We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Vaughan S
Clarkson, Australia

Surprise package

Review of Motel Strahan
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 15 Oct 2022via mobile
Doesn’t look like much from the outside but this little motel is quite the surprise package.
Big room, comfy beds, big bathroom and a nice little garden area out the back.
Very clean, helpful and friendly staff and well priced, would definitely stay again if ever back in Strahan.
Date of stay: October 2022
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
AU$169
  • Priceline
    AU$169
  • Agoda.com
    AU$169
  • eDreams
    AU$169
0.7 km from Motel Strahan
Free Wifi
Free parking
Welcome to ALOFT
AU$185
  • Expedia.com
    AU$176
  • Priceline
    AU$185
  • Hotels.com
    AU$176
1.0 km from Motel Strahan
Free parking
One Bedroom Cabin - Bedroom
AU$146
  • Hotels.com
    AU$146
  • Expedia.com
    AU$128
  • Priceline
    AU$146
0.1 km from Motel Strahan
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$190
  • Expedia.com
    AU$181
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$171
  • Priceline
    AU$190
0.1 km from Motel Strahan
Free parking
Bedroom, Q+S
AU$160
  • Vio.com
    AU$160
  • Expedia.com
    AU$160
  • Hotels.com
    AU$160
1.3 km from Motel Strahan
Free Wifi
Free parking
Entrance to Esplanade Units
AU$130
  • Priceline
    AU$130
  • Agoda.com
    AU$130
  • Vio.com
    AU$130
1.4 km from Motel Strahan
Free parking
AU$160
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$160
  • Agoda.com
    AU$160
  • Vio.com
    AU$160
0.4 km from Motel Strahan
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
AU$161
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    AU$161
  • Expedia.com
    AU$161
  • Priceline
    AU$161
1.0 km from Motel Strahan
Free parking
Restaurant
AU$200
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    AU$200
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$182
  • Hotels.com
    AU$200
1.5 km from Motel Strahan
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$56
  • Priceline
    AU$56
  • Agoda.com
    AU$56
  • eDreams
    AU$56
0.1 km from Motel Strahan
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Strahan
Reviews (244)
Filter reviews
244 results
Traveller rating
85
113
35
4
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
85
113
35
4
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ground coffee breakfast provided room was clean shower over the bath quiet location check in was easy bottle shop min walk great place to stay an update town toaster accommodation wifi fridge pillows tasmania
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 244 reviews
Reviewed 2 September 2022

This is a 70's style motel and the rooms are showing their age. Our room was clean, but overdue for an update. There were no cooking facilities, other than an electric kettle. There was tea & coffee supplied. The local IGA was well stocked with cold meats, salads and so on, so we were able to " self cater ' to some extent. The bathroom was interesting, with the shower over the bath and a tiny shower screen The floor got wet no matter how careful we were. It made getting in and out a bit difficult for us of more mature years. One major downside is that there are no dishwashing facilities in the kitchen area. All plates, cutlery, coffee mugs etc need to be washed in the bathroom hand basin. Not ideal for hygiene reasons, if nothing else. The staff were friendly, as was their big dog which helped dad doing the cleaning. The location is very close to the centre of town, about a 2 minute drive away. There is an on-site laundry. A reasonable budget motel needing an update.

Room tip: Bring plastic plates etc. if you plan on eating in.
Date of stay: August 2022
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SimonsdadAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 31 August 2022

We stayed here for two nights during a holiday in Tasmania. The motel itself is nothing fancy from the outside, but the rooms are comfortably furnished in modern decor, with a few small touches like a coffee pod machine, ground coffee and real milk in the fridge.
The bathroom worked, but need d a bit of attention to fix a few bits and pieces - loose toilet roll holder, shower head not properly fixed and an inadequate shower screen.
In the room, the vertical drapes over the door to a small outdoor sitting area were inadequate. When you lay in bed, there was a 5cm gap on the side, through which a street light cast light on the pillows. The room was very bright and I had t wear an eye mask to sleep.
Apart from these small niggles, it would be disingenuous to be too critical. It’s just a nice, small motel in a remote country community that’s about right for the price point.
It’s a short drive to the town centre, or about a 10 minute walk along a very good and picturesque pathway. I would stay here again and recommend it to others.

Date of stay: August 2022
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarcusLC61
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 March 2022

Spacious rooms with standard motel amenities, however we did enjoy the Nespresso machine for early morning coffees. A nice, rustically presented breakfast was provided. Great friendly staff. When we asked to stay an extra night and they did not have a vacancy, however were very helpful to look for alternate places within Strahan for us.

Date of stay: February 2022
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 96JAMNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 February 2022 via mobile

Great place to stay. Close to everything if you are looking for accommodation that allows you easy access to all that Strahan has to offer. Clean rooms with great linen and very comfortable beds. Don't let the cheap price put you off. Highly recommended with personable managers.

Date of stay: February 2022
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank 390glennp
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 January 2022

Spent 2 nights at Motel Strahan on a recent visit.

Look this is a classic roadside motel with the traditional set up and the price reflects this so one must take this into consideration when reviewing.

Pros
- Friendly staff
- Rooms were large and clean (we had a extra single bed for bags, etc)
- Complementary breakfast provided
- Location is close enough that you can walk to the docks where the boats leave (took us 15-20 minutes). Otherwise you have to pay to leave your car there while you are on a boat tour.
- Local IGA and Mollys take away cafe only 100m away for food
- Wifi worked
- Laundry available for this who need.
- Parking available in front of each room

CONS
- Its a roadside motel and the decor reflects this. This isn't a luxury room but this is reflected in the price. You can't expect the Ritz at these prices!

Overall a good stay and I would recommend it to non fussy travellers.

Date of stay: January 2022
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank RowanH336
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews