We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,079)
Filter reviews
1,079 results
Traveller rating
244
418
267
89
61
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
244
418
267
89
61
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hilltop room buffet dinner hilltop executive split level gordon river cruise harbour view executive room hill top waterfront cottages two nights great room mini bar hamers hotel macquarie harbour spa bath wilderness railway balcony
Filter
Updating list...
473 - 478 of 1,079 reviews
Reviewed 16 January 2016

We had a habour view room. The view was lovely. The room was clean, however it is a little dated and could do with a face lift. The balcony had not been cleaned properley as there was rubbish still out there from the last guests. It was ok for an over night stay.

Room Tip: Habour view room is the way to go.
  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lilpurplegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brad C, General Manager at Strahan Village, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2016

Hi Lilpurplegirl

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We have spent a fair bit of money recently and purchased new linen, toweling, doonas and bathroom amenities. We will be receiving brand new bed bases later this month. I do hope you are able to visit us in the future to see the physical changes we have made.

regards

Brad Coelho

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2016

We made the decision to pay more to enjoy our stay in Strahan and booked two sea view rooms through Booking.com in December. We also requested that our children's room be adjacent to our room, a logical request one would think. I rang the hotel 5 whole days before arrival to confirm our booking and that our children were in the adjacent room as requested. We arrived to find our children located in a room to the far left of one building, ours to the far right of the next building. We opened the door to our room, number 1156 with a view straight out on to the carpark. It is now obvious, not only by the joke a staff member made when we mentioned the room we were in, but also by other reviews, that this room is being palmed off to guests without a mention - do they really think people don't notice?. Our question to management is, why do you sell this room as a sea view when it is most obviously not, and why do you sell it for the same price as a sea view room and leave your desk staff to deal with the complaints? The staff member we approached after check in could not care less. The staff member we spoke to on check out offered us a discount. We did not book into the hotel for a discount, we booked in for a sea view. The discount did nothing to improve our opinion of the place. This company obviously has dibs on just about every room in Strahan township, and they are not relying on repeat business as Strahan sells itself. The decor in the rooms was grim, the windows filthy! But housekeeping had done a good job with cleaning and preparing the rooms.

Room Tip: Room 1156 has view on carpark - complete with delivery trucks doing U-turns and revving motor bikes.
  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kerhod61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brad C, General Manager at Strahan Village, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2016

Hi kerri612016

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. Its disappointing to read that you did not have an enjoyable stay and the team did not handle your concerns in a professional manner. I have personally followed up on your comments with the team to ensure we learn from our mistakes.

regards

Brad Coelho

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2016

Had we been told at the time of booking our room that it was on the carpark at the rear of the complex, had no air-conditioning, limited ventilation and no apparent insulation, then we could hardly complain - unfortunately none of these attributes were evident from the booking information available nor conveyed by the staff contacted to make the booking. As it was, we spent one night here which was most uncomfortable due to the overheated room that we could not effectively ventilate.

On the upside, the room was clean and accommodated the 5 of us (2 adults and 3 children, 5, 9 and 11 years) for the one night that we had stayed there. I would not have been able to stay any longer.

Unfortunately Strahan Village has all the attributes of a tourist trap motel - the man who booked us in was (to put it kindly) uninterested, the room was not available until some 30minutes after the advertised check-in time and check-out was perfunctory - perhaps out experience was not isolated, in that there was no enquiry by the staff as to whether we had enjoyed our stay!

Room Tip: Insist on harbour view; ensure not on the carpark
  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mpk1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brad C, General Manager at Strahan Village, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2016

Hi Mpk1970

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. Its disappointing to read that you did not have an enjoyable stay. I have personally followed up on your comments with the team. We have also completed an audit on all 3rd party websites to ensure our rooms are represented with the correct information.

regards

Brad Coelho

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2016 via mobile

We dropped into town at 8pm on a Thursday night, staff put the effort in to find just the right room we were asking for (spa bath, tea/coffee and toast facilities).
Nice and quiet and next to the water and plenty of places to eat within walking distance.

Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Hannah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brad C, General Manager at Strahan Village, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2016

Hi Hannah W

Thank you taking the to post your review and to read that the team were able to actions your specific requests.

regards

Brad Coelho

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2016 via mobile

The Strahan village has a beautiful view (if you get a room like I did at the very front overlooking the water)! For a nice place I would have thought the rooms would be a little nicer/fancier (especially the bathrooms)!

I wish the restaurant that is in the middle of the Strahan village (42 degrees its called) catered for a little wider variety of people as it really only had seafood. The coffee though was great and was good to just have a drink overlooking the water front!

Stayed: January 2016
Thank Navia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brad C, General Manager at Strahan Village, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2016

Hi Navia G

Thank you for your review. By the sound of your review you booked a hill top harbour view room that over looks Macquarie Harbour. Our buffet dinner in View 42 has an extensive array of dishes to cater for a wide variety of guests. Hope you were able to take in a sunset over the Harbour.

regards

Brad Coelho

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews