We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bit tired - Check the rates”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Stanley Seaview Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Stanley
Certificate of Excellence
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Bit tired - Check the rates”
Reviewed 9 February 2012

On the whole this place was a bit tired, we had a suite. Free internet connection was poor dropping out all the time. We phoned to book after looking up their web site, this was much more expensive than advertised web price. After mentioning the web site the reception said "I was unaware of that" and matched the web price. The moral is always double check the rates. At the time we were not aware that Stanley has lots of other accommodation units available in town. Check out the visitors centre. The aquarium is the place to buy fresh crayfish at reasonable prices. Our room had views of the Nut for what its worth! Oh get to see the Penguins next to the cementery.

Room Tip: Double check the rates.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank photoptic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    220
    207
    44
    12
    7
See reviews for
114
252
27
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Tasmania
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

The Seaview Inn is a short distance from the main part of Stanley, on a hill overlooking the town. There were a range of accommodation options, and we stayed in the King Suite with corner spa, at a very reasonable price, so we can only comment on that room, but we were pleasantly surprised at how nice it was. Our room was part of the main building and had a lovely bay window with great views over Stanley and the Nut (there are also cottages in front and a motel-type building out the back). The room was large, with a king bed and a single bed, a couple of small tables with chairs, and a kitchenette area. It was light and airy and felt very peaceful. The bathroom was part of the main room, separated by a sliding door and glass walls, which could be covered with blinds if required. It had a big spa with shower over, and was modern and clean (apart from some hairs in the spa - yuck!). There were also a few stains on the carpet in the main room but it still seemed clean. The bed had clean white sheets, including the top cover, and was very comfortable.

We ate at the restaurant at the Seaview Inn- the food was fine, large meals, very much homestyle cooking though at high-ish restaurant prices, and not a big menu selection. The restaurant had good views and the staff were nice but the decor was fairly dated, the tables especially need updating or covering!

Overall we enjoyed our stay and would stay here again.

Room Tip: Pay a bit extra for the King Suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moorina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2012

We stayed in the self contained accommodation with views of The Nut. It was quite easy to find (a fairly large sign points the direction you have to head) - about 3-5min drive out of the main street.

Everything was set up in the room - enough pots, pans, tea towel, plates, cutlery etc etc. There was a couch, table and chairs inside and outside on the little deck.

We ordered room service and it arrived promptly and was quite nice - quite an extensive menu.

For the price we paid it was worth the money.

Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sg7677
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2012

The ONLY disadvantage here is a reasonable walk to town if you don't have a car ------ but this is more that compensated for by the wonderful views from most rooms and from the dining area.

Rooms were beautifully furnished, clean, and of an adequate size --- many with great views over the bay. (There is a variety of rooms from which to choose).
Only one poor room, # 25 I think, called the Tarkine Room.

Our group of 42 enjoyed a superb 3-course dinner which was csted into the room tariff.
3 choices for each course, and the best group meal that we had on our entire 16-day Tassie tour.

Thoroughly recommended, but chat with them to ensure that you have a room with a view.

Room Tip: Take Room 25 only if allothers are booked
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Vic. Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2011

A reasonably basic motel starting to show its age, but our rooms were comfortable enough.
The deck at the front was a plus where we had pre- dinner drinks.

The scallop dish at the restaurant was rather tasty, and we were well looked after by two waitresses. great views from the dining room.

I loved the country ambience- surrounded by dairy farms and there were quaint milking sheds in the foreground. The town is very quaint and also offers a choice of eateries.

Room Tip: The front rooms are seaview room, but I am not sure about the other areas of the mote.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Quirindi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stanley
1.4 km away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#2 of 3 in Stanley
193 reviews
17.2 km away
Tall Timbers Tasmania
Tall Timbers Tasmania
#1 of 1 in Smithton
297 reviews
1.5 km away
Hanlon House
Hanlon House
#2 of 7 in Stanley
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
BayView Guesthouse
BayView Guesthouse
#3 of 7 in Stanley
128 reviews
1.6 km away
The Ark Stanley
The Ark Stanley
#1 of 7 in Stanley
186 reviews
3.4 km away
Beachside Retreat West Inlet
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stanley Seaview Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanley Seaview Inn

Property: Stanley Seaview Inn
Address: 58 Dovecote Rd., Stanley, Tasmania 7331, Australia (Formerly Dovecote Motel and Restaurant)
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Stanley
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Stanley
Price range (per night): $112 - $169
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Stanley Seaview Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stanley Seaview Inn is a multi award winning AAA rated 3 ½ star property in the peaceful historical fishing village of Stanley, at the Western end of Tasmania’s North coast.Our hillside location provides most guest rooms with magnificent views over Stanley, the famous Stanley Nut and the surrounding waters of Bass Strait.Recent refurbishments provided guest rooms with modern décor, furnishings and bathrooms, complimented by flat screen TV’s and fast, free reliable wireless internet (Wi-Fi).Other guest room features include : Complimentary tea and coffee facilities, electric heating, electric blankets, hair dryer, ironing facilities, desk, dining table, refrigerator, mini bar and free off street parking.We have a variety of room types including standard rooms (garden view), seaview rooms, family rooms and self contained apartments. Our property also features two playgrounds and BBQ areas (the second opens in October). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, lastminute.com.au, Ctrip TA, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Stanley Seaview Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stanley Seaview Hotel
Stanley Seaview Inn Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing