We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,069)
Filter reviews
1,069 results
Traveller rating
242
414
263
89
61
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
242
414
263
89
61
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshilltop roombuffet dinnerhilltop executivesplit levelgordon river cruiseharbour viewexecutive roomhill topwaterfront cottagestwo nightsgreat roommini barhamers hotelmacquarie harbourspa bathwilderness railwaybalcony
Filter
Updating list...
481 - 486 of 1,069 reviews
Reviewed 4 January 2016

Not what we booked, it says we have a bath, king size bed, cable channels, we had none of that. Room was noisy with no,privacy from rooms next door, they were all complaining as well, none of us got what we thought we would for the price we payed, we shortened our stay

Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Sharport67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brad C, General Manager at Strahan Village, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2016

Hi SPortelli

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I do apologise that the room descriptions did not match the room that you stayed in and you shortened your stay with us. I spent considerable time reviewing the website's we are listed on and picked up a few incorrect descriptions that have now been fixed.

Thank you once again for bringing this to my attention

regards
Brad Coelho

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2016

We stayed there in January, we stayed in obviously the oldest room with no air conditioning, to be honest I possibly wouldn't go back and stay in those rooms, but the price was the cheapest so if you want air conditioning and views then pay the money for the better rooms. The room was clean and comfortable too and the pillows were amazing. We ate at the View 42 buffet, yum and the staff there was great

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MaxMichelle2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brad C, General Manager at Strahan Village, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2016

Hi MaxMichelle2014

Thanks for posting your review. We have 142 rooms that vary in style, location and cater for the 4 and 3.5 star market.

We have recently invested heavily in purchasing new toweling, linen, pillows, doonas and bathroom amenities for all accommodation rooms. We will also be replacing our bed bases towards the end of January.

Glad to read you had an enjoyable dining experience at View 42, the views over looking Macquarie Harbour are amazing hope you were able to catch a sunset.

regards

Brad Coelho

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2016 via mobile

Initial cottage smelt of sewerage. After a call to reception we were moved into another cottage and offered payment of meal. Very good. Problem is of the 3 restaurants in town one was closed (public hol) other 2 booked out. One pub wouldn't take bookings under 6. Would expect better for tourist town. Don't become complacent !

Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank MargAndrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brad C, General Manager at Strahan Village, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2016

Hi MargAndrew

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We have since rectified the smell issue with one of our cottages and I am pleased to hear the team dealt with complaint in a professional manner.

Over the festive period unfortunately not all restaurants were open in Strahan. We operate View 42 Restaurant and Hamers Grill and remained open over this time. The challenge we face is trying to feed in excess of 500 people in a very short period of time. Given the location and type of cuisine Hamers Grill does not take bookings and operate on a walk in basis.

regards
Brad Coelho

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2016 via mobile

Lovely looking front units & reception, then up the back to our old daggy room with 80s bead spreads & NO AIRCONDITIONING. What motel in the last 20 years doesn't have air-condition. Hot, stuffy room, but lucky they provided a new flash invention - A FAN! Say no more, I've been here 5 minutes and I'm mighty peed off!!!!! Oh the hallway was AIRCONDITIONED so if you like to sleep there it's ok. Caught in the 70s old block up the back where the majority of rooms are is NOT what you want. We won't be back!

Stayed: January 2016, travelled with family
Thank Mixedtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brad C, General Manager at Strahan Village, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2016

Hi Mixedtraveller

Thanks for posting your review. I do apologies the room booked was not up to standard. We have 142 rooms that are spread across Strahan and were built at various stages over a 30 year period. We have invested heavily in our rooms implementing brand new linen, toweling, pillows, doonas and bathroom amenities. We have also recently installed HD LED TV's in our 4 star rooms and purchased new bed bases for all our rooms which will arrive towards the end of January. We do have plans to install air conditioning in rooms without them.

regards
Brad Coelho

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2015

from what i can gather there are quite a variety of rooms on offer at the strahan village. the majority of them do sit on top of the hill overlooking the bay into which strahan is nestled. and it is a beautiful view which can be savoured from their restaurant and bar. i happened to have a room right next to the laundry which seemed to be a popular place for staff to hang out and chat in the afternoon. we arrived in the afternoon and the long corridor servicing our rooms was very dark, no doubt they were trying to save on lighting and energy costs. i can appreciate that but at the same time it's nice to not make your guests feel like they're wandering down a corridor straight out of "the shining" - maybe some skylights are needed if you want to save energy.

Stayed: December 2015, travelled on business
Thank Capt_Funkelicious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brad C, General Manager at Strahan Village, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2016

Hi Capt_Funkelicious

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We have 142 rooms with nine different rooms types that cater for a variety of people. Please be assured we are not in the business of cost cutting and will follow up on your comments.

regards

Brad Coelho

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews