We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,123)
Filter reviews
1,123 results
Traveller rating
251
441
277
91
63
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
251
441
277
91
63
Show reviews that mention
All reviews buffet dinner hilltop room hilltop executive split level gordon river cruise harbour view executive room hill top waterfront cottages main building ground level two nights great room hamers hotel macquarie harbour fantastic views bed was comfortable
Filter
Updating list...
970 - 975 of 1,123 reviews
Reviewed 4 June 2012

We did not have an advance reservation but were able to book an attactive 2 night package that included the West Coast Wilderness Railway and included breakfast. The spacious hilltop room overlooked the harbour and from the hotel an easy walk into town. We also booked a night time nature boat ride to observe the pigmy penguins returning from the sea to their island nests. Book this early as space is limited and we noted several folks were turned away.

Room tip: Don't miss the Strahan experience!
Date of stay: October 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JPL33401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2012

We booked a 2 night package and paid for the upgrade to "executive hilltop". Our room was on the ground floor and did not match the photos of this room class on their website "Pure Tasmania". Our harbour view was obscured by vegetation, the ceiling height sloped markedly contributing to the closed in feeling. I was disappointed. The buffet breakfast was standard fare, but not worth the $22.00 they were asking those not on a package. Strahan is lovely, especially in autum/winter when the crowds have gone. However ,because of the off season, many businesses were closed limiting choices for meals.

Date of stay: June 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RNCSLEWIS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2012

Stayed 3 nights in a Hilltop Executive suite which had amazing views over Strahan port - picture postcard pretty Macquarie Harbour. Good location, nice & central for steam train & river cruises. There's a shuttle to the train station right from doorstep, and cruises leave from bottom of the Strahan Village hill, less than 10 minute walk from our room.

Room was a long, narrowish rectangle, bathroom at top, then bed, stepping down to small lounge with tv & mini bar, then out double doors to balcony (was unfortunately too wet and cold to enjoy it). Comfy bed & good heating. Buffet breakfast was great, loads of hot fresh food, plus cereal, fruits, pastries. Ordered gourmet pizzas from restaurant one night, they were fantastic.

Booked as part of package with train & cruise, much better deal than booking separately, both tours totally recommended & thoroughly amazing. Late checkout of 11am was nice, and service was great - I accidentally left my coat behind and staff arranged for it to be dropped off for me in Launceston a few days later at no charge, which was lovely of them.

Date of stay: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ViaTardis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2012

We stayed here for a couple of nights when touring around Tasmania. We didn't book in advance, but still managed to get one of the rooms overlooking the harbour. Initially, we only booked for a single night, but then decided to stay on so we could do the West Coast Wilderness Railway trip the next day (you get 10% off the trip if you are staying at Strahan Village, which is worth knowing).
The staff were great, really friendly and helpful and the room was clean and very comfortable (and had a fabulous view).
The only downside was that the wireless internet signal was a bit sparse. I could get it while sitting in the restaurant/bar (nice tapas, by the way) but not in the room.

Date of stay: April 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gaz_Aus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2012

the room was good and simple, the staff nice and on a very good location

Date of stay: December 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews