We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Freycinet Lodge
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,211)
Filter reviews
1,211 results
Traveller rating
512
429
177
71
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
512
429
177
71
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbay restaurantnational parkspa cabinwineglass bayseafood plattermain restaurantbuffet breakfasthoneymoon bayrichardson's beachwalking trailsbeautiful locationopen firewater viewreception arealarge bathroommusic playingcradle mountain
Filter
Updating list...
517 - 522 of 1,211 reviews
Reviewed 26 January 2016

First class staff make this an enjoyable visit. The room was very good. Large clean. All ammenities that are needed. Overall. A very good place to stay. A couple of things would have made this an even better stay. 1. There is no gym here which many people can do without I know but I always like a place that has a gym. 2. We wanted to book the whiskey tasting but were told the day before to check next morning to see if Renee was going to do it or not. It was meant to be 4.30 pm so please check back in the morning. We did and still no clarity. Even at 2pm they weren't sure. We gave it a miss. The staff were very apologetic but when this is one of the few attractions of the Lodge you'd think they would get this right. We dined in the restaurant on the first night. Food was very good if a bit pricey. The wine list is limited. No international wines at all. We tried the bistro the next night and it was mixed. One great meal and one ordinary. The lounge area for an after dinner drink is lovely. We walked the 11 km Wineglass Bay and Hazards beach track. A spectacular walk. Make sure you take some water and nibbles. Have a break at both bays. Just beautiful. It's not an easy walk with a lot of rock hopping so watch the ankles but absolutely worth the effort. One final note...the wifi is dreadful so don't expect too much time online. Overall a lovely place for a few days r and r.

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SteveA22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanna S, General Manager at Freycinet Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2016

We are thrilled you were able to have a lovely break and enjoy all that Freycinet has to offer.
We must apologise that you had this experience whilst trying to book a tasting, this is not usual and we are disappointed we let you down here.
Safe Travels
Shanna Sweeney
GM - Freycinet Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2016

Three of us booked into a two-room cabin for one night during our drive around Tasmania. Reliant on its great location, I thought that the Lodge fell short in a number of respects. The cabins didn't take advantage of the views on offer, with most cabins, including all two room cabins, being back in the bush with no water views. There were no walkways to the main lodge, people just shared the roads with the cars.
The two televisions in the cabin shared only one remote control which didn't work. Despite a number of requests to have it fixed, it appears this was beyond the capacity of the lodge staff (who, I should note, were friendly, if unable to fix it).
For wifi, we were told connect in the lobby, and then cross your fingers it may make it to the cabin - it did not.
There was no availability at the lodge restaurant.
Overall, it felt like the kind of outfit and service I had at places I went as a child with my parents. Which would have been fine had we paid 1980s prices - we did not.
While its location will always protect it, if Freycinet Lodge really wants to mix it as a high-end lodging accommodation, it really needs to lift its game.

Room Tip: Check carefully to get rooms with views.
  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanna S, General Manager at Freycinet Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2016

Hi Michael.
Thank you for taking the time to report back to us, all feedback is very much appreciated.
We do our best with WiFi in a national park and do work hard to try and keep up to date with the best options available, unfortunately that doesn't always reach all cabins. We promote WiFi in the lobby and have never had an issue with this so thank you for bringing it to our attention.
Shanna Sweeney
GM - Freycinet Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2016

We were booked into the lodge for 3 nights whilst touring Tasmania, reviewing the menu on line we decided to stock up with food at Launceston to self cater. Looking at the prices we would have been paying around £65 per night to eat out. There are times when it is good to do some self catering and this was one of them. The breakfast was first class with a wide choice of hot or cold food.
For a 5 star resort we had to ask for plates and cutlery to gives us sufficient to eat from, these took 2 days to appear, really not good enough and the lady on reception thought it was a good laugh.
I think the hotel could also some beach equipment like chairs and umbrellas for guest who want to use the beach.
The hotel really needs to make the staff accountable if a lodge is for 4 there should be 4 of all items and checked daily.
The manager should book some of his staff into Port Arthur Villas to see how a self catering unit is run efficiently.

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Coity11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanna S, General Manager at Freycinet Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2016

Thanks for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay and we note the suggestions of additional equipment in the rooms.
Thank you again, all feedback is appreciated.
Shanna Sweeney
GM - Freycinet Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2016 via mobile

We loved this place. The accommodation was very comfortable. The rooms were clean, bathroom well stocked, linen clean and neat. The location is beautiful, you'd be struggling to find a better one. Breakfast was very good. Staff were friendly and helpful.

Stayed: January 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanna S, General Manager at Freycinet Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2016

Thank you Paul we appreciate the feedback and we are thrilled you enjoyed your stay.
Safe Travels
Shanna Sweeney
GM - Freycinet Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2016

We had a 2 room cabin. Perfect for traveling friends. The main room included a couch, dining table, and king bed. The bedroom had 2 twin beds. There was also a small kitchen and biggest bathroom room we had during the entire trip! The cabin was spotless and daily service was appreciated! We were able to use the laundry facilities to wash hiking clothes as it was in the 80s (F) when hiking. The lodge central building was beautiful with lots of space to sit outside (picnic tables) to enjoy the view of the bay. We had several evening meals at Richardson's Bistro--the food was fantastic as were the waitstaff! Be sure to try the mussels in tomato and light chili broth! They were the biggest, most tender mussels I've ever had!

Room Tip: We had a view of the mountains, but you could ask for a view of the water.
  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gsb1158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanna S, General Manager at Freycinet Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2016

Thank you for taking the time to let us know you thoroughly enjoyed your stay.
We hope to see you again.
Shanna Sweeney
GM - Freycinet Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews