We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“one of the best hosted b and b's ever stayed in”
Review of Ormiston House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ormiston House
Ranked #2 of 6 Strahan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 September 2010

words cannot describe the thoughtfulness of mike and carol at this wonderful bed and breakfast ..the rooms were beautiful,comfortable,and quiet,the breakfasts excellent for continental,and the atmosphere warm and welcoming.Homemade muffins on our arrival and departure ,we were sorry to leave after only two nights.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jetsette68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (269)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

251 - 255 of 269 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2010

This place was truly fantastic. Host Caroline knew how to make us feel at home without being intrusive...and her complimentary berry cake was yummy! We explored the house in awe...amazing history, immaculately presented, great value for money...at $99 for the beautiful Mary Alice room, including a great brekky.... I felt we should be paying more!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JanetandJimOnHols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2010

Caroline met me at the front door & greeted me like a long lost friend. We felt extremely comfortable as her guest & she placed home made muffins at our door on arrival. We stayed in Jessie's Room. Lots of room for our 2 year old to stretch his legs & the heating was very comfortable. We stayed an extra night & had choc. muffins the second day- again home-made. Caroline included some "extra" muffins for us to take for the trip up to Cradle Mountain. Claw bath was novel but the water pipes made a bit of noise- maybe the cold? If your looking for a "Tasmanian Experience"- stay at Ormiston & picture life in the early 1900's...

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TonnieE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2010

Myself, my husband and my mother stayed here for two nights. We had the Jessie room and mum stayed in the Mary Alice room with the beautiful four poster bed. We were welcomed by Carol so very warmly, just like we were family, it was lovely. The sweet smell of Raspberry cup cakes filled the air as we walked into this grand old home.
They tasted as good as they smelt too. Had a lovely nights sleep.. The only problem we had was with the claw footed bath tub, it was too high for my mother to step into, so that was a bit of a problem for her.
Apart from that, breakfast was good, hot chocolate was yummy and Carol the host was very good, and extemely knowledgeable of Tassie she gave us lots of tips for our travels..All in all a lovely two nights stay, just beware if you are travelling with elderly people the bath isnt very suitable..
Thanks for a lovely two nights...

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marea63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2010

My only real complaint about Ormiston House was that I drove straight past the entrance as the signage is discretely in the drive rather than out the front.
This is entirely in keeping with the feel of the property, discrete.
We stayed for 2 nights and were warmly greeted like old friends on arrival, in the grounds, even at the visitor centre in town.
Our room, the F.O. Henry, is tastefully restored with a large 4poster bed. I was expecting kitsch as I'm not that keen on b&b's but was happily disappointed. As a previous reviewer said, it is like visiting your auntie (although unhappily none of mine are this well off).
This was the first place we stayed in Tassie in over 7 days that actually had WiFi readily available. We'd stayed in 3 different 5 star places prior to this, and nothing.
Thanks Carol for a lovely stay it was a pleasure.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank klaatuveradanikto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Strahan hotels
0.7 km away
Strahan Village
Strahan Village
#1 of 4 in Strahan
929 reviews
0.9 km away
Gordon Gateway
Gordon Gateway
#4 of 4 in Strahan
86 reviews
1.2 km away
Franklin Manor
Franklin Manor
#1 of 6 in Strahan
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Risby Cove
Risby Cove
#2 of 4 in Strahan
307 reviews
0.4 km away
Aldermere Estate Luxury Accommodation
0.8 km away
Aloft Boutique Accommodation Strahan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ormiston House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ormiston House

Address: 1 Esplanade, Strahan, Tasmania 7468, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Strahan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Strahan
Price Range: $188 - $272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ormiston House 4.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ormiston House is a beautiful federation mansion built in 1899 and fully restored to its former glory. Set amongst landscaped gardens on the shore of Macquarie Harbour at Strahan the house is resplendent with 5 en-suited guest rooms, bar and lounge, breakfast room and history room. The tower and widows walk provide views across the harbour and the perfect place to enjoy a glass of wine or sit back with a good book. This house is renown for its friendliness, hospitality and welcoming hosts. We feel that Ormiston House is a "must do" experience when you visit Strahan on your Tasmanian holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, HotelQuickly, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Ormiston House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ormiston House Strahan, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing