We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,079)
Filter reviews
1,079 results
Traveller rating
244
418
267
89
61
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
244
418
267
89
61
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hilltop room buffet dinner hilltop executive split level gordon river cruise harbour view executive room hill top waterfront cottages two nights great room mini bar hamers hotel macquarie harbour spa bath wilderness railway balcony
Filter
Updating list...
966 - 971 of 1,079 reviews
Reviewed 14 December 2011

Overall an ok stay. Rooms were comfortable (1 queen and 1 single) in each room. We stayed in a room located at the top but without views. Good sized room and very clean but outdated furnishings and bulky old TV. Service was competent but totally lacking in any warmth or sincerity. It's clear the staff are simply doing their job and weren't interested in actually ensuring ther guests were looked after. Payments by credit cards also attract a 1.5% surcharge. Not a significant amount but still leaves a slightly bitter taste when checking out. When queried as to why this charge was passed on to the customer - the answer was " the credit card ompany charges this so it's correctly a cost that should be paid by the customer." Not satisfied with this answer, I casually mentioned that no other hotels I stayed in passed on this cost - was told that Pure Tasmania was honest in its billing and absolutely transparent while other hotels simply pass on the charges in hidden charges. Whilst I understand cost cutting measures and a business trying to maximize profits - credit card charges should be one of th hotel' s operating costs. A small and minor charge kind of obliterated any of the positive experiences of the hotel. There are a quite a few alternatives in Strahan and would urge others to heck thm out.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scorpioshanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2011

Great views from the lounge, dining areas and some rooms of this hotel. And If you are staying for just one or two nights its probably fine especially if you have a room with the wonderful view. However we did not appreciate returning to our room after climbing up the long set of outdoor stairs up to the hotel after a long day, to find our room key did not work, and having to make another trip down to reception, at the foot of the long set of stairs, to have the key reprogrammed - without an apology. And this happened several times. Our room in a separate rear accommodation block was ok, nothing special, although the shower went suddenly hot and cold depending, it seems, on whether our neighbours were using theirs. But what we noticed most of all was curious lack of smiles amongst the staff (with a few exceptions). On our next time in Strahan we'll go for a drink on the outside deck to soak in those fabulous views but will find somewhere else to stay, with staff who enjoy their work and make us feel a little more cared for. We were interested to note that although there is a mailbox in which to place your customer feedback forms, the pile of forms had disappeared when we checked out.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Annabel1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2011

Spent a wonderful night here just last week!! The view from the restaurant and lounge is great. The property is easy to access. The dinner buffet is ok, but not a real 'seafood buffet' as promoted. But, be sure to book one of the cottages. This is a place where it pays to spend a bit more and get a nicer room. I was in one of the cheaper rooms with a garden view at the top of the property. Perfectly fine.. but not great. Wish I had chosen differently. Dining options are limited in Strahan, so you will likely eat here... but if you have two nights or more then be sure to eat out as well. The reception is down at street level.. and the main rooms (not cottages) are up a bunch of stairs. The staff are always more than happy to drive you up in their little bus.

The location is the best in Strahan. You can walk down to the water / cafes / boats / etc. You can walk to the two boats that run the Gordon River cruises... and walk back after. There is a nice waterfront walk worth strolling along. Really a lovely place, and I would return here again.

Room Tip: Book in the cottages for sure!!
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2006TravelBug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2011

we had a great time at Strahan , great pub next door does loverly meals , highly recommend the cottages

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank timhobart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2011

Stayed two nights in a small but comfortable room in the centre of town close to the wharf, bakery, pub etc. Expensive for the type of room we were given.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank notafussytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews