has view on carpark - complete with delivery trucks doing U-turns and revving motor bikes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kerri612016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brad C, General Manager at Strahan Village, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2016

Hi kerri612016

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. Its disappointing to read that you did not have an enjoyable stay and the team did not handle your concerns in a professional manner. I have personally followed up on your comments with the team to ensure we learn from our mistakes.

regards

Brad Coelho

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2016

Had we been told at the time of booking our room that it was on the carpark at the rear of the complex, had no air-conditioning, limited ventilation and no apparent insulation, then we could hardly complain - unfortunately none of these attributes were evident from the booking information available nor conveyed by the staff contacted to make the booking. As it was, we spent one night here which was most uncomfortable due to the overheated room that we could not effectively ventilate.

On the upside, the room was clean and accommodated the 5 of us (2 adults and 3 children, 5, 9 and 11 years) for the one night that we had stayed there. I would not have been able to stay any longer.

Unfortunately Strahan Village has all the attributes of a tourist trap motel - the man who booked us in was (to put it kindly) uninterested, the room was not available until some 30minutes after the advertised check-in time and check-out was perfunctory - perhaps out experience was not isolated, in that there was no enquiry by the staff as to whether we had enjoyed our stay!

Room Tip: Insist on harbour view; ensure not on the carpark
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mpk1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brad C, General Manager at Strahan Village, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2016

Hi Mpk1970

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. Its disappointing to read that you did not have an enjoyable stay. I have personally followed up on your comments with the team. We have also completed an audit on all 3rd party websites to ensure our rooms are represented with the correct information.

regards

Brad Coelho

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Strahan
0.6 km away
Gordon Gateway
Gordon Gateway
#4 of 4 in Strahan
87 reviews
20.3 km away
The Empire Hotel
The Empire Hotel
#2 of 6 in Queenstown
122 reviews
0.3 km away
Risby Cove
Risby Cove
#2 of 4 in Strahan
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 km away
Motel Strahan
Motel Strahan
#3 of 4 in Strahan
181 reviews
0.5 km away
Franklin Manor
Franklin Manor
#1 of 6 in Strahan
244 reviews
21.2 km away
Comfort Inn Gold Rush
Comfort Inn Gold Rush
#1 of 6 in Queenstown
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strahan Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strahan Village

Address: The Esplanade, Building A, Strahan, Tasmania 7468, Australia (Formerly Quality Suites Strahan Village)
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Strahan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Strahan
Price Range: $106 - $213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Strahan Village 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set right on the waterfront Strahan Village is your ideal base for west coast explorations. The individual cottages and terraces take you back to a time when the wild West was inhabited by miners, piners, fishermen and their families. Fitted out with a variety of room types, the cottages recall an old-world charm with every modern facility. Above the harbour, the 4-star rooms of the Hilltop have sweeping views over Macquarie Harbour. Tasmanian Tourism Awards Winner 2013 "Standard Accommodation". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HotelQuickly, lastminute.com.au and Cancelon so you can book your Strahan Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strahan Village Hotel Strahan
Village Hotel Strahan
Strahan Village Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing