We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“'Hilltop standard' means view of carpark”
Review of Strahan Village

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Strahan Village
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Strahan
Reviewed 22 January 2012

We wanted a place to stay for one night whilst in transit. The 2 rooms we had were 'standard' with windows looking onto the carpark. There were rooms with very nice views over the harbour on the other side of the hallway but we were not bothered as we were only staying 1 night, came in late and left early.
We were not expecting and did not want to pay for anything fancy, although it was disappointing that the cars were parked so close to the motel windows. We felt we had to keep the curtains closed for privacy and so the rooms were quite dark.
Otherwise the rooms had all usual facilities and overall the experience was satisfactory but not great.
The big plus was the easy walk from the front of hotel (through the bar of View 42 restaurant) down a number of steps right into the main street.

Room Tip: If you want privacy and a view, then ensure you ask for a room facing the harbour, and do not book a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ilc2it
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (994)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

874 - 878 of 994 reviews

Reviewed 21 January 2012

DO NOT stay at StrahanVillage hotel - you can hear the people very clearly next , so if you want to get any sleep book somewhere else! Very 70s decor - not value for money.

Room Tip: Book another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carolyn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2012

We arrived late, 11.30 pm, to a warm, friendly welcome by reception. After an horrendous day (car trouble) we collapsed into our beautiful king room with great views of Macquarie Harbour. A perfect end to a very tiring day. During our three night stay hotel staff helped us with info on a range of topics and organised tours for us. A great venue, within walking distance of restaurants, cafes, pub, cruises and shops. Courtesy bus always on hand if needed. Despite the hefty tariff, the room and service we received were outstanding.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2012

The hilltop room was very disappointing as it was facing the car park. Our room was on the ground floor and the parked cars were just a few inches from the windows. And of course the noise of engine and people was annoying too. The room was a bit shabby too. If you book this hotel, book a room with the sea view!

For restaurants, we tried the fish cafe. It was too expensive for kind of fast food like fish n chips. The pub of Hamer's Hotel was also not value for money too. I would recommend Risky Cove, tasty food and nice sunset view.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cheetahgal4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2012

Yes,I agree with many of the negative reveiws re the Hilltop rooms with a veiw of the carpark.Dont go there or ask for room with veiw.WHERE oh WHERE did they get that hideous peach coloured paint from ????Was it on special ? Must have been.Bedding old and tatty.Smelt of a thousand guests.The family were very unhappy,here.Fish Cafe-$24 for fish and chips???Is that the normal price in a fishing town.....Will never go back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a veiw of the water and if you are a group or family,don,y let them shove you to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Helenstev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Strahan
0.6 km away
Gordon Gateway
Gordon Gateway
#4 of 4 in Strahan
88 reviews
20.3 km away
The Empire Hotel
The Empire Hotel
#3 of 6 in Queenstown
123 reviews
0.3 km away
Risby Cove
Risby Cove
#3 of 4 in Strahan
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 km away
Motel Strahan
Motel Strahan
#2 of 4 in Strahan
186 reviews
21.2 km away
Comfort Inn Gold Rush
Comfort Inn Gold Rush
#1 of 6 in Queenstown
149 reviews
0.5 km away
Franklin Manor
Franklin Manor
#1 of 6 in Strahan
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strahan Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strahan Village

Address: The Esplanade, Building A, Strahan, Tasmania 7468, Australia (Formerly Quality Suites Strahan Village)
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Strahan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Strahan
Price Range: $113 - $252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Strahan Village 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set right on the waterfront Strahan Village is your ideal base for west coast explorations. The individual cottages and terraces take you back to a time when the wild West was inhabited by miners, piners, fishermen and their families. Fitted out with a variety of room types, the cottages recall an old-world charm with every modern facility. Above the harbour, the 4-star rooms of the Hilltop have sweeping views over Macquarie Harbour. Tasmanian Tourism Awards Winner 2013 "Standard Accommodation". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Strahan Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strahan Village Hotel Strahan
Village Hotel Strahan
Strahan Village Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing