We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Sunset sail around Bruny Island

What a stunning start to our Tassie girls weekend! Jaime and Christine couldn't have been more... read more

Reviewed 12 September 2022
kellyrY3464BT
Terrific Sailing

We had a 3 day/2 night cruise with James and Leigh. We are from Queensland, so it took a little... read more

Reviewed 21 April 2022
murrayphillps
,
Seattle, Washington
Read all 49 reviews
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Reviews (49)
Filter reviews
49 results
Traveller rating
48
1
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
48
1
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews captain jamie great company bruny island boat wind tassie bays wines rug sails crew
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 49 reviews
Reviewed 8 March 2019

Jamie of planned a wonderful trip for our group combining great sailing with walks and moorings in beautiful settings.
The journey took us though great waterways around Maria Island, Fortescue Bay, Port Arthur in a mixture of calm cruising and not so calm seas. Perfect for a holiday and for we, as sailors, eager to learn and be challenged. Jamie was an excellent teacher.

He was also a very welcoming host and his boat, Sea G, completely met our expectations for comfort. Meals were varied, plentiful and delicious with endless snacks and of course, a great selection of locally sourced wine.
We saw many birds and sea and land creatures, and the scenery was truly breathtaking. Sailing is such a good way to see the world.
We came away feeling happily 'exhausted' and wanting to do it all again as soon as possible.

Date of experience: February 2019
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
1  Thank Roam64758057130
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 March 2019

Five of us set out from Kettering on 'Sea G' for six fun filled days with skipper Jamie. Our route took us to beautiful anchorages at Maria Island, Fortescue Bay and Port Arthur. Sailing past the spectacular Capes and Tasman Island was absolutely stunning. Jamie was an excellent skipper, the boat was very well equipped with modern safety equipment and we enjoyed delicious meals and plenty of snacks. Sailing with Jamie would be a great way to try out sailing in the calmer waters around Kettering, or the more adventurous could head further afield for some thrilling coastal sailing and experience the cruising lifestyle. We had a ball and would love to go again.

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 March 2019 via mobile

Jamie shared his beautiful boat with 5 ladies who sail and we had an amazing 6 days sailing and walking. I was so impressed with the variety of local scenery, quaint bays, stunning cliffs and the wildlife. We spotted dolphins, seals, occasional fins and so many albatross. I have never seen an albatross before and we were identifying at least two different species! Every evening Jamie found us comfortable and spectacular moorings. He encouraged me to bring my inflatable stand up paddle board with me and suggested interesting bays to explore. Inside, Sea G is spacious and comfortable; there was plenty of great food and wine to enjoy and relax....

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank smoxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 February 2019

A fantastic 6 days sailing out of Kettering, through the Dunalley Channel to Maria Island, and around the Tasman Peninsula including Fortescue Bay and Port Arthur.

It was a perfect mix of sailing and bush walking. We did the 4 hour walk to Cape Hauy (part of the 3 day 3 Capes walk) amongst others, saw lots of convict ruins on Maria Island and the historic coal mines on the Tasman Peninsula. We also had an afternoon to spend exploring Port Arthur with our yacht moored right in front of the historic site which provided us with the beautiful sight of the ruins lit up at night.

Jamie was the perfect host and skipper. He quickly worked out our sailing abilities and tailored what we did to meet our skills and interests. He also adjusted the planned route to optimise what we did in the weather conditions.

Our meals were fully catered with the 6 day menu planned to perfection with a wide variety of meals.

We were a group to f 5 friends and we are all keen to return and do another sail with Jamie in the future. Highly recommended for sailors and also novices. You can sit back, do mouthing and enjoy the ride or you can actively sail the boat. It’s up to you!

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank catherine330
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 February 2019

We, five sailing friends, hired Jamie and his 42' Catalina yacht for 5 nights and six days. Jamie tailor made our itinerary to include both sailing and walking. We sailed north of Bruny Island to our first night anchorage on the Tasman peninsular. Next day we sailed through the Denison Canal and on to Chinaman's Bay on Maria Island. We stayed here for two nights so that we had plenty of time to enjoy a few of the great walks on Maria Island. The first afternoon we walked to Point Lesueur to see the convict ruins and next day we walked to Darlington (about 25km return). The wild life was spectacular - wombats. kangaroos, wallabies, pademelons, plus birds including Cape Barren Geese. Next day we sailed down to Fortescue Bay and did the Cape Hauy walk. This was spectacular and an excellent cardio vascular work out! The hard work was well worth the views. Then we sailed on and next anchorage was right in Port Arthur. What a spectacular way to arrive at this historic site! We spent the afternoon exploing the site. The guided tour which comes as part of the entrance fee was very well done and we learned lots of interesting facts. Then sadly, we had to make our way back to Kettering. We were lucky with our weather although Jamie tells us that, at this time of the year the weather is mostly sunny, short showers and good sailing winds. Jamie was an excellent skipper. The boat is well maintained. All our evening meals had been pre-cooked which made the domestic chores very easy. Pamela had stocked the boat with lots of breakfast foods, lunch foods and snacks. We were well fed. One always has to be very careful about how much water is used on such trips but we were able to swim and then have brief showers on the back deck. The beds are comfortable. However, you have to remember that you are living on a 42' yacht and the furthest away that you can get from anyone else is 42'! As we are all sailors, Pamela didn't come with us and Jamie took that into account when quoting a price. If you had no sailing experience, you could put your trust in Jamie and Pamela and if you wanted to learn a bit about it they would love to teach you. I can't think of a single thing that was not perfect and we five are already planning our next sailing adventure with Jamie!

Date of experience: February 2019
1  Thank S4iln
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews