We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Patricia D

Nice enough

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 3 Dec 2022via mobile
Good size holiday home just a 5 minute walk down in to Strahan. Nicely laid out with nice decor...stove could do with an update but it worked well. The shower cubicle was quite small. Would have been nice to have streaming on the TV or a bigger choice of DVDs.
Date of stay: December 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Bedroom, Q+S
AU$195
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    AU$195
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$193
  • Vio.com
    AU$195
0.7 km from Castaway Holiday Apartments
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$204
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    AU$227
  • Agoda.com
    AU$176
  • Priceline
    AU$230
0.9 km from Castaway Holiday Apartments
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$143
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$143
  • Agoda.com
    AU$143
0.5 km from Castaway Holiday Apartments
Free parking
AU$135
  • Agoda.com
    AU$135
2.4 km from Castaway Holiday Apartments
AU$161
Fully refundable
  • Agoda.com
    AU$161
0.9 km from Castaway Holiday Apartments
Exterior
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    AU$151
  • Hotels.com
    AU$141
  • Priceline
    AU$151
0.3 km from Castaway Holiday Apartments
Free parking
Restaurant
  • Algotels
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$167
  • Priceline
0.7 km from Castaway Holiday Apartments
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$169
  • Priceline
0.7 km from Castaway Holiday Apartments
Free parking
One Bedroom Cabin - Bedroom
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$141
  • Priceline
0.6 km from Castaway Holiday Apartments
Free Wifi
Free parking
Studio Living Area
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    AU$165
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
0.7 km from Castaway Holiday Apartments
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Strahan
Reviews (288)
Filter reviews
288 results
Traveller rating
218
63
7
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
218
63
7
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews full kitchen guest laundry clean apartment salad wrap minute walk clothes line laundry facilities washer and dryer town centre tourist attractions gordon river cruise within walking distance living room wonderful hosts comfortable beds self catering two nights
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 288 reviews
Reviewed 8 November 2022 via mobile

These self contained villas are clean with good furniture and nice bed. Easy 5 minute walk to the harbour and Gordon River Cruise terminal. Laundry facilities clean. Local IGA around the corner. Very quiet and clean. Check out the local pantomime which was hilarious.

Date of stay: November 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank lynnonnie63
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 October 2022

Lovely, clean apartment within walking distance to the centre of Strahan.
Comfortable beds, clean kitchen and bathroom. Excellent wifi, close to supermarket and close to the where the cruises leave
Loved watching the birdlife outside.

Date of stay: September 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank joluvstravel-13
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 July 2022

The accomodation was excellent, friendly staff, the place was clean and felt like home. Awesome shower and comfy beds, I can’t post this review until I reach 200 characters, I gave up on the last 2 reviews because of this but decided this time I would just keep typing as this accomodation is awesome. I do reach out to trip advisor though because we should not need to write a book just to rate something.

Room tip: Look at what your needs are, search the reviews before booking
Date of stay: July 2022
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 23janetten
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
JAMES BAILEY, Owner at Castaway Holiday Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2022

Thank you for your review of Castaway Holiday Apartments. We are so pleased you enjoyed your time with us here in Strahan, it is always good to get some honest feedback on the apartments. We hope you return to the West Coast of Tasmania in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2022

Lovely holiday units. Owners obviously take pride in their business. Rooms spacious and quiet. Kitchen is well equipped with added extras like glad wrap and foil etc. Cleanliness was outstanding. We stayed in unit 3. A good supermarket within walking distance as well as town centre a bit further stroll on. Highly recommend

Date of stay: April 2022
Thank Tassal
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
JAMES BAILEY, Owner at Castaway Holiday Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2022

Thank you for your review of Castaway Holiday Apartments. We appreciate your kind comments and as you stated, we do take great pride in our business. We do pay particular attention to our cleaning regime and it was nice to see that you had mentioned that in your review. We are close to all that Strahan has to offer, be it the local supermarket or the cruise boats that depart daily from the wharf to cruise the vast Macquarie Harbour and visit Sarah Island and the Gordon River, or the Wilderness Railway at Regatta Point. Thank you once again and hopefully we will meet up at some stage in the future, and as ever we wish you safe travels wherever they may take you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2022

We stayed at this 2 bedroom apartment as we were in town to take a Gordon River cruise. The apartment is a short walk into the harbour where the cruise boats and a number of eateries are located. Whilst the apartment was fairly clean it needs some extra attention on the shower door surround and also on the window winders as there was a lot of dust on that area. I would also suggest that the crockery needs to be replaced as there was a lot of scratching on the plates which is extremely off putting to put food onto. We also had a could of live wasps and bugs in our apartment when we checked in which we had to kill so maybe a standard screen door would be helpful.

There was only one pedestal fan in the apartment which would have been difficult if we were a group of four staying there as we had rather warm weather. The bed was a good sleep.

There is a guest laundry with a washer and dryer of which a portion of the fee is donated to charity. The clothes line is on its last legs though.

There is a IGA close by so that you can pick up any groceries as the apartment is self-catering.

Date of stay: March 2022
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank McKenzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
JAMES BAILEY, Owner at Castaway Holiday Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2022

Thank you for your review of Castaway Holiday Apartments. We are disappointed the apartments didn't live up to your expectations, all guest feedback is looked at and we are always updating items in the apartments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews