We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,069)
Filter reviews
1,069 results
Traveller rating
242
414
263
89
61
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
242
414
263
89
61
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshilltop roombuffet dinnerhilltop executivesplit levelgordon river cruiseharbour viewexecutive roomhill topwaterfront cottagestwo nightsgreat roommini barhamers hotelmacquarie harbourspa bathwilderness railwaybalcony
Filter
Updating list...
485 - 490 of 1,069 reviews
Reviewed 31 December 2015

from what i can gather there are quite a variety of rooms on offer at the strahan village. the majority of them do sit on top of the hill overlooking the bay into which strahan is nestled. and it is a beautiful view which can be savoured from their restaurant and bar. i happened to have a room right next to the laundry which seemed to be a popular place for staff to hang out and chat in the afternoon. we arrived in the afternoon and the long corridor servicing our rooms was very dark, no doubt they were trying to save on lighting and energy costs. i can appreciate that but at the same time it's nice to not make your guests feel like they're wandering down a corridor straight out of "the shining" - maybe some skylights are needed if you want to save energy.

Stayed: December 2015, travelled on business
Thank Capt_Funkelicious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brad C, General Manager at Strahan Village, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2016

Hi Capt_Funkelicious

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We have 142 rooms with nine different rooms types that cater for a variety of people. Please be assured we are not in the business of cost cutting and will follow up on your comments.

regards

Brad Coelho

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2015

The motel is in the centre of Strahan (which is a small town) but in front of the harbour, so if you booked the Gordon river cruise, it's just in front of the departure bay.
The room was spacious, clean and quite, with large bed. There is free wifi but reception is poor, so that could have been better and is a thing to improve, considering that telephone carriers have bad receptions as well on the Tasmanian west coast (Queenstown, Tasmania, Cradle Mountain).
There is a restaurant in the complex with a nice view towards the harbour.
There was no surcharge on credit card, which is good considering that lots of places in Tasmania apply it.
Car parking is available in front of your motel room.

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank And_F_82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brad C, General Manager at Strahan Village, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2016

Hi And_F_82

Thanks for taking the time to post your review. Glad to read you enjoyed your stay with us and were able to dine in View 42 and take in the amazing views over Macquarie Harbour.

regards
Brad Coelho

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2015 via mobile

Great access to the wilderness area via the train and Gordon River. When we were there it was just prior to the "rush" period so it was fantastic. So quite and relaxed. The accommodation was average but clean and acceptable. The restaurant is excellent with a very good buffet that has an excellent range of food. The restaurant seemed under staffed however the service was not affected and the girls were very professional and provided friendly efficient service.

Stayed: December 2015, travelled with friends
Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brad C, General Manager at Strahan Village, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2015

Hi Paul F

Thanks for taking the time to post your review. Strahan has a lot of offer from a cruise on board the Lady Jane Franklin II to seeing little penguins on the Bonnet Island Experience.

Taking in the magnificent views overlooking Macquarie Harbour at View 42 is a must do either for dinner or a relaxing drink on the deck.

regards

Brad Coelho

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2015 via mobile

We had a room with no view but it was clean and comfortable. We eat in restaurant it was a very nice buffet. We did the Gordon river cruise. Excellent. Perfect weather sunny and calm. Not to busy. Very pleasant village not a huge amount to do but lovely to chill out at.

Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank poppygalore1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brad C, General Manager at Strahan Village, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2015

Dear poppygalore1955

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. So glad you were able to do a cruise on board the Lady Jane Franklin II. Strahan is a very relaxing place that actually has a lot to do, a visit to our activities center would have provided you with all the information you needed from sand boarding at Henty dunes, 4 wheel driving on Ocean Beach, seeing little penguins on the Bonnet Island Experience or a leisurely walk to Hogarth Falls.

I hope we can host you again.

regards

Brad Coelho

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2015

Have visited Strahan several times but have always been camping. We decided to do the 'touristy thing' and do the river cruise and train trip. So glad we did. Stayed 2 nights in a waterfront cottage. Loved the convenience of being so close to everything. The room was comfortable and well appointed. Breakfast in the restaurant was exceptional as was the buffet on Saturday night. We found all the staff very friendly and helpful. Will definitely recommend to others.
Only negative was other guest on each side of our cottage seemed ton travelling together and we're going back and forward continually and meeting up outside our room for loud talking and smoking.

Stayed: November 2015
Thank Sally S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brad C, General Manager at Strahan Village, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2015

Hi Sally S

Thanks for taking the time to post your review. Great to hear you decided to do the touristy thing and thoroughly enjoyed yourself. A trip on board the Lady Jane Franklin II is a must do when on Strahan.

I'll certainly pass your comments about breakfast and dinner onto the team.

regards

Brad Coelho

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews