We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
DaveWat64
Melbourne, Australia

Amazing experience

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 10 Apr 2024
The most amazing service in Australia! A wonderful location with fabulous facilities and included experiences topped off with incredible food offerings. Great staff throughout. Will definitely be back soon and try those experiences that we missed this time.
Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Patrick Barrie, General Manager at Saffire Freycinet, responded to this review
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear DaveWat64,

Lovely to hear from you, thank you for taking the time to write.

Truly delighted that the highlight of your time with us was our team, some of the most dedicated & talented individuals I have had the pleasure of working alongside.

If I can personally be of any assistance planning your return journey, please do not hesitate to ask.

Sincerely,

Patrick Barrie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Coles Bay
Booking.com
AU$468
  • Priceline
    AU$468
  • Vio.com
    AU$468
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$478
0.5 km from Saffire Freycinet
Free parking
Restaurant
Hotels.com
AU$196
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    AU$187
  • Agoda.com
    AU$196
  • eDreams
    AU$196
2.2 km from Saffire Freycinet
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$371
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    AU$371
  • Vio.com
    AU$371
  • Hotels.com
    AU$371
4.1 km from Saffire Freycinet
Free parking
Beachfront
Booking.com
AU$321
  • Priceline
    AU$301
  • Agoda.com
    AU$278
  • Expedia.com
    AU$321
5.6 km from Saffire Freycinet
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$196
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$196
2.1 km from Saffire Freycinet
Lol.travel
  • Vio.com
2.8 km from Saffire Freycinet
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
2.7 km from Saffire Freycinet
We had the Garfish, Pissaladere, Smoked Eel and the Beetroot. Beautiful flavours.
Vio.com
AU$140
Fully refundable
    15.5 km from Saffire Freycinet
    Booking.com
    AU$125
    Fully refundable
    No prepayment needed
    • Priceline
      AU$125
    • Agoda.com
      AU$125
    • eDreams
      AU$125
    15.5 km from Saffire Freycinet
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Booking.com
    AU$140
    Fully refundable
    • Priceline
      AU$140
    • Official Site
      AU$100
    • Hotels.com
      AU$199
    15.5 km from Saffire Freycinet
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    View more hotels in Coles Bay
    Reviews (878)
    Filter reviews
    878 results
    Traveller rating
    829
    34
    9
    4
    2
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    Traveller rating
    829
    34
    9
    4
    2
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviews food and wine schouten island oysters hobart airport tasmanian devils farm tour southern ocean lodge wineglass bay included activities wolgan valley moment you arrive luxury lodge bucket list world class guided walk every staff member main building
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    4 - 9 of 878 reviews
    Reviewed 5 March 2024 via mobile

    Saffire is undoubtedly one of the finest resorts we have stayed at . EVERYTHING is perfection , the accommodations, experiences , location , food and wines . Most importantly is the incredible staff . If the resort is 5 star the staff deserves 10. We can’t wait to return !

    Date of stay: March 2024
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    Thank carmel381
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Patrick Barrie, General Manager at Saffire Freycinet, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2024

    Dear carmel381,

    Lovely to hear from you, thank you for taking the time to write.

    Truly appreciate your kind words in regard to our team! I read them aloud at Food & Beverage briefing last night, a delightful way to remind the team how incredible they are just before service.

    If I can personally be of any assistance planning your return journey to Saffire, please do not hesitate to ask.

    Sincerely,

    Patrick Barrie

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 25 February 2024 via mobile

    Every aspect of our Saffire stay was amazing. Each dinner was a culinary experience. The activities were top notch as were the guides (especially Nicole and Ash). We really enjoyed the Wineglass Bay Lookout Walk, the Oyster Experience and the Tasmanian Devil encounter. The night skies were beautiful (the Milky Way was visible all night). I wish I had brought the right camera equipment to photograph it. Saffire might consider some sort of activity centered on the night skies. Saffire has become the standard against which all of our future travels will be judged.

    Date of stay: February 2024
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    Thank David B
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Patrick Barrie, General Manager at Saffire Freycinet, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2024

    Hello David B,

    Thank you for taking the time to write, lovely to hear from you!

    Truly thrilled that you enjoyed such a memorable experience at Saffire. Having lived in the local area for many years, I must agree that the sky above the Freycinet National Park are some of the most stunning in Australia.

    On behalf of the entire team, we look forward to hosting you once again in the future.

    Sincerely,

    Patrick Barrie

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 19 February 2024

    We’d been wanting to visit Saffire Lodge for a long time and finally had the chance. We would certainly compliment the team led by Patrick Barrie who went out of their way to help and guide us during our stay.

    Overall, it’s a lovely spot and the accommodation was excellent with one of the most comfortable beds and bedding we’ve slept in (and we’ve slept in a lot of outstanding hotels). So, sleep quality was outstanding.

    We walked over to Wineglass Bay and swam. It was beautifully refreshing and clear water accompanied by a vigorous and picturesque hike. We also walked and swam in the beach right outside the resort which was pristine. The Oyster Farm is also a great included activity, though it was so windy we could not picnic in the water which was disappointing.

    We would have loved there to be a good quality spa, steam room, infrared and other wellbeing activity options befitting of a resort of this calibre. The massage we booked was good. The current gym is very small. I believe the Resort is developing a better spa/wellbeing option.

    The inclusive food and beverage is great if you like to eat and drink a lot. However, we tend to prefer to eat less and have an occasional glass of wine. So, the all-inclusive pricing did not represent great value for us. That being said, the food was generally good quality and some of it was excellent. We did feel that the gluten-free bread option needed to be better. There are so many wonderful gluten-free and keto breads available now and white gluten-free bread has no nutritional value and is carbohydrate heavy. On the final night we had a degustation and the service was rather slow.

    There were many international guests at the Resort and we met some lovely people there.

    Date of stay: December 2023
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    Thank Tania d
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Patrick Barrie, General Manager at Saffire Freycinet, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2024

    Hello Taniad930,

    Thank you for taking the time to write, it was an absolute pleasure speaking with you throughout your time at Saffire.

    Enjoying a good night sleep can make such an impact on a guest's time at Saffire. Delighted that you were able to enjoy this simple pleasure during your time with us.

    A sincere thank you for taking the time to so carefully consider the small adjustments we can make to our guest offering. As always, as a leadership team we will work through each suggestion and work towards improving the experience of future Saffire guests.

    If I can personally be of any assistance planning your return journey to Saffire, please do not hesitate to ask.

    Sincerely,

    Patrick Barrie

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 2 February 2024

    After hiking for days in Tasmania, we splurged on a 4-night stay at Saffire. It was an amazing place with first-rate staff and service. Our room was impeccable, food and wines were excellent, bartenders were great (try some Tassie whiskey or gin), and the guides were top-notch. We really enjoyed the Oyster Farm experience and the Schouten Island boat ride. If you like hiking, consider the self-guided Hazards Loop (about 11k/8m) through beautiful beaches and bush. What a pleasure to stay at such a well-run property. Thanks to everyone who made our stay so special.

    Date of stay: January 2024
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    Thank haveboots
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Patrick Barrie, General Manager at Saffire Freycinet, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2024

    Dear haveboots,

    Thank you for taking the time to write, lovely to hear from you.

    Delighted that you enjoyed such a memorable time with our team at Saffire.

    The Hazards Loop is a favourite of mine, and incredible way to see the National Park.

    On behalf of the entire team, we look forward to hosting you again at some stage in the near future.

    Sincerely,

    Patrick Barrie

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 24 January 2024

    Amazing stay in a stunning location with wonderful service, tours and food and drink. From being greeted at the airport and welcomed at the resort the whole experience was brilliant. The excursions were fascinating particularly
    connection to the country with Mick and the Tasmanian Devils with Nicole. Five night stay was great, big thank you to Patrick , Will and team for an outstanding holiday. Highly recommended.

    Date of stay: January 2024
    • Trip type: Travelled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    Thank malcolmbridgeford
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Patrick Barrie, General Manager at Saffire Freycinet, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2024

    Dear malcolmbridgeford,

    Thank you for taking the time to write, it was a pleasure speaking with you during your time at Saffire.

    Truly delighted that you were able to enjoy so many of our experiences, I'm impressed every day with how Mick & Nicole share their knowledge with our guests.

    On behalf of the entire team, we are all looking forward to your next visit! If I can be of any assistance planning your return journey, please do not hesitate to ask.

    Sincerely,

    Patrick Barrie

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews