We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,079)
Filter reviews
1,079 results
Traveller rating
244
418
267
89
61
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
244
418
267
89
61
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hilltop room buffet dinner hilltop executive split level gordon river cruise harbour view executive room hill top waterfront cottages two nights great room mini bar hamers hotel macquarie harbour spa bath wilderness railway balcony
Filter
Updating list...
484 - 489 of 1,079 reviews
Reviewed 8 January 2016

We had no option but to choose the Executive King Suite with harbour views. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom spacious. The view from the balcony was outstanding. The decor is a little tired and could with a touchup here and there. No food onsite but a variety of eateries with a few metres.

Room Tip: Executive king suite with harbour views
  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Vynette H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brad C, General Manager at Strahan Village, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2016

Hi Vynette H

Thank you for your review. During the peak season (November to January) I would suggest booking at least a month in advance to get your choice of room type, however the one that you had is a great room. We are in the process of touching the rooms up and making some changes. They include the bathroom amenities, bedding and new TV’s.

We have View 42 Restaurant and bar located on the hilltop overlooking Macquarie Harbour and Hamers Grill on the Esplanade.

regards

Brad Coelho

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2016

We stayed in the Hilltop Executive rooms, which are spread over two levels. The top level would have lovely views as promised, but the ground level (which we were in (only has glimpses because the vegetation hasn't been kept low), so very disappointing. Wifi reception is poor in these rooms also. And definitely shouldn't be the same price. Insist on a top level room. Also be aware unless you are going to drive up and down all the time, you have a lot of stairs to climb up and down to get from your room down to the esplanade and all the action.

Room Tip: Second floor, hilltop executive. Standard rooms overlook the car park.
  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jetpuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brad C, General Manager at Strahan Village, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2016

Hi jetpuss

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We only recently installed wi-fi at Strahan Village and provide this service free to all our guests. The walk along the board walk down to the esplanade is a leisurely stroll and you get to see a 100 year old Huon Pine. We have recently involved our local council to assist with our landscaping and are working to maintain the extensive foot print that we have.

Regards

Brad Coelho

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2016

Long picturesque drive through the mountains to get there, but worth every minute of the drive. Strahan village is set on a beautiful blue harbour, surrounded by mountains. So much to see and everything is picture postcard.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front so you have views of the harbour. All rooms are quiet and comfortable, though some could do with an upgrade.
  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FredaB187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brad C, General Manager at Strahan Village, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2016

Hi FredaB187

Thanks for taking the time to post your review, its great to read such a positive review.

regards

Brad Coelho

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2016 via mobile

Very disappointing , had very good reviews, however we found it to be well over priced for what you get, very dated decor , noisy, ( hot water circulating pump ) and we also had to put up with a terrible sewer smell from either the sewer pump chamber or gully located outside our ground floor room .
Walls paper thin , and you can hear everything from the first floor.
Most of town seems to be run by the one company , restaurants, bars everything, don't except a lot of variety and to be able to eat out after 8pm at night !!!
Two stars at best at a four star price

Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Terry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brad C, General Manager at Strahan Village, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2016

Hi Terry M

Thanks for taking the time to post your review. Its disappointing to read your comments and that you did not have an enjoyable experience. I have shared your comments with the team for review.

regards

Brad Coelho

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2016 via mobile

We really enjoyed the comfort and convenience of this hilltop accommodation. Easy to walk down the stairs to the activities which draw visitors to Strahan. Also handy to Hamer's grill and Banjo's for breakfast. Prices were not cheap either for rooms or buffets. It was the high season (first week of January). But we really were satisfied. Have stayed here before and would definitely stay again.

Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Zebrasydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brad C, General Manager at Strahan Village, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2016

Hi Zebrasydney

Thanks for posting your review. Our 4 star hilltop harbour view rooms have amazing views overlooking Macquarie Harbour. When you next stay with us we will have finished installing our new beds and noticed the enhancements we have made to our rooms

regards

Brad Coelho

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews