We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic experience”

Stanley Seal Cruises
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic experience”
Reviewed 13 January 2016

The staff on board were very helpful and answered any questions as we cruised along. The captain took us very close to the main rock where the seals are and we saw 300+ seals sleeping, playing, swimming etc. The cruise went for a perfect amount of time - it went for about 70 minutes and there was more than enough time to capture photos as the rock is not too far away from the dock itself.
The only downside - the smell from the rock is quite intense, but we thought it all added to the experience!

Visited January 2016
Helpful?
Thank Laura L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    7
    2
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A very fun cruise to the rock island with seals - very up close and also very smelly, lol”
Reviewed 2 January 2016

Did this cruise at 10am, after staying overnight in Stanley. The cruise meeting place is a really colourful building, as is the cruise boat, which fits about 20 people. The ride out to the rock island is about 20 minutes on fairly calm waters. An unexpectedly highlight is that it goes around the back of the Nut, so you get some amazing views/photos of it as well. Once you get close to the seal rock/island, be warned - it is incredibly smelly! It was kinda hilarious how bad it was, but apparently it is from all the bird crap on the island as there are tons of birds that live with the seals. The seals themselves are great! There is about 200-300 on the day we went and you get quite close, like less than 5 metres (not actually on the island, but sailing around it). The seals themselves are very active, barking at each other, rolling around, diving into the ocean and swimming around. Fantastic to see them in their natural habitat. The boat goes around the rock island many times at a slow pace and it felt like we were there for about half an hour. You can also admire the endless ocean views.

The staff were very nice. The captain was very friendly and offered people an opportunity to sail the boat even, showing them how it works and telling us about the area and the seals. You have to arrive 20 mins early to the cruise office, and we ran a bit late and they called us.

I would recommend this to people and families who have not done a seal cruise before.

Visited December 2015
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiona L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Seals in their natural environment”
Reviewed 18 December 2015

This is the second time we have gone on this cruise and it is always amazing to see the seals so close and in their natural environment whilst it sometimes comes with a little smell from the fish they eat and the birds who roost on the same rock. This time we treated our Grand Daughter and she was amazed at how close we were to them this is an absolutly wonderful experience and should be see by as many as possible.
This is a cruise which is reliant on wind conditions.

Visited December 2015
Helpful?
1 Thank Graeme F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“One of the highlights in Stanley”
Reviewed 17 November 2015

Great tour, especially if you are into wildlife. The vessel past the seals rock around five times in order for us all to get some great photos.

Visited November 2015
Helpful?
1 Thank ClaireW1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
209 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Postponed”
Reviewed 28 October 2015

Booked in March for October, credit card details taken as a deposit.If we did not show $20 would be taken as no-show fee.
Walked to the wharf where the office is,and nothing.There was a sign on the door.....

'Postponed due to sea conditions'

No phone call to let us know it was cancelled.
Weather looked ok when we walked down but blew up a gale later in the morning so the management know their weather.They just don't know how to even send a text that the cruise was cancelled.

Visited October 2015
Helpful?
Thank LandHBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Stanley Seal Cruises also viewed

 

Been to Stanley Seal Cruises? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing