We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gebleux ”
Review of Strahan Village

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Strahan Village
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Strahan
Reviewed 9 January 2016 via mobile

Paying $200 a night and not even a toaster in the room no views not what i thought i was getting. Payed $150 a night and in the middle of no where and couldn't rate high enough. Maybe i expect to much.

Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Geb64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brad C, General Manager at Strahan Village, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2016

Hi Geb64

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. Strahan Village offers a variety of accommodation to suits varying needs of comfort and budget. Our apartments have catering equipment however the hotel rooms do not. We feel this is in line with most hotels within Australia.

regards

Brad Coelho

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (972)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

377 - 381 of 972 reviews

Reviewed 9 January 2016

I have left 3 phone messages, sent an email and am still waiting for someone to respond. I am starting to get upset as my request is a very simple one, it now seems that your establishment do not have any respect or manners as far as responding to customers. I now wish the general manager to please respond as I have had no response from the food and beverages manager which I find extremely rude. Thank you. Rosie

Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
Thank Rosanne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brad C, General Manager at Strahan Village, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2016

Hi Rosanne R

I have sent you two private message to please get in contact with me so that I can address your comments as I would like this resolved.

regards

Brad Coelho

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2016 via mobile

We spent 2 nights here after a 35 year absence .. disappointed.
Parking meters everywhere ..business like attitude .. everything seems like a grab for money.
Our room had spectacular views but seemed old and run down and expensive .. centerpiece was a small crt television! ..haven't seen one of these in a hotel room in years.
Shame ..it's a beautiful spot spoilt by greed.

Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank MerlinsEgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brad C, General Manager at Strahan Village, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2016

Hi MerlinsEgo

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. Strahan Village offers free parking to all our guests in two convenient locations. I can only comment that the meters would be in the main street operated by the Council. I am glad that you were able to experience the amazing view from our hilltop rooms and View 42 restaurant.

We have replaced the TV’s in all of our 4 star rooms and will continue to update the hotel in the coming months for a more modern feel. I do hope that on your return, we will be able to provide you with a different experience.

regards

Brad Coelho

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2016 via mobile

I came to Strahan about 12 years ago and really enjoyed my time there. However this visit is completely different. All the businesses in the town seem to think tourists should be grateful to visit their businesses. They simply don't care. They are not welcoming. The accommodation is all run down with a no care attitude. The food is ordinary and overpriced, the service is poor and don't expect to find anyone who can make a drinkable cup of coffee, it simply doesn't exist in the town. When times get tough these businesses will be the first to complain that they don't have enough patronage but people don't forget bad service, over charging and a no care attitude. I certainly couldn't recommend anyone staying in Strahan. It is such a pity because Strahan is a beautiful place on the west coast of Tasmania in one of the world's true wilderness areas.

Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank BrettBega_Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brad C, General Manager at Strahan Village, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2016

Hi BrettBega_Australia

Thanks for taking the time to post your review. I would appreciate a call on 03 6471 4200 regarding your stay at Strahan Village. It seems your review is based on a town and not Strahan Village.

regards

Brad Coelho

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2016

We had no option but to choose the Executive King Suite with harbour views. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom spacious. The view from the balcony was outstanding. The decor is a little tired and could with a touchup here and there. No food onsite but a variety of eateries with a few metres.

Room Tip: Executive king suite with harbour views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Vynette H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brad C, General Manager at Strahan Village, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2016

Hi Vynette H

Thank you for your review. During the peak season (November to January) I would suggest booking at least a month in advance to get your choice of room type, however the one that you had is a great room. We are in the process of touching the rooms up and making some changes. They include the bathroom amenities, bedding and new TV’s.

We have View 42 Restaurant and bar located on the hilltop overlooking Macquarie Harbour and Hamers Grill on the Esplanade.

regards

Brad Coelho

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Strahan
0.6 km away
Gordon Gateway
Gordon Gateway
#4 of 4 in Strahan
86 reviews
20.3 km away
The Empire Hotel
The Empire Hotel
#3 of 6 in Queenstown
121 reviews
0.3 km away
Risby Cove
Risby Cove
#2 of 4 in Strahan
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 km away
Motel Strahan
Motel Strahan
#3 of 4 in Strahan
180 reviews
0.5 km away
Franklin Manor
Franklin Manor
#1 of 6 in Strahan
240 reviews
21.2 km away
Comfort Inn Gold Rush
Comfort Inn Gold Rush
#1 of 6 in Queenstown
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strahan Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strahan Village

Address: The Esplanade, Building A, Strahan, Tasmania 7468, Australia (Formerly Quality Suites Strahan Village)
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Strahan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Strahan
Price Range: $107 - $218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Strahan Village 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set right on the waterfront Strahan Village is your ideal base for west coast explorations. The individual cottages and terraces take you back to a time when the wild West was inhabited by miners, piners, fishermen and their families. Fitted out with a variety of room types, the cottages recall an old-world charm with every modern facility. Above the harbour, the 4-star rooms of the Hilltop have sweeping views over Macquarie Harbour. Tasmanian Tourism Awards Winner 2013 "Standard Accommodation". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HotelQuickly, lastminute.com.au and Cancelon so you can book your Strahan Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strahan Village Hotel Strahan
Village Hotel Strahan
Strahan Village Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing