We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,078)
Filter reviews
1,078 results
Traveller rating
243
418
267
89
61
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
243
418
267
89
61
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hilltop room buffet dinner hilltop executive split level gordon river cruise harbour view executive room hill top waterfront cottages two nights great room mini bar hamers hotel macquarie harbour spa bath wilderness railway balcony
Filter
Updating list...
481 - 486 of 1,078 reviews
Reviewed 9 January 2016 via mobile

We spent 2 nights here after a 35 year absence .. disappointed.
Parking meters everywhere ..business like attitude .. everything seems like a grab for money.
Our room had spectacular views but seemed old and run down and expensive .. centerpiece was a small crt television! ..haven't seen one of these in a hotel room in years.
Shame ..it's a beautiful spot spoilt by greed.

Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank MerlinsEgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brad C, General Manager at Strahan Village, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2016

Hi MerlinsEgo

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. Strahan Village offers free parking to all our guests in two convenient locations. I can only comment that the meters would be in the main street operated by the Council. I am glad that you were able to experience the amazing view from our hilltop rooms and View 42 restaurant.

We have replaced the TV’s in all of our 4 star rooms and will continue to update the hotel in the coming months for a more modern feel. I do hope that on your return, we will be able to provide you with a different experience.

regards

Brad Coelho

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2016 via mobile

I came to Strahan about 12 years ago and really enjoyed my time there. However this visit is completely different. All the businesses in the town seem to think tourists should be grateful to visit their businesses. They simply don't care. They are not welcoming. The accommodation is all run down with a no care attitude. The food is ordinary and overpriced, the service is poor and don't expect to find anyone who can make a drinkable cup of coffee, it simply doesn't exist in the town. When times get tough these businesses will be the first to complain that they don't have enough patronage but people don't forget bad service, over charging and a no care attitude. I certainly couldn't recommend anyone staying in Strahan. It is such a pity because Strahan is a beautiful place on the west coast of Tasmania in one of the world's true wilderness areas.

Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank BrettBega_Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brad C, General Manager at Strahan Village, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2016

Hi BrettBega_Australia

Thanks for taking the time to post your review. I would appreciate a call on 03 6471 4200 regarding your stay at Strahan Village. It seems your review is based on a town and not Strahan Village.

regards

Brad Coelho

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2016

We had no option but to choose the Executive King Suite with harbour views. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom spacious. The view from the balcony was outstanding. The decor is a little tired and could with a touchup here and there. No food onsite but a variety of eateries with a few metres.

Room Tip: Executive king suite with harbour views
  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Vynette H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brad C, General Manager at Strahan Village, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2016

Hi Vynette H

Thank you for your review. During the peak season (November to January) I would suggest booking at least a month in advance to get your choice of room type, however the one that you had is a great room. We are in the process of touching the rooms up and making some changes. They include the bathroom amenities, bedding and new TV’s.

We have View 42 Restaurant and bar located on the hilltop overlooking Macquarie Harbour and Hamers Grill on the Esplanade.

regards

Brad Coelho

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2016

We stayed in the Hilltop Executive rooms, which are spread over two levels. The top level would have lovely views as promised, but the ground level (which we were in (only has glimpses because the vegetation hasn't been kept low), so very disappointing. Wifi reception is poor in these rooms also. And definitely shouldn't be the same price. Insist on a top level room. Also be aware unless you are going to drive up and down all the time, you have a lot of stairs to climb up and down to get from your room down to the esplanade and all the action.

Room Tip: Second floor, hilltop executive. Standard rooms overlook the car park.
  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jetpuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brad C, General Manager at Strahan Village, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2016

Hi jetpuss

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We only recently installed wi-fi at Strahan Village and provide this service free to all our guests. The walk along the board walk down to the esplanade is a leisurely stroll and you get to see a 100 year old Huon Pine. We have recently involved our local council to assist with our landscaping and are working to maintain the extensive foot print that we have.

Regards

Brad Coelho

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2016

Long picturesque drive through the mountains to get there, but worth every minute of the drive. Strahan village is set on a beautiful blue harbour, surrounded by mountains. So much to see and everything is picture postcard.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front so you have views of the harbour. All rooms are quiet and comfortable, though some could do with an upgrade.
  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FredaB187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brad C, General Manager at Strahan Village, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2016

Hi FredaB187

Thanks for taking the time to post your review, its great to read such a positive review.

regards

Brad Coelho

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews