We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hilltop motel”
Review of Strahan Village

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Strahan Village
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Strahan
Reviewed 10 June 2012

When we checked in we were told Strahan was in 'winter mode" and most of the restaurants were closed even the bar and restaurant (apart from breakfast).
Apart from all that our 6th visit was great- Gordon River Cruise etc wonderful as always.
Our rooms and king size bed very comfortable with a great view of the harbour and a very friendly possum who visited us both nights.
We will be back .

Room Tip: Rooms with a view of the harbour always a good option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ozzie52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (972)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

825 - 829 of 972 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2012

We did not have an advance reservation but were able to book an attactive 2 night package that included the West Coast Wilderness Railway and included breakfast. The spacious hilltop room overlooked the harbour and from the hotel an easy walk into town. We also booked a night time nature boat ride to observe the pigmy penguins returning from the sea to their island nests. Book this early as space is limited and we noted several folks were turned away.

Room Tip: Don't miss the Strahan experience!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JPL33401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2012

We booked a 2 night package and paid for the upgrade to "executive hilltop". Our room was on the ground floor and did not match the photos of this room class on their website "Pure Tasmania". Our harbour view was obscured by vegetation, the ceiling height sloped markedly contributing to the closed in feeling. I was disappointed. The buffet breakfast was standard fare, but not worth the $22.00 they were asking those not on a package. Strahan is lovely, especially in autum/winter when the crowds have gone. However ,because of the off season, many businesses were closed limiting choices for meals.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RNCSLEWIS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2012

Stayed 3 nights in a Hilltop Executive suite which had amazing views over Strahan port - picture postcard pretty Macquarie Harbour. Good location, nice & central for steam train & river cruises. There's a shuttle to the train station right from doorstep, and cruises leave from bottom of the Strahan Village hill, less than 10 minute walk from our room.

Room was a long, narrowish rectangle, bathroom at top, then bed, stepping down to small lounge with tv & mini bar, then out double doors to balcony (was unfortunately too wet and cold to enjoy it). Comfy bed & good heating. Buffet breakfast was great, loads of hot fresh food, plus cereal, fruits, pastries. Ordered gourmet pizzas from restaurant one night, they were fantastic.

Booked as part of package with train & cruise, much better deal than booking separately, both tours totally recommended & thoroughly amazing. Late checkout of 11am was nice, and service was great - I accidentally left my coat behind and staff arranged for it to be dropped off for me in Launceston a few days later at no charge, which was lovely of them.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ViaTardis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2012

We stayed here for a couple of nights when touring around Tasmania. We didn't book in advance, but still managed to get one of the rooms overlooking the harbour. Initially, we only booked for a single night, but then decided to stay on so we could do the West Coast Wilderness Railway trip the next day (you get 10% off the trip if you are staying at Strahan Village, which is worth knowing).
The staff were great, really friendly and helpful and the room was clean and very comfortable (and had a fabulous view).
The only downside was that the wireless internet signal was a bit sparse. I could get it while sitting in the restaurant/bar (nice tapas, by the way) but not in the room.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gaz_Aus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Strahan
0.6 km away
Gordon Gateway
Gordon Gateway
#4 of 4 in Strahan
86 reviews
20.3 km away
The Empire Hotel
The Empire Hotel
#3 of 6 in Queenstown
121 reviews
0.3 km away
Risby Cove
Risby Cove
#2 of 4 in Strahan
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 km away
Motel Strahan
Motel Strahan
#3 of 4 in Strahan
180 reviews
0.5 km away
Franklin Manor
Franklin Manor
#1 of 6 in Strahan
240 reviews
21.2 km away
Comfort Inn Gold Rush
Comfort Inn Gold Rush
#1 of 6 in Queenstown
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strahan Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strahan Village

Address: The Esplanade, Building A, Strahan, Tasmania 7468, Australia (Formerly Quality Suites Strahan Village)
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Strahan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Strahan
Price Range: $107 - $218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Strahan Village 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set right on the waterfront Strahan Village is your ideal base for west coast explorations. The individual cottages and terraces take you back to a time when the wild West was inhabited by miners, piners, fishermen and their families. Fitted out with a variety of room types, the cottages recall an old-world charm with every modern facility. Above the harbour, the 4-star rooms of the Hilltop have sweeping views over Macquarie Harbour. Tasmanian Tourism Awards Winner 2013 "Standard Accommodation". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HotelQuickly, lastminute.com.au and Cancelon so you can book your Strahan Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strahan Village Hotel Strahan
Village Hotel Strahan
Strahan Village Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing