We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing coffee”
Review of The Local

The Local
Ranked #2 of 5 Quick Bites in Huonville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 5 - USD 11
Description: The LOCAL is a coffee house using, promoting and supporting Tasmanian and in particular, Huon Valley region produce and products. We pride ourselves on our coffee, using Tasmanian roasted Villino beans and Ashgrove milk. We offer a light lunch menu including our daily changing selection of toasted sandwiches and pies. For sweet treats, we have house baked cakes, as well as a selection of gluten free goodies from Healthy Treats by Mrs Rees.
Restaurant details
Description: The LOCAL is a coffee house using, promoting and supporting Tasmanian and in particular, Huon Valley region produce and products. We pride ourselves on our coffee, using Tasmanian roasted Villino beans and Ashgrove milk. We offer a light lunch menu including our daily changing selection of toasted sandwiches and pies. For sweet treats, we have house baked cakes, as well as a selection of gluten free goodies from Healthy Treats by Mrs Rees.
Reviewed 13 March 2017 via mobile

Best coffee I've had in Tassie, fantastic food and smiling happy service. Will go back any day! Best place for breakfast in tassie so far.

Date of visit: March 2017
Thank Rebecca N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (116)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

37 - 41 of 116 reviews

Reviewed 20 February 2017

Very friendly, engaging staff. Coffee is very good, but not the best I have had before. The food lacks some variety, but otherwise is quite enjoyable. Small amounts of local produce, and some homewares and nick-knacks are also available, with a large room out back for children to play or meetings to be held. All in all, an enjoyable place to be in.

Date of visit: November 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Abi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2017 via mobile

Staff
Friendly welcome from the owner

Decor
Loved the simplicity and feel of the place. Lots of wood- a corner with local products for sale

The menu
Varied and unusual

The food quality
Fresh- tasty and fancy but unassumingly so

What can i say? Loved it.

Date of visit: February 2017
Thank Njays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2017

We went there for breakfast. Not to complain. Everything was okay but not a lot of selection. It would have been nice to have a healthy option on the menu. Coffee was very weak. My cappuccino could have passed for hot chocolate.

Date of visit: February 2017
Thank Vicki V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2017

I had a business meeting here and enjoyed a good hot chocolate; they close at 4pm but let us stay and finish up while they cleaned up. A relaxed setting and they have a kids room off to the side.

Date of visit: February 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank wombatdavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Local also viewed

 

Been to The Local? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing