We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The town that doesn't care”
Review of Strahan Village

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Strahan Village
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Strahan
Reviewed 8 January 2016 via mobile

I came to Strahan about 12 years ago and really enjoyed my time there. However this visit is completely different. All the businesses in the town seem to think tourists should be grateful to visit their businesses. They simply don't care. They are not welcoming. The accommodation is all run down with a no care attitude. The food is ordinary and overpriced, the service is poor and don't expect to find anyone who can make a drinkable cup of coffee, it simply doesn't exist in the town. When times get tough these businesses will be the first to complain that they don't have enough patronage but people don't forget bad service, over charging and a no care attitude. I certainly couldn't recommend anyone staying in Strahan. It is such a pity because Strahan is a beautiful place on the west coast of Tasmania in one of the world's true wilderness areas.

Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank BrettBega_Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brad C, General Manager at Strahan Village, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2016

Hi BrettBega_Australia

Thanks for taking the time to post your review. I would appreciate a call on 03 6471 4200 regarding your stay at Strahan Village. It seems your review is based on a town and not Strahan Village.

regards

Brad Coelho

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (974)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

382 - 386 of 974 reviews

Reviewed 8 January 2016

We had no option but to choose the Executive King Suite with harbour views. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom spacious. The view from the balcony was outstanding. The decor is a little tired and could with a touchup here and there. No food onsite but a variety of eateries with a few metres.

Room Tip: Executive king suite with harbour views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Vynette H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brad C, General Manager at Strahan Village, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2016

Hi Vynette H

Thank you for your review. During the peak season (November to January) I would suggest booking at least a month in advance to get your choice of room type, however the one that you had is a great room. We are in the process of touching the rooms up and making some changes. They include the bathroom amenities, bedding and new TV’s.

We have View 42 Restaurant and bar located on the hilltop overlooking Macquarie Harbour and Hamers Grill on the Esplanade.

regards

Brad Coelho

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2016

We stayed in the Hilltop Executive rooms, which are spread over two levels. The top level would have lovely views as promised, but the ground level (which we were in (only has glimpses because the vegetation hasn't been kept low), so very disappointing. Wifi reception is poor in these rooms also. And definitely shouldn't be the same price. Insist on a top level room. Also be aware unless you are going to drive up and down all the time, you have a lot of stairs to climb up and down to get from your room down to the esplanade and all the action.

Room Tip: Second floor, hilltop executive. Standard rooms overlook the car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jetpuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brad C, General Manager at Strahan Village, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2016

Hi jetpuss

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We only recently installed wi-fi at Strahan Village and provide this service free to all our guests. The walk along the board walk down to the esplanade is a leisurely stroll and you get to see a 100 year old Huon Pine. We have recently involved our local council to assist with our landscaping and are working to maintain the extensive foot print that we have.

Regards

Brad Coelho

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2016

Long picturesque drive through the mountains to get there, but worth every minute of the drive. Strahan village is set on a beautiful blue harbour, surrounded by mountains. So much to see and everything is picture postcard.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front so you have views of the harbour. All rooms are quiet and comfortable, t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FredaB187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brad C, General Manager at Strahan Village, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2016

Hi FredaB187

Thanks for taking the time to post your review, its great to read such a positive review.

regards

Brad Coelho

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2016 via mobile

Very disappointing , had very good reviews, however we found it to be well over priced for what you get, very dated decor , noisy, ( hot water circulating pump ) and we also had to put up with a terrible sewer smell from either the sewer pump chamber or gully located outside our ground floor room .
Walls paper thin , and you can hear everything from the first floor.
Most of town seems to be run by the one company , restaurants, bars everything, don't except a lot of variety and to be able to eat out after 8pm at night !!!
Two stars at best at a four star price

Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Terry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brad C, General Manager at Strahan Village, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2016

Hi Terry M

Thanks for taking the time to post your review. Its disappointing to read your comments and that you did not have an enjoyable experience. I have shared your comments with the team for review.

regards

Brad Coelho

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Strahan
0.6 km away
Gordon Gateway
Gordon Gateway
#4 of 4 in Strahan
87 reviews
20.3 km away
The Empire Hotel
The Empire Hotel
#4 of 6 in Queenstown
122 reviews
0.3 km away
Risby Cove
Risby Cove
#2 of 4 in Strahan
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 km away
Motel Strahan
Motel Strahan
#3 of 4 in Strahan
180 reviews
0.5 km away
Franklin Manor
Franklin Manor
#1 of 6 in Strahan
242 reviews
21.2 km away
Comfort Inn Gold Rush
Comfort Inn Gold Rush
#1 of 6 in Queenstown
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strahan Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strahan Village

Address: The Esplanade, Building A, Strahan, Tasmania 7468, Australia (Formerly Quality Suites Strahan Village)
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Strahan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Strahan
Price Range: $107 - $217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Strahan Village 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set right on the waterfront Strahan Village is your ideal base for west coast explorations. The individual cottages and terraces take you back to a time when the wild West was inhabited by miners, piners, fishermen and their families. Fitted out with a variety of room types, the cottages recall an old-world charm with every modern facility. Above the harbour, the 4-star rooms of the Hilltop have sweeping views over Macquarie Harbour. Tasmanian Tourism Awards Winner 2013 "Standard Accommodation". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HotelQuickly, lastminute.com.au and Cancelon so you can book your Strahan Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strahan Village Hotel Strahan
Village Hotel Strahan
Strahan Village Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing