We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
kstraveler81
Naples, Florida

Beautiful views and nice room

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 28 Jan 2023
We were in suite no 24. Beautiful setting, fantastic ocean views, good food, nice rooms and a comfortable bed. The suites are directly (50 meters) on the water. The cabins on the hill are more spacious. The negatives were brown water from sinks and in toilet (apparently safe, but not very appealing) and horrible Wi-fi service in our room.
Date of stay: January 2023
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
AU$194
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • eDreams
  • Expedia.com
    AU$194
2.3 km from Edge of the Bay Resort
Free parking
AU$204
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$204
2.2 km from Edge of the Bay Resort
  • eDreams
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
1.4 km from Edge of the Bay Resort
Beachfront
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Algotels
  • eDreams
4.2 km from Edge of the Bay Resort
Free parking
Beachfront
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
  • Expedia.com
2.8 km from Edge of the Bay Resort
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
5.9 km from Edge of the Bay Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Coles Bay
AU$468
  • StayForLong
  • Vio.com
    AU$468
  • Priceline
    AU$468
0.0 km from Edge of the Bay Resort
Free parking
Restaurant
a bar in a bedroom
  • Official Site
    AU$100
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$126
15.1 km from Edge of the Bay Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
View of motel from near the beach area
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$125
  • Expedia.com
    AU$127
15.2 km from Edge of the Bay Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Coles Bay
Reviews (563)
Filter reviews
563 results
Traveller rating
298
175
47
27
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
298
175
47
27
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tennis courts secluded cottage drinking water washing machine an ocean view suite local wildlife both nights freycinet peninsula small deck guest laundry second bedroom spectacular views wallabies bay accommodation tasmania toaster
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 563 reviews
Reviewed 11 January 2023 via mobile

booked 5 nights in march 2022 at 445/night no breakfast. full amount $2,225 paid in advance.
booking based on website, location and reviews.

we got a spacious,clean room, suitably furnished, but beginning to show its age of around 30 years.
great location with great view of the bay.

we would NOT have booked had we known that we also got brownish water to wash with, apparantly from grass roots and tea trees.
never had this type of water during our extensive travels, do not want it again.
wifi at best patchy, with max speed around 5 mbs or nothing.
had to use our own mobile data.
brown water was NOT mentioned on website, wifi availability was.
value for money ? compare with 541/night including a very good cold/hot breakfast at langham,sydney !

Date of stay: January 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank klausundjutta2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 January 2023

I had very high expectations when visiting Edge of the Bay Resort. There is no doubt that the location is specular, but at over $500 for one night serious improvement needs to be made. The fit out of the apartment is tired and needs to updated (or just charge less). Absolute no issues with cleanliness, just dated and tired.

Their water comes from their own catchment and is discoloured (in the bathroom) by the tannins from tree tree and button grass, however is safe to drink. This is not an issue, however their information booklet (see photo) actually says "the water in the kitchen is filtered, UV treated rain water - council regulations prescribe boiling before drinking.

Just great when you've just arrived with no provisions, and you have to boil the water to drink, or you have to get in the car to drive several kms to get to a shop. Why they would not supply water (even for a charge) is beyond me.

The restaurant on site (although independent to accommodation) is very good.

I've posted over 300 reviews and it is very rate for me to say this, but unfortunately I would not recommend Edge of the Bay Resort (at the current prices).

Date of stay: December 2022
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank jack06
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 December 2022 via mobile

Just WOW… a jewel in Coles Bay. The little cabins are fantastic. Everything you need for a relaxing quiet getaway WITH an outstanding restuarant.. glorious 2 days and the food - exceptional. Thankyou for a truly marvelous stay. Nick, the owner was wonderful and did all he could to make your stay perfect 👌🏽

Date of stay: November 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank fiona150462
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 September 2022

Property was well located and whilst the furniture was a little dated, reasonably comfortable to stay.

Owner unfortunately was incredibly rude and dismissive of use of furniture for someone with a disability and had the nerve to state that disabled people would not act as a “reasonable person” would. The owner also used credit card details without consent and when requested for justification of additional fees charged, replied “I don’t want to spend my time doing that”. Overall there are plenty of equally nice air bnb’s nearby run by lovely people who won’t charge you without consent.

Date of stay: September 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank BrendJ1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nick Johnston, General Manager at Edge of the Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2022

As owner I am far from dismissive of the use of the furniture. An inside/lounge stool was used in the shower. This action has extensively damaged the wooden stool seat.
Edge of the Bay has wheelchair and disabled friendly rooms available, and we have 3 chairs specifically available for this very purpose, also there is outdoor furniture as part of the accommodation that is designed to be in the elements which could have been utilised.
At no stage when booking or when the guest's partner checked into the accommodation was a disability mentioned and no enquiries were made to reception for the use of a chair for the shower.
The wilful misuse of the stool was upsetting and the lack of accountability of actions disappointing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2022

This is one of my most memorable and favorite hotels in the world. Its my second visit to Edge of the Bay, so glad I returned.

Rooms have a commanding and endless view of Coles Bay, you see for miles around and all natural, its incredible to be this remote in this nice of a hotel.

Yes, wallabies walk around outside your room maybe 1 meter away. Room is very large, fast internet and nice sliding doors to enjoy your large patio looking out over the bay. I opened the slider in the morning to listen to the pounding surf. Walk 50 meters to the shoreline and enjoy the rocks, the colors and the views.

If you want to get away from it all, I cannot imagine a better get away from it experience.

Enjoyed dinner two nites at the restaurant Lure on the property. Wonderful dinners, wines and great service both dinners. Lamb was perfect and the venison so flavorful. Great setting and wonderful dinners.

Memorable, simply memorable.

Date of stay: May 2022
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WorldTravelRod
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews