We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,282)
Filter reviews
1,282 results
Traveller rating
543
456
183
78
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
543
456
183
78
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bay restaurant national park spa cabin wineglass bay seafood platter main restaurant breakfast was included honeymoon bay richardson's beach beautiful location open fire walking trails reception area large bathroom water view cradle mountain sleepy bay
Filter
Updating list...
584 - 589 of 1,282 reviews
Reviewed 27 January 2016 via mobile

Superbly located 'Eco' resort with originally good architecture badly in need of updating. For A$400 odd you expect better than a noisy mostly empty water fridge with trailing power cord to greet you in an understaffed reception area where the wait was over 10 minutes to see Cedric who not only speaks French but whose attitude to guests is very Parisian as well (all who experience the rudeness frequently encountered in lower end establishments of the French capital will get my meaning...)
Never you mind that I guess if unit was clean but it was not (see photos of dust from coffee table and the barely washed mugs, etc).
In terms of value it is not very good. One has to only compare it to the MONA pavilions which cost $795 per night but offer two superb bedrooms and bathrooms as well as a spectacular living area and well equipped kitchen overlooking the water whilst this place sleeps two for $400 per night. We were travelling as two couples and we definitely think MONA is better value.
Other than that it is clear that the place is owned by the motoring association (read old stuffy tasteless worn out decor and lighting badly in need of upgrading in what is an otherwise fine main building as well as very expensive bar drinks $12-$14 per glass of average wine (you are captive audience with no choice) and a boarding house breakfast with dishwasher like coffee, five cereals, second rate pastries, the usual selection of plastic sausages, eggs and tomatoes).
The walks in the national park around a re superb but that has nothing to do with the lodge. I hope somebody takes over and brings it to a decent standard. For starters get more reception staff.
On the plus side the Bistro offers good food and views though here again more could be made of its surroundings (better finishes, furnishings, decor).

Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
2  Thank GiustinaSardella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanna S, General Manager at Freycinet Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2016

Thank you for taking the time to provide an outline of your stay, all feedback is welcome and allows us to identify areas of improvement.
We are disappointed we have not met expectations during your stay as this is not our usual standard.
We have a number of improvements and additions scheduled for the future and hope that we can impress you should you visit again.
Shanna Sweeney
GM - Freycinet Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2016 via mobile

I think we lucked out on our room (number 30). It had a great view of Coles Bay from the balcony and a really large comfortable bed. Double sinks, walk in shower, spa bath etc, a very well appointed room. The restaurant and breakfast were good and the staff very friendly, although they seemed a bit under staffed at times.

Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank DJandSu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanna S, General Manager at Freycinet Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2016

Thanks DJ & Su we hope to see you again.
Kind Regards
Shanna Sweeney
GM - Freycinet Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2016

This lodge is located right in Freycinet National Park and is worth the stay. The rooms are spacious and comfortable. You can walk the grounds and see wildlife as well as spectacular vistas. Being you are in the park you should do some of the hikes which range from easy to very difficult. A hike can be 1/2 hour in duration to as much as multiple days.

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Herman J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanna S, General Manager at Freycinet Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2016

The wildlife of are gorgeous and abundant here and we are glad you were able to experience this and all the region has to offer.
Shanna Sweeney
GM - Freycinet Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2016

First class staff make this an enjoyable visit. The room was very good. Large clean. All ammenities that are needed. Overall. A very good place to stay. A couple of things would have made this an even better stay. 1. There is no gym here which many people can do without I know but I always like a place that has a gym. 2. We wanted to book the whiskey tasting but were told the day before to check next morning to see if Renee was going to do it or not. It was meant to be 4.30 pm so please check back in the morning. We did and still no clarity. Even at 2pm they weren't sure. We gave it a miss. The staff were very apologetic but when this is one of the few attractions of the Lodge you'd think they would get this right. We dined in the restaurant on the first night. Food was very good if a bit pricey. The wine list is limited. No international wines at all. We tried the bistro the next night and it was mixed. One great meal and one ordinary. The lounge area for an after dinner drink is lovely. We walked the 11 km Wineglass Bay and Hazards beach track. A spectacular walk. Make sure you take some water and nibbles. Have a break at both bays. Just beautiful. It's not an easy walk with a lot of rock hopping so watch the ankles but absolutely worth the effort. One final note...the wifi is dreadful so don't expect too much time online. Overall a lovely place for a few days r and r.

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SteveA22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanna S, General Manager at Freycinet Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2016

We are thrilled you were able to have a lovely break and enjoy all that Freycinet has to offer.
We must apologise that you had this experience whilst trying to book a tasting, this is not usual and we are disappointed we let you down here.
Safe Travels
Shanna Sweeney
GM - Freycinet Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2016

Three of us booked into a two-room cabin for one night during our drive around Tasmania. Reliant on its great location, I thought that the Lodge fell short in a number of respects. The cabins didn't take advantage of the views on offer, with most cabins, including all two room cabins, being back in the bush with no water views. There were no walkways to the main lodge, people just shared the roads with the cars.
The two televisions in the cabin shared only one remote control which didn't work. Despite a number of requests to have it fixed, it appears this was beyond the capacity of the lodge staff (who, I should note, were friendly, if unable to fix it).
For wifi, we were told connect in the lobby, and then cross your fingers it may make it to the cabin - it did not.
There was no availability at the lodge restaurant.
Overall, it felt like the kind of outfit and service I had at places I went as a child with my parents. Which would have been fine had we paid 1980s prices - we did not.
While its location will always protect it, if Freycinet Lodge really wants to mix it as a high-end lodging accommodation, it really needs to lift its game.

Room Tip: Check carefully to get rooms with views.
  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanna S, General Manager at Freycinet Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2016

Hi Michael.
Thank you for taking the time to report back to us, all feedback is very much appreciated.
We do our best with WiFi in a national park and do work hard to try and keep up to date with the best options available, unfortunately that doesn't always reach all cabins. We promote WiFi in the lobby and have never had an issue with this so thank you for bringing it to our attention.
Shanna Sweeney
GM - Freycinet Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews