We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Intimate, rustic, fresh and delicious!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Red Feather Inn

Red Feather Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Hadspen
Price range: USD 0 - USD 65
Cuisines: Australian, French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: The Red Feather Inn offers an intimate French provincial style dining experience on Friday and Saturday evenings by reservation only, for function or larger groups any night of the week, please call or email for details. The menu features only the freshest locally sourced produce, often straight from our very own potager garden. Join us at the Inn to enjoy the superb food, familial ambiance, personal service and a carefully selected Tasmanian wine list.
Devonport, Australia
1 review
“Intimate, rustic, fresh and delicious!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2015

We had a weekend away as a birthday celebration and my husband chose the Red Feather Inn as the place to dine, what a fantastic choice. From the second we arrived at the entrance we knew it was going to be a very special experience. The beautiful buildings and the perfectly maintained grounds straight away made us feel that this place was top quality, and we trusted that the food and service would live up to that high standard.
We entered the dining room and instantly felt at home, the room is like something straight out of 'Country Style' magazine. Beautiful crisp whites and rustic wooden decor, a lovely ambient feel to the room. We were straight away greeted by our very friendly waitress and told that we would receive a complimentary glass of champagne, a lovely surprise. The menu is small and simple, a choice of 3 entrees, 3 mains and 3 desserts. Non complicated, it was so quick and easy to make our choices. The menu changes daily according to what is available and in season, they cater to special requests diners may have (with prior warning!) and nothing is too much trouble. They source much of their produce from their own garden, the bacon was cured the day before on site and the herbs were fresh from the garden as was the fruit from the orchard. It does not get better than that when it comes to dining out. The waitresses were extremely helpful and friendly, they filled our drinks whenever our glasses were empty and were always available to answer queries.
The food was absolutely delicious, nothing on our plates disappointed. The meals were the perfect size, we came away nicely satisifed.
At the end of our meal our waitress was kind enough to offer a quick 'tour' of the cooking school, the barn/stable (which had been beautifully set up for a wedding) and to have a very long chat with us about what they offer and some of the things which happen behind the scenes. It was such a lovely personal touch, to be able to be shown these things in private and to just chat as if we were friends. The ONLY disappointing part of our whole experience was not being able to stay at the Inn afterwards (it was fully booked) that would have been the perfect end to a beautiful dining experience.I guess this means that we will need to return!! Thank you Jane and staff for giving us a memorable night out, we will be back.

  • Visited March 2015
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank nscrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    6
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Launceston, Tasmania, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Stunning Venue”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2014

We enjoyed a friend's birthday celebration a couple of months ago and this was my first experience at the Red Feather Inn. It is a stunning venue - a lovely old estate property with every attention paid to every small detail. We were dining in the stable and upon entering I was blown away by the atmosphere. The heritage rich building had been beautifully decorated with many warm contemporary, nostalgiac and rustic touches. The table settings were executed with rustic charm, not too busy or overcrowded. We were offered complimentary sparkling on arrival along with an appertif of wild olives. The dinner selection comprised of a 3 course set menu with 3 options available for each course. The staff were knowledgeable, professional, sincere and personable in their conduct. Our group had many dietary requirements (gluten free, vegetarian etc) which the staff were polite and accommodating in addressing.

I enjoyed the gravlax for entree, followed by a tuna steak with lentils and a chocolate semi-fredo for dessert. I also tried some of my partner's dessert which was a stunning lemon curd, with raspberry coulis and meringue to top it off. My only feedback was that I felt the tuna was overcooked - in my experience tuna steaks are best enjoyed medium/rare but this was certainly done to medium/well done and it was a little dry. Overall the food was good, and at $85 for the three course meal it certainly falls into a premium price category. The highlight here is most certainly the setting - a superb and unique venue.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank lmmao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedFeatherInn, Coordinator at Red Feather Inn, responded to this review, 16 October 2014
Thank you for your lovely review, we are glad you enjoyed your Red Feather Experience and noticed the little touches. Will pass on your comments in regards to the tuna to the chief and we hope next time you dine at the Inn it will be perfect.
Many thanks
The Red Feather Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tasmania
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“yum!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2014

the menu was fantastic - made great use of local produce.
Three course set menu with three choices at each course and great wine list too - we will be back.

Visited October 2014
Helpful?
Thank bluehadjon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedFeatherInn, Coordinator at Red Feather Inn, responded to this review, 16 October 2014
Thank you for your recent review after dining at the Red Feather Inn. We are so glad you enjoyed your evening and we look forward to seeing you at the Inn again soon.
Kind regards
The Red Feather Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
132 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“An unexpected delight”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

Went for dinner with friends. Set menu with plenty of choice. Service was exceptional. Food absolutely amazing. We were all thoroughly delighted at the quality, presentation and of course taste. Congratulations to the chef, we loved it.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank LucystellaAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedFeatherInn, Coordinator at Red Feather Inn, responded to this review, 16 October 2014
Thank you for your recent review after visiting the Red Feather Inn. We are so glad you had an enjoyable evening, we will pass on your compliments to the chief and look forward to seeing you at the Inn again soon.
Kind regards
The Red Feather Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Launceston
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Not just dinner!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

The first thing that grabs you is the property! The whole venue is incredible to look at. We were lead into the "restaurant" A very small room with candles and music. We were offered complimentary champagne and olives on arrival. The menu is different each week as the chef writes it after visiting the markets etc and selecting his food. The meals were good! Nothing too fantastic but incredibly enjoyable all the same. A delicious cabbage mash accompanied the pork belly. The honeycomb semifreddo was my fave. There were a couple of private functions on the same evening but you wouldn't have known. You couldn't hear them. However we were offered a piece of cake from one of the parties. The intimate setting meant we made friends with one of the other couples dining. The chef came out at the end of the evening to thank us! The whole experience made you feel appreciated as a guest and they were all so wonderful. Highly recommend this venue

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kelanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Red Feather Inn also viewed

Launceston, Tasmania
Launceston, Tasmania
 

Been to Red Feather Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing