We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Amazing

This is a little bit of a drive, but so worth it! you walk along a track surrounded by trees, it... read more

Reviewed 2 days ago
lisaandsim0n
,
Glenrowan, Australia
Fascinating and combine with other features in the area

A trip to the south west corner of King Island is recommended. The roads are gravel but ok. Watch... read more

Reviewed 17 July 2023
youngmerinda
,
Hobart, Australia
via mobile
Read all 76 reviews
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Reviews (76)
Filter reviews
76 results
Traveller rating
39
28
7
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
39
28
7
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews viewing platform car park tree roots few steps calcium carbonate walking track an easy walk metre walk return walk blown away bird life seal rocks formations nature roads toilet
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 76 reviews
Reviewed 17 July 2023 via mobile

A trip to the south west corner of King Island is recommended. The roads are gravel but ok. Watch out for wallabies at all hours of the day. The calcified forest is fascinating and a nice and easy 600m walk through tea tree. There are good interpretive signage at the forest.
We code to drive on to Stokes point and we’re rewarded with stunning and accessible coastal landscape views.
Combine with a trip to Seal Rocks

Date of experience: July 2023
Thank youngmerinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 March 2023 via mobile

Once a forest but these calcified tree roots were never trees. That is the introduction to the story behind this remarkable geological formation known as the calcified forest.
Great for photography, nice short walk to the Lina looking landscape but keep an eye out for snakes. We saw one. The bird life is also quite abundant
At the parking area is a picnic spot where our your group had an amazing lobster lunch. There is also a drop toilet and a water tank to wash your hands.

Date of experience: March 2023
Thank Anita T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 May 2022

The Calcified Forest is comprised of hundreds of unusually shaped limestone features sticking up in a large otherwise sandy area. According to the notice boards these formed after calcium carbonate stuck to the roots of coastal plants and trees and were exposed when the sand was subsequently blown away.

The Calcified Forest is located in the South West corner of the island about a 40 minute (32 klms) drive from Currie on mainly gravel roads. Once you have reached the car park, where there are picnic and toilet facilities, it is a 630 metre walk on a mainly compacted earth path to the viewing platform. The path has some gentle hills but is an easy walk. There are a few steps up to the viewing platform.

Whilst it was interesting and I was pleased that I saw it, I’m not sure it is a must see given the drive required to get there from Currie.

If you do go there though, drive about an extra 1-2 klms to the lookout at Seal Rocks which is perched high above the cliffs. Didn’t see any seals and don’t know if there are any there, but it was a wildly beautiful part of the coastline with the ocean slamming against the rocks.

Date of experience: February 2022
Thank westy54
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 April 2022

What an experience: out of this world!
An amazing story of time from long ago.
Fascinating reading of the manner in which these relics were formed.
Overwhelming!!

Date of experience: March 2022
Thank Alison S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 March 2022 via mobile

It was well worth the drive and then 1.5km return walk to this windswept landscape. The Calcified Forest was most interesting. An interpretive board gave all necessary information.

Date of experience: March 2022
1  Thank 791anitat
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews