We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,123)
Filter reviews
1,123 results
Traveller rating
251
441
277
91
63
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
251
441
277
91
63
Show reviews that mention
All reviews buffet dinner hilltop room hilltop executive split level gordon river cruise harbour view executive room hill top waterfront cottages main building ground level two nights great room hamers hotel macquarie harbour fantastic views bed was comfortable
Filter
Updating list...
985 - 990 of 1,123 reviews
Reviewed 18 March 2012

When I booked a room I imagined I was getting one of the beautiful cottages shown on the website, so I was surprised when I was allocated a unit up the hill. There were units overlooking Strahan harbour, but ours was behind these with a stunning view of the carpark. The room, whilst comfortable enough, was little better than a normal 3 star motel room. The walls were particularly thin, making it easy to here conversations in the adjoining rooms. The adverising for this accommodation is misleading and fellow travellers need to be aware of this.

Room tip: Find out whether you are booking a cottage or the standard accommodation.
Date of stay: March 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank johnbF7230YJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2012

We stayed here for two nights - in one of the cottages on the waterfront (the one next to the little stone house on the corner).
We had a three bedroom cottage, which had small kitchen facilities i.e. barfridge, microwave, tea and coffee making facilities and sink.
The room was comfortable with enough space to move around in (especially as we were only a couple). Price was high, but if you were a small group or two couples, the cost could be well justified.
The noise of the buses and delivery vans at 7.00am in the morning was a little disturbing, but I needed to be up then anyway LOL.
Be warned, Strahan Village owns most of everything in the main street that you can see!! They certainly hold the monopoly of the village, which is such a shame. Beware the fish and chip shop - the service is really lousy and fairly overpriced i.e. $26.00 for a piece of fish and chips!!! Loved the bread served at the bakery, just wish the counter staff were trained a little better.

A great location for tourists :)

Date of stay: March 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WomanfromOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2012

Spent two night at Strahan Village in the waterfront executive spa room. The name of the room sounds a lot more flashier than it looks but it is Strahan after all. Our room had a good view and was fairly clean, with a good size spa. We were lucky enough to be on the second level, so we had a balcony that overlooked the village and dock. After having a walk around the village and a look at the other rooms, I am glad that we picked the one we stayed in. Other rooms were in small cottages, pushed to the side of the property or behind trees and most looked fairly run-down and old.
The village restaurant was a buffet, which I at first had reservations about, not being a fan of buffet eating. However, the options for eating in Strahan were few and far between so we ate here for the first night. The food was well presented and if you are a seafood fan, you could run wild.
Overall it was a very quiet place to stay and we thouroughly enjoyed the two nights we spent there.

Room tip: Waterfront Exec Spa Room is the only way to go. Good view and
Date of stay: October 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AJay_85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2012

My wife and I stayed here on the completion of a cycle challenge and loved the location and style of the cottage we were in. Our sleep was continualy broken due to a group disrespectful people being very loud at the pub along the street which is nothing to do with the accommodation provider.
The room layout was good and the bed comfortable.
The staff member we dealt with was brilliant on both occasions and made us feel very welcome and comfortable.
We plan to stay here again in the near future.

Room tip: Waterfront cottage had a lovely feel with it and adds to the novelty of Strahan.
Date of stay: February 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IronmanFluff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2012

Spent 2 nights, lovely part of the world, I could live here. Great accommodation little old but has been refurbished and is compatable with the surrounds, old world charm and relaxing.

Room tip: We stayed in the terraces with harbour views
Date of stay: February 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews