We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in great prices from these sites
Booking.comUSD 125
PricelineUSD 125
Hotels.comUSD 125
TravelocityUSD 125
TripadvisorUSD 125
eDreamsUSD 125
View all 13 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (314)
Filter reviews
314 results
Traveller rating
175
84
37
10
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
175
84
37
10
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews old house widow's walk fruit compote continental breakfast each morning christina history henry host bath era accommodation driveway cruise furnishings ensuite comfort
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
293 - 298 of 314 reviews
Reviewed 22 August 2010

This place was truly fantastic. Host Caroline knew how to make us feel at home without being intrusive...and her complimentary berry cake was yummy! We explored the house in awe...amazing history, immaculately presented, great value for money...at $99 for the beautiful Mary Alice room, including a great brekky.... I felt we should be paying more!

Date of stay: August 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 July 2010

Caroline met me at the front door & greeted me like a long lost friend. We felt extremely comfortable as her guest & she placed home made muffins at our door on arrival. We stayed in Jessie's Room. Lots of room for our 2 year old to stretch his legs & the heating was very comfortable. We stayed an extra night & had choc. muffins the second day- again home-made. Caroline included some "extra" muffins for us to take for the trip up to Cradle Mountain. Claw bath was novel but the water pipes made a bit of noise- maybe the cold? If your looking for a "Tasmanian Experience"- stay at Ormiston & picture life in the early 1900's...

Date of stay: July 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TonnieE
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 July 2010

Myself, my husband and my mother stayed here for two nights. We had the Jessie room and mum stayed in the Mary Alice room with the beautiful four poster bed. We were welcomed by Carol so very warmly, just like we were family, it was lovely. The sweet smell of Raspberry cup cakes filled the air as we walked into this grand old home.
They tasted as good as they smelt too. Had a lovely nights sleep.. The only problem we had was with the claw footed bath tub, it was too high for my mother to step into, so that was a bit of a problem for her.
Apart from that, breakfast was good, hot chocolate was yummy and Carol the host was very good, and extemely knowledgeable of Tassie she gave us lots of tips for our travels..All in all a lovely two nights stay, just beware if you are travelling with elderly people the bath isnt very suitable..
Thanks for a lovely two nights...

Date of stay: June 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marea63
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 June 2010

My only real complaint about Ormiston House was that I drove straight past the entrance as the signage is discretely in the drive rather than out the front.
This is entirely in keeping with the feel of the property, discrete.
We stayed for 2 nights and were warmly greeted like old friends on arrival, in the grounds, even at the visitor centre in town.
Our room, the F.O. Henry, is tastefully restored with a large 4poster bed. I was expecting kitsch as I'm not that keen on b&b's but was happily disappointed. As a previous reviewer said, it is like visiting your auntie (although unhappily none of mine are this well off).
This was the first place we stayed in Tassie in over 7 days that actually had WiFi readily available. We'd stayed in 3 different 5 star places prior to this, and nothing.
Thanks Carol for a lovely stay it was a pleasure.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank klaatuveradanikto
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 June 2010

Stayed 2 nights in March 2010. Attrracted to house by the website and the history of the housey. Price is somewhat high for the size of the double room and breakfast that was provided (continental only). Room was clean and the owner did not intrude. Parking on the property was easy and the walk into Strahan is about 10 minutes. Make sure you go up to the roof lookout if you stay! Property was for sale when we stayed.

Date of stay: March 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill169
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews