We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Booking.com
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
eDreams
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
cutler2019
Thornton, Australia

Different, but recommended.

Review of Junction Motel
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 31 Mar 2024
We were recommended this quaint motel by a business owner in town, and were very pleased with the unit. It is aged, and whilst not to everyone's taste, the decor was "different". 1950's style, but immaculately clean and well prepared. An extremely comfortable bed, which enabled a great rest.
Date of stay: February 2024
Room Tip: Handy location to the shops, where a brilliant oriental meal was available. Very different, but...
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Lol.travel
  • Agoda.com
0.7 km from Junction Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.3 km from Junction Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
0.9 km from Junction Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
An historic and lovely old home
eDreams
  • Vio.com
0.5 km from Junction Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.9 km from Junction Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Main House at Glen Derwent c1818
Booking.com
  • Lol.travel
1.3 km from Junction Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Heimat Chalets - On top of the World!
Booking.com
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
  • Lol.travel
6.1 km from Junction Motel
Free parking
beautiful Derwent valley
Booking.com
  • Vio.com
  • Lol.travel
0.5 km from Junction Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Duffy's cabin: scrupulously clean, comfortable, modern, and warm
Booking.com
  • eDreams
  • Vio.com
  • ZenHotels.com
25.5 km from Junction Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Upper Deck and Lower Deck. Terraced Gardens
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
1.8 km from Junction Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in New Norfolk
Reviews (209)
Filter reviews
209 results
Traveller rating
126
49
20
7
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
126
49
20
7
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tim tasmania art furniture benny delight
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 209 reviews
Reviewed 3 September 2023 via mobile

If there had been an electric blanket, this would have been a glowing review. There wasn’t: I shivered all night as the aircon laboured unsuccessfully (and noisily…) to overcome the minus point 8 outside.

The room is small but well equipped. The shower is great. An unfortunate choice of lightbulb meant the room was darker than I like.

When you first see it, this motel is a riot of colour: antiques and old wares arranged to stimulate your eyes: worth a visit just to see it!

Room tip: If you miss the turn in to the driveway (it’s narrow and hard to see at night) keep going around the roundabout: that will bring you back!
Date of stay: September 2023
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank JohnMcGhie
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 November 2022

Tim was an amazing host and nothing was too much trouble for him, he has a vast knowlege of the local area which we found very useful. The motel is very QUIRKY and each room has furniture from times gone by.

Room tip: We had room 19 which was very quirky with two rooms!
Date of stay: November 2022
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ChristineMZ216DP
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 April 2022 via mobile

Where do I even start? Well, imagine walking through a small garden and all you can smell is dog poo as you enter the reception area only to find one of the staff swearing and cursing at the top of there voice to which they don’t apologise for. That was my first impression and it was all downhill from there. Room was tiny and cluttered with a god awful smell which we later realised was a sewage smell. When I booked I read that the rooms had been recently renovated which was not the case. The exhaust fan in the shower was being held up by tape and our door could be pulled open even though it was locked. Tiny little double bed to sleep in. Thank goodness we were only here for one night! There is no way on this planet I would ever stay here again!

Room tip: Stay somewhere else
Date of stay: April 2022
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Rach0011
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 March 2022 via mobile

Just loved this fun place - were not expecting to see so much 'creative art & decor' here. Great spot with delightful Managers who were very welcoming. We stayed 1 week, fresh towels & rubbish taken daily etc. If ever back to Tasmania WE WOULD STAY HERE AGAIN - this place is a breath of fresh air & fun.

Date of stay: March 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank mariebH5087MS
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 March 2022 via mobile

The absolute worst place to stay in Tasmania with the most rudest owner I have meet. Very poor room servicing and cleaning stained doors and dirty toilet. When I made a complaint I was sworn at and told to f@@@k off walls are paper thin and can here everyone else right through the night. $105 a night stayed 3 nights and was told we don’t make beds or wash ya cups or clean ya room. Why have a sign to hang on door saying please service my room!!! Well I will not recommend you as a manager or your motel to anyone. And as I read I’m not the only one hopefully I will be the last.

Date of stay: March 2022
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank stevenjetson
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews