We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,099)
Filter reviews
1,099 results
Traveller rating
248
430
271
89
61
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
248
430
271
89
61
Show reviews that mention
All reviews buffet dinner hilltop room hilltop executive split level gordon river cruise harbour view executive room hill top waterfront cottages main building two nights great room hamers hotel macquarie harbour fantastic views bed was comfortable spa bath
Filter
Updating list...
507 - 512 of 1,099 reviews
Reviewed 6 January 2016

This place has a bit of a monopoly on accommodation in the centre of town. Arriving late in the afternoon we didn't have much time to source accommodation before heading off on the river cruise so felt we had to take what was available. There is beautiful accommodation offered by Strahan Village in town however we were diverted to the top of the hill to a unit which was over priced, view of the carpark and pretty ordinary for an overnight fee of $199. Certainly did not get our monies worth.

Room tip: Ask for a room with a view if diverted to the motel rooms on the hill.
Date of stay: January 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Armidalekay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brad C, General Manager at Strahan Village, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2016

Hi Armidalekay

Thanks for taking the time to post your review. We have 142 rooms that vary in star rating and location throughout Strahan. Peak season commences just after Christmas day and as a result we run at extremely high levels of occupancy with only a couple of rooms available for sale each day. We recommend definitely booking before you arrive to ensure you get the room of your choice.

regards

Brad Coelho

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2016

Not what we booked, it says we have a bath, king size bed, cable channels, we had none of that. Room was noisy with no,privacy from rooms next door, they were all complaining as well, none of us got what we thought we would for the price we payed, we shortened our stay

Date of stay: January 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Sharport67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brad C, General Manager at Strahan Village, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2016

Hi SPortelli

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I do apologise that the room descriptions did not match the room that you stayed in and you shortened your stay with us. I spent considerable time reviewing the website's we are listed on and picked up a few incorrect descriptions that have now been fixed.

Thank you once again for bringing this to my attention

regards
Brad Coelho

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2016

We stayed there in January, we stayed in obviously the oldest room with no air conditioning, to be honest I possibly wouldn't go back and stay in those rooms, but the price was the cheapest so if you want air conditioning and views then pay the money for the better rooms. The room was clean and comfortable too and the pillows were amazing. We ate at the View 42 buffet, yum and the staff there was great

Date of stay: January 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MaxMichelle2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brad C, General Manager at Strahan Village, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2016

Hi MaxMichelle2014

Thanks for posting your review. We have 142 rooms that vary in style, location and cater for the 4 and 3.5 star market.

We have recently invested heavily in purchasing new toweling, linen, pillows, doonas and bathroom amenities for all accommodation rooms. We will also be replacing our bed bases towards the end of January.

Glad to read you had an enjoyable dining experience at View 42, the views over looking Macquarie Harbour are amazing hope you were able to catch a sunset.

regards

Brad Coelho

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2016 via mobile

Initial cottage smelt of sewerage. After a call to reception we were moved into another cottage and offered payment of meal. Very good. Problem is of the 3 restaurants in town one was closed (public hol) other 2 booked out. One pub wouldn't take bookings under 6. Would expect better for tourist town. Don't become complacent !

Date of stay: December 2015
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank MargAndrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brad C, General Manager at Strahan Village, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2016

Hi MargAndrew

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We have since rectified the smell issue with one of our cottages and I am pleased to hear the team dealt with complaint in a professional manner.

Over the festive period unfortunately not all restaurants were open in Strahan. We operate View 42 Restaurant and Hamers Grill and remained open over this time. The challenge we face is trying to feed in excess of 500 people in a very short period of time. Given the location and type of cuisine Hamers Grill does not take bookings and operate on a walk in basis.

regards
Brad Coelho

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2016 via mobile

Lovely looking front units & reception, then up the back to our old daggy room with 80s bead spreads & NO AIRCONDITIONING. What motel in the last 20 years doesn't have air-condition. Hot, stuffy room, but lucky they provided a new flash invention - A FAN! Say no more, I've been here 5 minutes and I'm mighty peed off!!!!! Oh the hallway was AIRCONDITIONED so if you like to sleep there it's ok. Caught in the 70s old block up the back where the majority of rooms are is NOT what you want. We won't be back!

Date of stay: January 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Mixedtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brad C, General Manager at Strahan Village, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2016

Hi Mixedtraveller

Thanks for posting your review. I do apologies the room booked was not up to standard. We have 142 rooms that are spread across Strahan and were built at various stages over a 30 year period. We have invested heavily in our rooms implementing brand new linen, toweling, pillows, doonas and bathroom amenities. We have also recently installed HD LED TV's in our 4 star rooms and purchased new bed bases for all our rooms which will arrive towards the end of January. We do have plans to install air conditioning in rooms without them.

regards
Brad Coelho

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews