We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Booking.com
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
carolbAuckland
Auckland Central, New Zealand

Pleasant 2 night stay in spacious studio unit.

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 7 Apr 2024
Helpful communication before we arrived, together with friendly greeting and information provided about Strahan. A short pleasant walk along the waterfront to the village and to our Gordon River cruise. Unfortunately we arrived on a Sunday night and well-reviewed cafes were all closed, but we were in time to stock up on groceries from the IGA. Our studio unit 2 was very spacious and comfortable but was quite dark.
Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Bedroom, Q+S
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$194
  • Hotels.com
0.1 km from The Crays Accommodation
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$187
  • Algotels
0.3 km from The Crays Accommodation
Free Wifi
Free parking
Welcome to ALOFT
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • Algotels
  • Hotels.com
0.5 km from The Crays Accommodation
Free parking
Exterior
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$188
  • Hotels.com
0.4 km from The Crays Accommodation
Free parking
Restaurant
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
0.7 km from The Crays Accommodation
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
0.7 km from The Crays Accommodation
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Algotels
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$125
  • Priceline
1.4 km from The Crays Accommodation
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$190
  • Hotels.com
1.4 km from The Crays Accommodation
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$171
  • eDreams
1.1 km from The Crays Accommodation
Free Wifi
Free parking
Trip.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$164
1.4 km from The Crays Accommodation
View more hotels in Strahan
Reviews (202)
Filter reviews
202 results
Traveller rating
120
55
22
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
120
55
22
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews undercover parking across the road car port hogarth falls the kitchen pot plants risby cove restaurant gordon river garden setting self catering facilities long stay little extras a great place to stay friendly greeting stayed one night laundry room electric blankets
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 202 reviews
Reviewed 5 December 2023

This place is run beautifully to provide a perfect holiday retreat. It’s located just a short, pretty walk along the river to the departure point for the World Heritage Cruise on the Gordon River. The unit is spacious, impeccably clean and well maintained, and provides generous basics (seasonings, sauces, oil etc) for easy self-catering. The free laundry was a bonus. Mick and Prue are friendly, helpful hosts. Thank you for a relaxing stay.

Date of stay: December 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank possumJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 October 2023

We stayed for two nights in Unit 2 which was adequate for our needs. The room was clean with basic furnishings though the bed was the hardest we slept on whilst in Tasmania. This is a great location, easily walkable to the Gordon River cruise check-in. We did find the numerous passive-aggressive notes regarding recycling and cleaning quite humerous and probably not necessary.

Date of stay: November 2022
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank blossy1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Megs Norton, General Manager at The Crays Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2023

I am sorry to hear that your stay at The Crays was less than comfortable. You stayed at The Crays in November 2022 and did your review in October 2023. We took ownership of The Crays in December 2022 and on our first day we removed all the "passive/aggressive" notes that you mentioned and also replaced all mattresses in the first week we were here. All units have now been repainted, refurnished and brought up to date. Should you return to Strahan at any time please give us another go.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2023

Beautifully presented two bedroom cabin, huge lounge / kitchen / dining perfect for a family looking for extra space. Short walk to wharf and restaurants. Fantastic hosts, super flexible, welcoming and informative with great local tips.

Date of stay: September 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Lorna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 July 2023

We arrived quite late in the afternoon and were welcomed by our friendly hosts. Our chalet was warm and inviting on entering. Everything you could need was there, it was very spacious, spotlessly clean and welcoming. After a meal in town, we arrived back to our chalet, imagine how wonderful it was to get into a bed that was warm due to the electric blanket being turned on. Bliss.

Date of stay: July 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank DSJkjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 May 2023 via mobile

Excellent accomodation for price and walking distance into town. Had everything we needed and the special touches of fresh milk and Sheridan accessories was a touch of luxury. Exceptionally clean and well presented. Owners were great and had good knowledge of the area. We ate across the road at Risby Cove and it was delicious and staff were very friendly.

Room tip: horgath falls very close for lovely morning walks.
Date of stay: May 2023
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank sharongT1058XU
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews