We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Janette N

Homely feeling

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 20 July 2022
The accomodation was excellent, friendly staff, the place was clean and felt like home. Awesome shower and comfy beds, I can’t post this review until I reach 200 characters, I gave up on the last 2 reviews because of this but decided this time I would just keep typing as this accomodation is awesome. I do reach out to trip advisor though because we should not need to write a book just to rate something.
Date of stay: July 2022
Room Tip: Look at what your needs are, search the reviews before booking
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
JAMES BAILEY, Owner at Castaway Holiday Apartments, responded to this review
Responded 6 Sept 2022
Thank you for your review of Castaway Holiday Apartments. We are so pleased you enjoyed your time with us here in Strahan, it is always good to get some honest feedback on the apartments. We hope you return to the West Coast of Tasmania in the near future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
0.3 km from Castaway Holiday Apartments
Free parking
Bedroom, Q+S
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$193
  • Hotels.com
0.7 km from Castaway Holiday Apartments
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$149
  • Hotels.com
0.3 km from Castaway Holiday Apartments
Free parking
Restaurant
Entrance to Esplanade Units
  • Hotels.com
  • eDreams
  • Priceline
0.7 km from Castaway Holiday Apartments
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$170
  • Hotels.com
0.7 km from Castaway Holiday Apartments
Free parking
One Bedroom Cabin - Bedroom
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$143
  • eDreams
0.6 km from Castaway Holiday Apartments
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Algotels
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$166
  • eDreams
0.7 km from Castaway Holiday Apartments
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$227
  • Hotels.com
0.9 km from Castaway Holiday Apartments
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
1.0 km from Castaway Holiday Apartments
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Trip.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$163
  • Agoda.com
0.7 km from Castaway Holiday Apartments
View more hotels in Strahan
Reviews (288)
Filter reviews
288 results
Traveller rating
218
63
7
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
218
63
7
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews full kitchen guest laundry clean apartment salad wrap minute walk clothes line laundry facilities washer and dryer town centre tourist attractions gordon river cruise within walking distance living room wonderful hosts comfortable beds self catering two nights
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 288 reviews
Reviewed 28 April 2022

Lovely holiday units. Owners obviously take pride in their business. Rooms spacious and quiet. Kitchen is well equipped with added extras like glad wrap and foil etc. Cleanliness was outstanding. We stayed in unit 3. A good supermarket within walking distance as well as town centre a bit further stroll on. Highly recommend

Date of stay: April 2022
Thank Tassal
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
JAMES BAILEY, Owner at Castaway Holiday Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2022

Thank you for your review of Castaway Holiday Apartments. We appreciate your kind comments and as you stated, we do take great pride in our business. We do pay particular attention to our cleaning regime and it was nice to see that you had mentioned that in your review. We are close to all that Strahan has to offer, be it the local supermarket or the cruise boats that depart daily from the wharf to cruise the vast Macquarie Harbour and visit Sarah Island and the Gordon River, or the Wilderness Railway at Regatta Point. Thank you once again and hopefully we will meet up at some stage in the future, and as ever we wish you safe travels wherever they may take you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2022

We stayed at this 2 bedroom apartment as we were in town to take a Gordon River cruise. The apartment is a short walk into the harbour where the cruise boats and a number of eateries are located. Whilst the apartment was fairly clean it needs some extra attention on the shower door surround and also on the window winders as there was a lot of dust on that area. I would also suggest that the crockery needs to be replaced as there was a lot of scratching on the plates which is extremely off putting to put food onto. We also had a could of live wasps and bugs in our apartment when we checked in which we had to kill so maybe a standard screen door would be helpful.

There was only one pedestal fan in the apartment which would have been difficult if we were a group of four staying there as we had rather warm weather. The bed was a good sleep.

There is a guest laundry with a washer and dryer of which a portion of the fee is donated to charity. The clothes line is on its last legs though.

There is a IGA close by so that you can pick up any groceries as the apartment is self-catering.

Date of stay: March 2022
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank McKenzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
JAMES BAILEY, Owner at Castaway Holiday Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2022

Thank you for your review of Castaway Holiday Apartments. We are disappointed the apartments didn't live up to your expectations, all guest feedback is looked at and we are always updating items in the apartments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2022

I've travelled far and wide overseas and more regionally and in Aus since Rona hit us. This time to Tasmania. Been to Hobart for business before and seen that bottom corner, but this time, two weeks looping round this fab state like a crazy dragonfly! Needed to stay in Strahan for two nights to get in the AMAZING Gordon River Cruise. Now, it's often hit and miss with accommodation. I won't name and shame, but we stayed in a place in New Norfolk that made me feel a tad unclean and claustrophobic and have to cancel the second night. It was that bad. (13...yes, thirteen....I counted.....gaudy cheap oil paintings of Roses across the two rooms. It went beautifully with the red velvet lounge and the black and orange swirl carpet) But it looked okay in the pics and the description read alright. So, you roll with the punches most of the time and 'comfortable' can mean many things and you just bite the bullet and book. So sitting in my Sydney living room months ago, I click on Castaway Holiday Apartments. Read some average reviews which talked about nice and comfortable...which is what we want, right? But when we got here, good old mate 'comfortable' was so much more. I have stayed in the 'gucci' king bed places with glass walled bathrooms in other parts of this state, but I would rate Castaway above them all. Why? Well, all these places have a bathroom and a bed and somewhere to sit and chill after a long day, but when we walked in here I was so pleased. Nicely (and thankfully plainly) decorated. (No rose oils, just a Tassie Devil pic and a lovely black and white snow scene shot around a local road sign) Nice muted tones and white walls and wainscoting (look it up) and immaculate smooth low pile grey carpet. Really easy on the eye. Spotlessly clean too. Comfy bed, great bathroom and full kitchen with everything you could need (if, unlike me....you cooked!!). But, being a bit of a critical traveller, everywhere I looked for flaws, I couldn't find them....I just found attention to detail that was anti-flaw! I'd look like a nutjob to list them all, but things like a box of DVDs, notes about restaurants recommended and those you need to book to get into (that is priceless intel right there). Things like a non slip mat for those of greater years than I. Clean and soft secondary blankets, hand towel in the kitchen. Now that alone is genius. How many teatowels have you dried your hands on?? Screens on every window. Curtains that actually meet in the middle and don't need a bulldog clip for privacy!! And then there's the hooks inside the front door so you don't do the 'where's the key' dance every time you want to leave. TWO hooks in the bathroom. A little movable stool near the shower to put your clothes or towel on. Instructions on how everything works that aren't passive-aggressive digs at how you should conduct yourself...we have all read them in some places. Drink coasters so your cuppa doesn't leave marks, reading lamps and somewhere (lots of places) to plug in your phone and laptop. A bin outside so your takeaway doesn't smell up the kitchen from the night before. An extension cord so you can sit on the couch and still power your connectivity 'things'. I know I am rambling now and you are probably really bored with this review, so I reiterate, Bev and Jim (onsite owners) are two lovely people who care about those that stay with them and have really thought like a guest to ensure that their guests have everything they need. Nothing in here is high end....but everything in here is quiet, clean and comfortable (that word!!) and tasteful and calming and.....it all works. Strahan can be a bit touristy, and Castaway is a very short easy walk up a slight curving slope from the restaurants and tour boats. But you won't have hordes passing your door. Thank you Castaway. I don't think I'll be back to Tassie soon, but for those who are coming to Strahan, look no further.

Room tip: This is a small holiday location....get in quick. Talk to Bev or Jim.
Date of stay: March 2022
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sierrahotelaustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
JAMES BAILEY, Owner at Castaway Holiday Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2022

Thank you for your review of Castaway Holiday Apartments. We are so pleased the apartments met with your approval, and your comments will be very useful for fellow travellers. As stated, we are close to all the activities, and dining options Strahan has to offer. We hope to see you once again on the West Coast, and wish you safe travels, wherever you venture.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2022

Ticked all the boxes and more for us, perfect quiet location only a 5 minute walk to Strahan village and the cruise ferry departure terminals, the apartment was spacious, spotlessly clean, full size kitchen and a selection of DVD movies to play, the management were very helpful and accommodating, for though we had checked out they let us leave our car there whilst we did the cruise,

Date of stay: February 2022
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Terry V
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
JAMES BAILEY, Owner at Castaway Holiday Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2022

Thank you for your review of Castaway Holiday Apartments. It is our pleasure to make our guests feel at home, and provide all the information they may need to make their stay as comfortable and enjoyable, as possible. So pleased you took advantage of the selection of DVD's in the apartment, and the late check-out for the vehicle.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2021 via mobile

Lovely cosy 2 bed unit. Has everything you want. Small kitchen with stove, fridge, microwave, etc. TV, dvd, heater, fan, doonas and or blankets. Guest laundry and guest BBQ. Great location. IGA close by.
The neatness and cleanliness of the unit was outstanding. Everything was absolutely spotless.
Very pleasant and helpful service from Owners/Managers. Highly recommended.

Room tip: Parking at door of unit. Walk to hotel, harbour, IGA. Drive or walk to Hogarth Falls. Short, beautiful, easy walk to falls via the People's Park.
Date of stay: November 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank janettem46
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
JAMES BAILEY, Owner at Castaway Holiday Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2022

Thank you for your review of Castaway Holiday Apartments. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us here in Strahan and took advantage of our facilities; and we thank you for the kind comments with regard to the cleanliness of the apartment, always so important in these testing times, and thank you for such a positive recommendation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews