We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“bit pricey”
Review of Strahan Village

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Strahan Village
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Strahan
Reviewed 20 March 2012

We spent 2 nights in Strahan, stayed in a village waterfront spa suite, which sounds very fancy but really isn't.
For the price we paid around $240 a night it wasn't really as good as it should have been. The room was very small, we did have a nice view over the waterfront but I still dont think it is worth the price they are charging. Breakfast is beautiful and the staff in the restaurant were great but we would pick somewhere else close to town next time to stay that isn't as pricey as you dont really get value for money.

Room Tip: specify where you expect your room to be, ie if you want a cottage make sure you specify or if you w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank katie o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (972)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

840 - 844 of 972 reviews

Reviewed 18 March 2012

When I booked a room I imagined I was getting one of the beautiful cottages shown on the website, so I was surprised when I was allocated a unit up the hill. There were units overlooking Strahan harbour, but ours was behind these with a stunning view of the carpark. The room, whilst comfortable enough, was little better than a normal 3 star motel room. The walls were particularly thin, making it easy to here conversations in the adjoining rooms. The adverising for this accommodation is misleading and fellow travellers need to be aware of this.

Room Tip: Find out whether you are booking a cottage or the standard accommodation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2012

We stayed here for two nights - in one of the cottages on the waterfront (the one next to the little stone house on the corner).
We had a three bedroom cottage, which had small kitchen facilities i.e. barfridge, microwave, tea and coffee making facilities and sink.
The room was comfortable with enough space to move around in (especially as we were only a couple). Price was high, but if you were a small group or two couples, the cost could be well justified.
The noise of the buses and delivery vans at 7.00am in the morning was a little disturbing, but I needed to be up then anyway LOL.
Be warned, Strahan Village owns most of everything in the main street that you can see!! They certainly hold the monopoly of the village, which is such a shame. Beware the fish and chip shop - the service is really lousy and fairly overpriced i.e. $26.00 for a piece of fish and chips!!! Loved the bread served at the bakery, just wish the counter staff were trained a little better.

A great location for tourists :)

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WomanfromOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2012

Spent two night at Strahan Village in the waterfront executive spa room. The name of the room sounds a lot more flashier than it looks but it is Strahan after all. Our room had a good view and was fairly clean, with a good size spa. We were lucky enough to be on the second level, so we had a balcony that overlooked the village and dock. After having a walk around the village and a look at the other rooms, I am glad that we picked the one we stayed in. Other rooms were in small cottages, pushed to the side of the property or behind trees and most looked fairly run-down and old.
The village restaurant was a buffet, which I at first had reservations about, not being a fan of buffet eating. However, the options for eating in Strahan were few and far between so we ate here for the first night. The food was well presented and if you are a seafood fan, you could run wild.
Overall it was a very quiet place to stay and we thouroughly enjoyed the two nights we spent there.

Room Tip: Waterfront Exec Spa Room is the only way to go. Good view and
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AJay_85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2012

My wife and I stayed here on the completion of a cycle challenge and loved the location and style of the cottage we were in. Our sleep was continualy broken due to a group disrespectful people being very loud at the pub along the street which is nothing to do with the accommodation provider.
The room layout was good and the bed comfortable.
The staff member we dealt with was brilliant on both occasions and made us feel very welcome and comfortable.
We plan to stay here again in the near future.

Room Tip: Waterfront cottage had a lovely feel with it and adds to the novelty of Strahan.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IronmanFluff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Strahan
0.6 km away
Gordon Gateway
Gordon Gateway
#4 of 4 in Strahan
86 reviews
20.3 km away
The Empire Hotel
The Empire Hotel
#3 of 6 in Queenstown
121 reviews
0.3 km away
Risby Cove
Risby Cove
#2 of 4 in Strahan
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 km away
Motel Strahan
Motel Strahan
#3 of 4 in Strahan
180 reviews
0.5 km away
Franklin Manor
Franklin Manor
#1 of 6 in Strahan
240 reviews
21.2 km away
Comfort Inn Gold Rush
Comfort Inn Gold Rush
#1 of 6 in Queenstown
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strahan Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strahan Village

Address: The Esplanade, Building A, Strahan, Tasmania 7468, Australia (Formerly Quality Suites Strahan Village)
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Strahan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Strahan
Price Range: $107 - $218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Strahan Village 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set right on the waterfront Strahan Village is your ideal base for west coast explorations. The individual cottages and terraces take you back to a time when the wild West was inhabited by miners, piners, fishermen and their families. Fitted out with a variety of room types, the cottages recall an old-world charm with every modern facility. Above the harbour, the 4-star rooms of the Hilltop have sweeping views over Macquarie Harbour. Tasmanian Tourism Awards Winner 2013 "Standard Accommodation". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HotelQuickly, lastminute.com.au and Cancelon so you can book your Strahan Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strahan Village Hotel Strahan
Village Hotel Strahan
Strahan Village Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing