We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (237)
Filter reviews
237 results
Traveller rating
173
59
5
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
173
59
5
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews separate toilet board games the kitchen own meals great place to stay home away from home spacious apartment local eateries washing facilities minute stroll guest laundry the main street bbq area iga supermarket walking distance wharf area washer and dryer
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 237 reviews
Reviewed 4 October 2017

We stayed two nights at Castaway while in Strahan to explore Macquarie Harbour and the Gordon River. We stayed in a very spacious and comfortable unit well set back from the road and had options to both stay in and cook or eat out. This holiday apartment complex proved to be an excellent, value for money place to stay and we are most grateful to our host Bev for her kindness, friendliness and excellent local knowledge. We were well rested and relaxed for having stayed here and in terms of value and excellent amenities Castaway was one of our best motel stays between Strahan and Launceston. Thank you Bev!
Jen and Linz
Canberra

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Dougalsleuth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CastawayStrahan, Owner at Castaway Holiday Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2017

Thank you for your review of Castaway Holiday Apartments. We are so pleased you enjoyed your two nights with us in Strahan on your trip around Tasmania. We appreciate your great recommendation and hopefully we will meet up with you once again, if you pass this way. You can always be assured of a friendly welcome and a taste of Tasmanian hospitality to help you relax and unwind after a short, or long day on the road.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2017 via mobile

Pros:-

1.       Very helpful Receptionist cum owner;

2.       Very well kept and clean rooms;

3.       Came with a kitchen with stoves and microwave oven;

4.       Free WiFi;

5.       Reasonable price at AUD140/- for a 2 bedroom apartment which can accommodate  4 and

6.       Reasonably convenient location and close to town centre.

Cons:-

1.      Single bedroom apartment for 2 people not available, so we had to book and pay for 2 bedroom apartment!

Overall Experience and Rating:- 3.5/5.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank DeepseaGiantSquid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CastawayStrahan, Owner at Castaway Holiday Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2017

Thank you for your review of Castaway Holiday Apartments. It was good to see you had set out the pros and cons of your stay; unfortunately we have never offered single bedroom apartments to anyone, all of our apartments are two bedroom and as such you would not have been made, to book and pay for a two bedroom apartment, as stated. If you had only wanted a single bedroom then maybe it would have been advisable to have booked alternate accommodation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2017 via mobile

This place was great. The best of our Tasmanian accommodation. Just what you hope for after a day on the road. Clean, spacious, comfortable and well located. Family of three, we stayed three nights. Just a delight, cannot say more.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CastawayStrahan, Owner at Castaway Holiday Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2017

Thank you for your review of Castaway Holiday Apartments. We are so pleased you enjoyed your time with us here in Strahan, and it is always nice to know we have provided a pleasant and homely experience for our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2017 via mobile

Just the one night here for work, and although the weather was terrible, host Bev brightened up the day with her friendly service and great local area knowledge. She really went out of her way to help me understand the surrounding area, in which I needed to for work. The very spacious apartment had everything, and I was so excited to be able to cook for the first time in ages! Great proximity to local shops and Main Street and river. Electric blanket on bed was much appreciated! Thanks Bev, I can't wait to return in the summer!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
Thank Jess D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CastawayStrahan, Owner at Castaway Holiday Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2017

Thank you for your review of Castaway Holiday Apartments. We appreciate your kind comments and are pleased the apartment offered the option of cooking for yourself. We know from experience that you can become bored of always having to eat out and it is nice to be able to cook a wholesome meal for yourself, when travelling, be it for pleasure or as in your case business. We too look forward to meeting with you once again in the warmer months, safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2017

We stayed here for 3 nights on our way to Launceston. If we had more time i would have liked to have stayed a couple more. Plenty of things to see and do, even in the middle of winter.
The staff are very friendly and full of information. The rooms are beautifully maintained and beds are very comfortable (which is nice to have when on holiday). They have a laundry for people to use when staying and this is very reasonable rates.
Would highly recommend staying here

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank inonufing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CastawayStrahan, Owner at Castaway Holiday Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2017

Thank you for your review of Castaway Holiday Apartments. What a wonderful recommendation for the apartments, we receive a few comments such as yours about being time poor on their trip to Tasmania and wishing they had longer in certain places to enjoy the surroundings more. Having said that you did give yourselves three nights in Strahan and we are delighted you wished your stay could have been longer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews