We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“A touch of Tasmanian heaven” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Freycinet Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Freycinet Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
57 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A touch of Tasmanian heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2016

This lodge is located right in Freycinet National Park and is worth the stay. The rooms are spacious and comfortable. You can walk the grounds and see wildlife as well as spectacular vistas. Being you are in the park you should do some of the hikes which range from easy to very difficult. A hike can be 1/2 hour in duration to as much as multiple days.

  • Stayed January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Herman J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanna S, General Manager at Freycinet Lodge, responded to this review, 30 January 2016
The wildlife of are gorgeous and abundant here and we are glad you were able to experience this and all the region has to offer.
Shanna Sweeney
GM - Freycinet Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

957 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    393
    353
    146
    53
    12
See reviews for
162
612
24
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (272)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
196 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2016

First class staff make this an enjoyable visit. The room was very good. Large clean. All ammenities that are needed. Overall. A very good place to stay. A couple of things would have made this an even better stay. 1. There is no gym here which many people can do without I know but I always like a place that has a gym. 2. We wanted to book the whiskey tasting but were told the day before to check next morning to see if Renee was going to do it or not. It was meant to be 4.30 pm so please check back in the morning. We did and still no clarity. Even at 2pm they weren't sure. We gave it a miss. The staff were very apologetic but when this is one of the few attractions of the Lodge you'd think they would get this right. We dined in the restaurant on the first night. Food was very good if a bit pricey. The wine list is limited. No international wines at all. We tried the bistro the next night and it was mixed. One great meal and one ordinary. The lounge area for an after dinner drink is lovely. We walked the 11 km Wineglass Bay and Hazards beach track. A spectacular walk. Make sure you take some water and nibbles. Have a break at both bays. Just beautiful. It's not an easy walk with a lot of rock hopping so watch the ankles but absolutely worth the effort. One final note...the wifi is dreadful so don't expect too much time online. Overall a lovely place for a few days r and r.

  • Stayed January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveA22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanna S, General Manager at Freycinet Lodge, responded to this review, 30 January 2016
We are thrilled you were able to have a lovely break and enjoy all that Freycinet has to offer.
We must apologise that you had this experience whilst trying to book a tasting, this is not usual and we are disappointed we let you down here.
Safe Travels
Shanna Sweeney
GM - Freycinet Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2016

Three of us booked into a two-room cabin for one night during our drive around Tasmania. Reliant on its great location, I thought that the Lodge fell short in a number of respects. The cabins didn't take advantage of the views on offer, with most cabins, including all two room cabins, being back in the bush with no water views. There were no walkways to the main lodge, people just shared the roads with the cars.
The two televisions in the cabin shared only one remote control which didn't work. Despite a number of requests to have it fixed, it appears this was beyond the capacity of the lodge staff (who, I should note, were friendly, if unable to fix it).
For wifi, we were told connect in the lobby, and then cross your fingers it may make it to the cabin - it did not.
There was no availability at the lodge restaurant.
Overall, it felt like the kind of outfit and service I had at places I went as a child with my parents. Which would have been fine had we paid 1980s prices - we did not.
While its location will always protect it, if Freycinet Lodge really wants to mix it as a high-end lodging accommodation, it really needs to lift its game.

Room Tip: Check carefully to get rooms with views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2016, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanna S, General Manager at Freycinet Lodge, responded to this review, 30 January 2016
Hi Michael.
Thank you for taking the time to report back to us, all feedback is very much appreciated.
We do our best with WiFi in a national park and do work hard to try and keep up to date with the best options available, unfortunately that doesn't always reach all cabins. We promote WiFi in the lobby and have never had an issue with this so thank you for bringing it to our attention.
Shanna Sweeney
GM - Freycinet Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2016

We were booked into the lodge for 3 nights whilst touring Tasmania, reviewing the menu on line we decided to stock up with food at Launceston to self cater. Looking at the prices we would have been paying around £65 per night to eat out. There are times when it is good to do some self catering and this was one of them. The breakfast was first class with a wide choice of hot or cold food.
For a 5 star resort we had to ask for plates and cutlery to gives us sufficient to eat from, these took 2 days to appear, really not good enough and the lady on reception thought it was a good laugh.
I think the hotel could also some beach equipment like chairs and umbrellas for guest who want to use the beach.
The hotel really needs to make the staff accountable if a lodge is for 4 there should be 4 of all items and checked daily.
The manager should book some of his staff into Port Arthur Villas to see how a self catering unit is run efficiently.

  • Stayed January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Coity11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanna S, General Manager at Freycinet Lodge, responded to this review, 30 January 2016
Thanks for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay and we note the suggestions of additional equipment in the rooms.
Thank you again, all feedback is appreciated.
Shanna Sweeney
GM - Freycinet Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
153 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2016 via mobile

We loved this place. The accommodation was very comfortable. The rooms were clean, bathroom well stocked, linen clean and neat. The location is beautiful, you'd be struggling to find a better one. Breakfast was very good. Staff were friendly and helpful.

Stayed January 2016, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanna S, General Manager at Freycinet Lodge, responded to this review, 23 January 2016
Thank you Paul we appreciate the feedback and we are thrilled you enjoyed your stay.
Safe Travels
Shanna Sweeney
GM - Freycinet Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coles Bay
18.0 km away
Piermont Retreat
Piermont Retreat
#1 of 3 in Swansea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
31.6 km away
Diamond Island Resort
Diamond Island Resort
#4 of 4 in Bicheno
3.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
30.1 km away
BEST WESTERN Beachfront Bicheno
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 km away
Freycinet Retreat
Freycinet Retreat
#1 of 5 in Coles Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
4.2 km away
Edge of the Bay Resort
Edge of the Bay Resort
#2 of 2 in Coles Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
4.3 km away
Saffire Freycinet
Saffire Freycinet
#1 of 2 in Coles Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Freycinet Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Freycinet Lodge

Property: Freycinet Lodge
Address: Freycinet National Park, Coles Bay, Freycinet, Tasmania 7215, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Freycinet > Coles Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Coles Bay
Price range (per night): $262 - $593
Hotel Class:4 star — Freycinet Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a spectacular waterfront location at the foot of the Hazards, just inside Freycinet National Park, Freycinet Lodge is a superb base for exploring the Freycinet peninsula. A world of hidden comfort, the Lodge is living proof that communing with nature does not have to mean roughing it. It's a place to relax and rejuvenate. To experience nature's wild harmony without sacrificing your creature comforts. Stylish yet simple, the cabins are designed to impart welcoming familiarity and warmth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Wotif.com so you can book your Freycinet Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Freycinet Hotel Coles Bay
Freycinet Lodge Tasmania - Coles Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing