We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great location, nice cabins” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Freycinet Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Freycinet Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
63 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great location, nice cabins”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2016 via mobile

We had a 2br cabin and a 1br cabin. The cabins were very nice, roomy and comfortable. Beautiful location. Breakfast was included and was first class. A bit pricey, but a wonderful location. We had perfect weather which made our visit spectacular.

Stayed December 2015, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank RodS856
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanna S, General Manager at Freycinet Lodge, responded to this review, 30 January 2016
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay.
Happy Travels
Shanna Sweeney
GM - Freycinet Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

958 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    393
    353
    146
    54
    12
See reviews for
162
613
24
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (272)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2016 via mobile

Superbly located 'Eco' resort with originally good architecture badly in need of updating. For A$400 odd you expect better than a noisy mostly empty water fridge with trailing power cord to greet you in an understaffed reception area where the wait was over 10 minutes to see Cedric who not only speaks French but whose attitude to guests is very Parisian as well (all who experience the rudeness frequently encountered in lower end establishments of the French capital will get my meaning...)
Never you mind that I guess if unit was clean but it was not (see photos of dust from coffee table and the barely washed mugs, etc).
In terms of value it is not very good. One has to only compare it to the MONA pavilions which cost $795 per night but offer two superb bedrooms and bathrooms as well as a spectacular living area and well equipped kitchen overlooking the water whilst this place sleeps two for $400 per night. We were travelling as two couples and we definitely think MONA is better value.
Other than that it is clear that the place is owned by the motoring association (read old stuffy tasteless worn out decor and lighting badly in need of upgrading in what is an otherwise fine main building as well as very expensive bar drinks $12-$14 per glass of average wine (you are captive audience with no choice) and a boarding house breakfast with dishwasher like coffee, five cereals, second rate pastries, the usual selection of plastic sausages, eggs and tomatoes).
The walks in the national park around a re superb but that has nothing to do with the lodge. I hope somebody takes over and brings it to a decent standard. For starters get more reception staff.
On the plus side the Bistro offers good food and views though here again more could be made of its surroundings (better finishes, furnishings, decor).

Stayed January 2016, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Lorena D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanna S, General Manager at Freycinet Lodge, responded to this review, 30 January 2016
Thank you for taking the time to provide an outline of your stay, all feedback is welcome and allows us to identify areas of improvement.
We are disappointed we have not met expectations during your stay as this is not our usual standard.
We have a number of improvements and additions scheduled for the future and hope that we can impress you should you visit again.
Shanna Sweeney
GM - Freycinet Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2016 via mobile

I think we lucked out on our room (number 30). It had a great view of Coles Bay from the balcony and a really large comfortable bed. Double sinks, walk in shower, spa bath etc, a very well appointed room. The restaurant and breakfast were good and the staff very friendly, although they seemed a bit under staffed at times.

Stayed January 2016, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DJandSu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanna S, General Manager at Freycinet Lodge, responded to this review, 30 January 2016
Thanks DJ & Su we hope to see you again.
Kind Regards
Shanna Sweeney
GM - Freycinet Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
57 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2016

This lodge is located right in Freycinet National Park and is worth the stay. The rooms are spacious and comfortable. You can walk the grounds and see wildlife as well as spectacular vistas. Being you are in the park you should do some of the hikes which range from easy to very difficult. A hike can be 1/2 hour in duration to as much as multiple days.

  • Stayed January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Herman J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanna S, General Manager at Freycinet Lodge, responded to this review, 30 January 2016
The wildlife of are gorgeous and abundant here and we are glad you were able to experience this and all the region has to offer.
Shanna Sweeney
GM - Freycinet Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
196 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2016

First class staff make this an enjoyable visit. The room was very good. Large clean. All ammenities that are needed. Overall. A very good place to stay. A couple of things would have made this an even better stay. 1. There is no gym here which many people can do without I know but I always like a place that has a gym. 2. We wanted to book the whiskey tasting but were told the day before to check next morning to see if Renee was going to do it or not. It was meant to be 4.30 pm so please check back in the morning. We did and still no clarity. Even at 2pm they weren't sure. We gave it a miss. The staff were very apologetic but when this is one of the few attractions of the Lodge you'd think they would get this right. We dined in the restaurant on the first night. Food was very good if a bit pricey. The wine list is limited. No international wines at all. We tried the bistro the next night and it was mixed. One great meal and one ordinary. The lounge area for an after dinner drink is lovely. We walked the 11 km Wineglass Bay and Hazards beach track. A spectacular walk. Make sure you take some water and nibbles. Have a break at both bays. Just beautiful. It's not an easy walk with a lot of rock hopping so watch the ankles but absolutely worth the effort. One final note...the wifi is dreadful so don't expect too much time online. Overall a lovely place for a few days r and r.

  • Stayed January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveA22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanna S, General Manager at Freycinet Lodge, responded to this review, 30 January 2016
We are thrilled you were able to have a lovely break and enjoy all that Freycinet has to offer.
We must apologise that you had this experience whilst trying to book a tasting, this is not usual and we are disappointed we let you down here.
Safe Travels
Shanna Sweeney
GM - Freycinet Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coles Bay
18.0 km away
Piermont Retreat
Piermont Retreat
#1 of 3 in Swansea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
31.6 km away
Diamond Island Resort
Diamond Island Resort
#4 of 4 in Bicheno
3.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
30.1 km away
BEST WESTERN Beachfront Bicheno
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 km away
Freycinet Retreat
Freycinet Retreat
#1 of 5 in Coles Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
4.2 km away
Edge of the Bay Resort
Edge of the Bay Resort
#2 of 2 in Coles Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
4.3 km away
Saffire Freycinet
Saffire Freycinet
#1 of 2 in Coles Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Freycinet Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Freycinet Lodge

Property: Freycinet Lodge
Address: Freycinet National Park, Coles Bay, Freycinet, Tasmania 7215, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Freycinet > Coles Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Coles Bay
Price range (per night): $262 - $591
Hotel Class:4 star — Freycinet Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a spectacular waterfront location at the foot of the Hazards, just inside Freycinet National Park, Freycinet Lodge is a superb base for exploring the Freycinet peninsula. A world of hidden comfort, the Lodge is living proof that communing with nature does not have to mean roughing it. It's a place to relax and rejuvenate. To experience nature's wild harmony without sacrificing your creature comforts. Stylish yet simple, the cabins are designed to impart welcoming familiarity and warmth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Expedia APAC so you can book your Freycinet Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Freycinet Hotel Coles Bay
Freycinet Lodge Tasmania - Coles Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing