We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,065)
Filter reviews
1,065 results
Traveller rating
240
412
263
89
61
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
240
412
263
89
61
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshilltop roombuffet dinnerhilltop executivesplit levelgordon river cruiseharbour viewexecutive roomhill topwaterfront cottagestwo nightsgreat roommini barhamers hotelmacquarie harbourspa bathwilderness railwaybalcony
Filter
Updating list...
474 - 479 of 1,065 reviews
Reviewed 6 January 2016 via mobile

We really enjoyed the comfort and convenience of this hilltop accommodation. Easy to walk down the stairs to the activities which draw visitors to Strahan. Also handy to Hamer's grill and Banjo's for breakfast. Prices were not cheap either for rooms or buffets. It was the high season (first week of January). But we really were satisfied. Have stayed here before and would definitely stay again.

Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Zebrasydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brad C, General Manager at Strahan Village, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2016

Hi Zebrasydney

Thanks for posting your review. Our 4 star hilltop harbour view rooms have amazing views overlooking Macquarie Harbour. When you next stay with us we will have finished installing our new beds and noticed the enhancements we have made to our rooms

regards

Brad Coelho

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2016 via mobile

Room comfortable, spacious, beds comfy, tv fine following the detailed instructions, cool and quiet up the back (doesn't need air conditioning!!)Took us a little bit on day one to find the walkway / stairs down... And parking was a little difficult on some nights... Very convenient to the activities and shops down on the wharf... Beautiful views from the restaurant and bar.

Stayed: January 2016
Thank Sandan71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brad C, General Manager at Strahan Village, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2016

Hi Sandan71

Thanks for taking the time to post your review. By the sound of your review you stayed in one of our hill top standard rooms. Glad to read you were able to take in the view overlooking Macquarie Harbour from View 42 Restaurant, hope you stayed for dinner.

regards

Brad Coelho

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2016

This place has a bit of a monopoly on accommodation in the centre of town. Arriving late in the afternoon we didn't have much time to source accommodation before heading off on the river cruise so felt we had to take what was available. There is beautiful accommodation offered by Strahan Village in town however we were diverted to the top of the hill to a unit which was over priced, view of the carpark and pretty ordinary for an overnight fee of $199. Certainly did not get our monies worth.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view if diverted to the motel rooms on the hill.
  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Armidalekay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brad C, General Manager at Strahan Village, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2016

Hi Armidalekay

Thanks for taking the time to post your review. We have 142 rooms that vary in star rating and location throughout Strahan. Peak season commences just after Christmas day and as a result we run at extremely high levels of occupancy with only a couple of rooms available for sale each day. We recommend definitely booking before you arrive to ensure you get the room of your choice.

regards

Brad Coelho

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2016

Not what we booked, it says we have a bath, king size bed, cable channels, we had none of that. Room was noisy with no,privacy from rooms next door, they were all complaining as well, none of us got what we thought we would for the price we payed, we shortened our stay

Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Sharport67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brad C, General Manager at Strahan Village, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2016

Hi SPortelli

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I do apologise that the room descriptions did not match the room that you stayed in and you shortened your stay with us. I spent considerable time reviewing the website's we are listed on and picked up a few incorrect descriptions that have now been fixed.

Thank you once again for bringing this to my attention

regards
Brad Coelho

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2016

We stayed there in January, we stayed in obviously the oldest room with no air conditioning, to be honest I possibly wouldn't go back and stay in those rooms, but the price was the cheapest so if you want air conditioning and views then pay the money for the better rooms. The room was clean and comfortable too and the pillows were amazing. We ate at the View 42 buffet, yum and the staff there was great

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MaxMichelle2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brad C, General Manager at Strahan Village, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2016

Hi MaxMichelle2014

Thanks for posting your review. We have 142 rooms that vary in style, location and cater for the 4 and 3.5 star market.

We have recently invested heavily in purchasing new toweling, linen, pillows, doonas and bathroom amenities for all accommodation rooms. We will also be replacing our bed bases towards the end of January.

Glad to read you had an enjoyable dining experience at View 42, the views over looking Macquarie Harbour are amazing hope you were able to catch a sunset.

regards

Brad Coelho

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews