We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious lunch and great, friendly service.”
Review of Great Lake Hotel

Great Lake Hotel
Reserve a table
2
Mon, 26/2
20:00
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Miena
Restaurant details
Reviewed 23 July 2023

We had a fantastic meal. Loved the menu and will definitely return to try the drunken chicken! The shin beef casserole with local mushrooms and parsley dumplings was a winter winner and good old fish and chips was done right, with proper crispy chips. Bring your appetite, servings are generous, so no dessert for us this time, we'll have to come back and try the apple pie!

Date of visit: July 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank selinaspowart
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (9)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 9 reviews

Reviewed 25 March 2023

Fish in the Fish n Chips way over cooked and dry might have been the worst I've ever had in Tasmania, rest of the meals were pub grub. Our overseas guest enjoyed the chowder and kids liked the slap together cheese burgers.

Date of visit: March 2023
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ScottM1777
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 February 2023 via mobile

This is a lovely hotel to eat at. Great view over the lake and very nice decor.
The food was very tasty and large serves. Very friendly and helpful staff.

Date of visit: February 2023
Thank Susan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 June 2022

Use to be a pub for locals with a pub menu. Really keno and a gourmet menu. What happened to catering for locals. Shack owners want pub meals. Tourist would embrace the same. I'd recommend the lodge for better value

Date of visit: June 2022
Thank DiqNah
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 May 2022 via mobile

Firstly, the service is slow. Make sure you have plenty of time.

Staff, food and atmosphere are all excellent. Serving sizes are huge and though the menu is not huge there is an excellent cross section.
We enjoyed our time and had good friends to chat with. The whole experience was well worth it.

We were expecting there to be some locally fished trout on the menu but they missed that trick.

You must come if you get the chance

Date of visit: May 2022
1  Thank PortiaTurbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Been to Great Lake Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.