We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Great spot for a picnic

While Penny's Lagoon is a very rare 'perched' lake (only about three in the world) it is also worth... read more

Reviewed 16 April 2024
JElliot32
,
New South Wales, Australia
A fresh water lagoon that is a good family swimming and picnic spot.

Penny’s Lagoon is a “perched” or “suspended” lake which means that it is a body of water that sits... read more

Reviewed 8 May 2022
westy54
,
Sydney, Australia
Read all 12 reviews
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Reviews (12)
Filter reviews
12 results
Traveller rating
10
1
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
10
1
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bbq facilities lakes suspended sand drive
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 12 reviews
Reviewed 8 May 2022

Penny’s Lagoon is a “perched” or “suspended” lake which means that it is a body of water that sits above the water table and is not fed by a river or stream. There is also no river or stream from which it can drain so the only water it receives is from rain. It is reported that this is one of only 3 “perched” lakes in the world.

Penny’s Lagoon is approximately a 12 klms drive down a good gravel road from the turnoff at Egg Lagoon on the main Currie - Wickham road.

There were a number of children swimming and kayaking in the lagoon and also playing on the sand. The water was refreshing.

Good BBQ facilities and toilets.

Date of experience: February 2022
Thank westy54
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 January 2022

Lovely lagoon, nice for a swim although a bit of growth in there. Colours amazing, good BBQ facilities.

Date of experience: January 2022
Thank Kathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 January 2020

We travelled to Penny's Lagoon with King Island Travel. The lagoon is picturesque, children were swimming and canoeing there. A lovely place for a picnic - picnic tables are there too.

Date of experience: January 2020
1  Thank Jill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 October 2019 via mobile

A great place to experience the natural floral and fauna of the island. Fantastic beach, if a bumpy road to get there. Would make a great picnic spot and is a rare type of lake.

Date of experience: October 2019
Thank Tegan85
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 August 2019

A beautiful fresh water lagoon, perfect for swimming. We were pleasantly surprised stumbling across this place which we loved. The kids went swimming, and we lazed on the sand. Beautiful signage about the national park and bird life etc. A great picnic shelter with a view and new clean free gas bbqs. The toilet also has a great view!

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank Shelley G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews