We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (284)
Filter reviews
284 results
Traveller rating
169
74
27
8
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
169
74
27
8
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfour poster bedmary aliceon arrivalold housewidow's walkclaw foot bathcontinental breakfasto henrylocal historyantique furniturelovely historic homecommunal fridgepoints of interestgreat hostssteeped in historyensuite bathroomeach evening
Filter
Updating list...
264 - 269 of 284 reviews
Reviewed 22 August 2010

This place was truly fantastic. Host Caroline knew how to make us feel at home without being intrusive...and her complimentary berry cake was yummy! We explored the house in awe...amazing history, immaculately presented, great value for money...at $99 for the beautiful Mary Alice room, including a great brekky.... I felt we should be paying more!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JanetandJimOnHols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2010

Caroline met me at the front door & greeted me like a long lost friend. We felt extremely comfortable as her guest & she placed home made muffins at our door on arrival. We stayed in Jessie's Room. Lots of room for our 2 year old to stretch his legs & the heating was very comfortable. We stayed an extra night & had choc. muffins the second day- again home-made. Caroline included some "extra" muffins for us to take for the trip up to Cradle Mountain. Claw bath was novel but the water pipes made a bit of noise- maybe the cold? If your looking for a "Tasmanian Experience"- stay at Ormiston & picture life in the early 1900's...

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TonnieE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2010

Myself, my husband and my mother stayed here for two nights. We had the Jessie room and mum stayed in the Mary Alice room with the beautiful four poster bed. We were welcomed by Carol so very warmly, just like we were family, it was lovely. The sweet smell of Raspberry cup cakes filled the air as we walked into this grand old home.
They tasted as good as they smelt too. Had a lovely nights sleep.. The only problem we had was with the claw footed bath tub, it was too high for my mother to step into, so that was a bit of a problem for her.
Apart from that, breakfast was good, hot chocolate was yummy and Carol the host was very good, and extemely knowledgeable of Tassie she gave us lots of tips for our travels..All in all a lovely two nights stay, just beware if you are travelling with elderly people the bath isnt very suitable..
Thanks for a lovely two nights...

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marea63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2010

My only real complaint about Ormiston House was that I drove straight past the entrance as the signage is discretely in the drive rather than out the front.
This is entirely in keeping with the feel of the property, discrete.
We stayed for 2 nights and were warmly greeted like old friends on arrival, in the grounds, even at the visitor centre in town.
Our room, the F.O. Henry, is tastefully restored with a large 4poster bed. I was expecting kitsch as I'm not that keen on b&b's but was happily disappointed. As a previous reviewer said, it is like visiting your auntie (although unhappily none of mine are this well off).
This was the first place we stayed in Tassie in over 7 days that actually had WiFi readily available. We'd stayed in 3 different 5 star places prior to this, and nothing.
Thanks Carol for a lovely stay it was a pleasure.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank klaatuveradanikto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2010

Stayed 2 nights in March 2010. Attrracted to house by the website and the history of the housey. Price is somewhat high for the size of the double room and breakfast that was provided (continental only). Room was clean and the owner did not intrude. Parking on the property was easy and the walk into Strahan is about 10 minutes. Make sure you go up to the roof lookout if you stay! Property was for sale when we stayed.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews