We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,078)
Filter reviews
1,078 results
Traveller rating
243
418
267
89
61
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
243
418
267
89
61
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hilltop room buffet dinner hilltop executive split level gordon river cruise harbour view executive room hill top waterfront cottages two nights great room mini bar hamers hotel macquarie harbour spa bath wilderness railway balcony
Filter
Updating list...
955 - 960 of 1,078 reviews
Reviewed 21 January 2012

DO NOT stay at StrahanVillage hotel - you can hear the people very clearly next , so if you want to get any sleep book somewhere else! Very 70s decor - not value for money.

Room Tip: Book another hotel.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carolyn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2012

We arrived late, 11.30 pm, to a warm, friendly welcome by reception. After an horrendous day (car trouble) we collapsed into our beautiful king room with great views of Macquarie Harbour. A perfect end to a very tiring day. During our three night stay hotel staff helped us with info on a range of topics and organised tours for us. A great venue, within walking distance of restaurants, cafes, pub, cruises and shops. Courtesy bus always on hand if needed. Despite the hefty tariff, the room and service we received were outstanding.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2012

The hilltop room was very disappointing as it was facing the car park. Our room was on the ground floor and the parked cars were just a few inches from the windows. And of course the noise of engine and people was annoying too. The room was a bit shabby too. If you book this hotel, book a room with the sea view!

For restaurants, we tried the fish cafe. It was too expensive for kind of fast food like fish n chips. The pub of Hamer's Hotel was also not value for money too. I would recommend Risky Cove, tasty food and nice sunset view.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cheetahgal4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2012

Yes,I agree with many of the negative reveiws re the Hilltop rooms with a veiw of the carpark.Dont go there or ask for room with veiw.WHERE oh WHERE did they get that hideous peach coloured paint from ????Was it on special ? Must have been.Bedding old and tatty.Smelt of a thousand guests.The family were very unhappy,here.Fish Cafe-$24 for fish and chips???Is that the normal price in a fishing town.....Will never go back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a veiw of the water and if you are a group or family,don,y let them shove you to the carpark rooms-too depressing for words.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Helenstev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2012

Reception desk while lovely and friendly were very confused about all aspects of our stay including the length of time we were to stay, the number of people and the rate we were to be charged. HOWEVER the location was perfect, very comfortable and ticked every box for a group of mates on holiday.

Room Tip: Try to be in the cottages - I think the townhouses would get a lot of noise from the pub below.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Natale L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews