We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect, private and peaceful”
other traveller has booked this property

Review of Thalia Haven

Prize-winning architects designed this stone and wood house on the clear waters of Great Oyster Bay.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Prize-winning architects designed this stone and wood house on the clear waters of Great Oyster Bay.
Your own private white sand beach. Just you, the dolphins, and perhaps the occasional penguin. Relax in a nice hot bath outside with the sound of the waves. There's a sauna, too.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
49 reviews
Prize-winning architects designed this stone and wood house on the clear waters of Great Oyster Bay.
Your own private white sand beach. Just you, the dolphins, and perhaps the occasional penguin.
Relax in a nice hot bath outside with the sound of the waves. There's a sauna, too.
The whole house is yours: overnights for up to 8 people in 4 bedrooms.
Both the kitchen and dining room open onto the sea.
The kitchen is a cook's dream: double sink, 4 gas burners, and cooking fireplace.
Sleep soundly in king-sized beds with custom-made duvets.
Thalia is made up of separate pavilions around a central courtyard -- each room with ocean views.
The back guest room offers a library of books for you to browse.
The bedroom in the main building opens on the outdoor shower, tub, and wood-fired sauna.
The Green Room looks out onto the courtyard, and has sweeping ocean views to the north.
A hand-made basin in one of the ensuite bathrooms.
The living room looks out on the ocean. Gather around the open fire for a warm evening together.
Candlelight makes dinner a special occasion -- with friends, or just the two of you.
A fire in the living room is cosy and intimate at the end of the day.
Cypresses: a traditional symbol of welcome throughout the Mediterranean, and at Thalia.
The garden is in bloom all year round.
Wow! Turns out the end of the rainbow is on Thalia's beach.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Orford, Tasmania

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 49 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
vietnambo...
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Perfect, private and peaceful”
Reviewed 21 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

My partner and I were lucky enough to stay at Thalia Haven, and the experience will stay with us forever. We drove from Hobart, and wondered what we were getting ourselves in for when we turned down a dirt driveway and through a few gates. But WOW! When we arrived we were struck by how well this unusual stone and timber residence fits into the sweeping coastal landscape. It's perched metres from the ocean with the most spectacular views imaginable. This is not some cookie cutter sterile accommodation - it's got character: from the gorgeous random stone walls, the timber beams, down to the beautiful door handles, everything is carefully thought out. The kitchen is stocked with all the equipment and staples you need to cook up a feast.

We combed the beach collecting shells, made a fire, and suddenly found we didn't need to go anywhere else. Could we extend our stay I wondered? Alas the word is out and this place is booked out - so make your plans in advance, and book early, we'll be back.


But the beauty of this place is peaceful seclusion

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything. This is off grid, but there's strong hot showers and all the comforts.
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Nov 2016
Thank you for your review. I'm happy to see that you enjoyed your stay. And what a sunrise! Please do come again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah C
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Truly heaven - an absolute must if you visit Australia!”
Reviewed 18 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We stayed at Thalia Haven for two nights on our honeymoon and it was paradise. The pictures do not begin to do it justice. Situated right on the bay with views of Freycinet National Park in the distance, the surrounding beach and property is stunning, peaceful and secluded. Spend the days watching the waves crash and in the evenings, enjoy the fully equipped kitchen, indoor and outdoor fireplaces, and outdoor tub. We only wish we could have stayed longer!

The drive from Hobart is beautiful and Swansea is perfectly situated for a stop through scenic Richmond and for day trips to Freycinet and Coles Bay. Susan was so helpful with recommendations for restaurants, stocking up on provisions, directions, and any inquiries we had during our stay. We traveled throughout Australia and Thalia was a definite highlight for us.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Oct 2016
Thank you for your beautiful review! I'm happy to hear that you two found Thalia to be such a peaceful experience for your honeymoon. I look forward to welcoming you back again if your travels bring you back to Tasmania.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aaron C
1 review
“Probably the most amazing place in Australia, if not the world. True off-Grid Luxury.”
Reviewed 22 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

When i say 'off-grid', Thalia actually has all the mod cons you want and need, it's just all run from renewable energy (solar and wind). The only thing it does not have is wifi, but if you are missing wifi then you have completely misinterpreted what Thalia is all about. We did have phone reception to search local wineries.

Thalia is hidden, yet exposed to one of the best views you could ever find. Thalia is a paradox of sorts. It's rustic, beautiful, and very very comfortable. You will not find the marketing "come visit" bling some places include. The instructions to get there are very easy to follow. It's home away from home, and offers unforgiving off-grid luxury in a remote slice of Tassie that cannot be beat. Once on the property you will see a subtle welcome to Thalia sign nestled in the shrubs off track. When you arrive at the house you are blown away by how beautiful Thalia is. Photos do no justice. The stone house is built very well, with double glazed windows and fire places to keep you warm in winter. The house is perfectly placed on the rugged coastline and the kitchen begs to be cooked in (we cooked on both the open fire place in the kitchen and on the gas stove). Thalia is all about spending quality time with friends and family, offering a backdrop that has to be one of the best locations we have ever visited.

I highly recommend Thalia (at the risk of Thalia being so popular i have to book in advance hahaha). Seriously, we loved Thalia so much it's almost a crime to share the location.

Susan, thank you so much for building Thalia and offering it to the world to experience. It's pure magic!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: To many things to list.
Liked least: Having to leave Thalia.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Sep 2016
Thank you so much, for your visit, for your beautiful review. I'm glad the two of you enjoyed your experience. I'm looking forward to welcoming you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TazTravel...
Hobart, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Tassie meets Tuscany”
Reviewed 28 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We stayed here with a group of good friends for a weekend. The house is wonderfully designed with separate bedroom pavilions which are quiet and warm. Shared bathrooms, but not an issue between friends. The main house has a rustic, warm feel. The kitchen area is just spectacular. Opening up the bi-fold timber doors bringing the outdoors in. The raised fire for cooking in the kitchen was such fun. We cooked so many things over the coals, whilst also using the steam oven. Walks, quiet reading, the gentle twittering of the nesting swallows. All these made for a magical escape. No issue with being off the grid. A small problem with the hot water the first day, but sorted out the next day. If you want a private, rustic place where you can relax then this is the place for you.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: The location and the kitchen
Liked least: Shared bathrooms and toilets
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Aug 2016
Thank you for your view – and for your stay. I'm happy that Thalia worked so well for your group. And I'm glad we were able to sort out the problem with the hot water regulator, so far from town and on a weekend! So thank you for letting us know. We can't fix things if we don't know there is an issue! Please come again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda D
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The very best of Tassie”
Reviewed 18 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

My husband and I stayed at Thalia Haven last week on a babymoon from QLD. We chose the property for the opportunity to unwind and were not disappointed. Even before we arrived, Susan had sent us directions, helpful hints about the trip up from Hobart and some suggestions about where to get supplies for our stay. The house/s itself is absolutely breathtaking. We spent our days and nights enjoying the view from the outdoor bath (AMAZING!!!), cooking in the incredibly well stocked kitchen, warming ourselves by the fires and walking along the private beach. If you are looking to get away from it all as a couple or a group, I couldn't recommend it highly enough. We're already counting down until we can share it with our family and friends. PS - the house is off the grid but we didn't have any trouble at all with phone service (Telstra) or running out of power. The solar obviously does a great job.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The outdoor bath and fireplaces
Liked least: Four gates from the main road
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Aug 2016
Thank you for such a lovely review. I'm happy to hear that you had such a relaxing and enjoyable time, and that you didn't have any trouble with our winter weather! I'm also pleased that you experienced how effective an off-grid power system can be. I look forward to welcoming you back :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
USD 605
/ Night
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing