We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Steve R
Long Beach, Australia

I didn't ecen miss the wi-fi

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 7 Mar 2020
This was a perfect 4 days. Great hiking, great food, great wine, a wonderful eco-lodge, with limited numbers and awesome support. Plus some surprises that I won't spoil by putting them here. I have done some much more ambitious treks (Kilimanjara, Nepal etc) but I can't imagine a better hiking experience that will suit all comers, and enable friends of all ability to have a wonderful shared experience.
Kudos to all involved (especially Luke and Sam the hosts, and Jess, Danny and Emily the guides)
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
FEWFNP, Manager at Freycinet Experience Walk Friendly Beaches Lodge, responded to this review
Responded 10 Mar 2020
Hello, X6406VPstever!

Thank you kindly for taking the time to review our four-day walking experience.

It is so wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your time with us, and were so well looked after by our brilliant team!

Your group would be most welcome back to join us on the Peninsula, perhaps during a different season! It is such a treat to observe how the landscape changes from spring, to summer, through to autumn (you might also be interested to hear more about our Lodge Based bookings available for return guests who might fancy a little more down time at our beach side eco-lodge!).

We wish you all the very best for your future travels and hope to see you on the Peninsula again!

Warmest,

The Freycinet Experience Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Coles Bay
AU$468
  • Priceline
    AU$468
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$473
  • Vio.com
    AU$468
11.5 km from Freycinet Experience Walk Friendly Beaches Lodge
Free parking
Restaurant
AU$255
  • Priceline
    AU$239
  • Agoda.com
    AU$234
  • Vio.com
    AU$255
5.8 km from Freycinet Experience Walk Friendly Beaches Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$196
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$196
12.5 km from Freycinet Experience Walk Friendly Beaches Lodge
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
12.6 km from Freycinet Experience Walk Friendly Beaches Lodge
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Algotels
14.0 km from Freycinet Experience Walk Friendly Beaches Lodge
Free parking
Beachfront
  • eDreams
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
12.6 km from Freycinet Experience Walk Friendly Beaches Lodge
Beachfront
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • Lol.travel
12.8 km from Freycinet Experience Walk Friendly Beaches Lodge
a bar in a bedroom
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Official Site
    AU$101
  • Hotels.com
20.8 km from Freycinet Experience Walk Friendly Beaches Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$137
  • Hotels.com
20.9 km from Freycinet Experience Walk Friendly Beaches Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Cherry Cottage - 2nd bedroom
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$186
  • Hotels.com
21.0 km from Freycinet Experience Walk Friendly Beaches Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Freycinet
Reviews (104)
Filter reviews
104 results
Traveller rating
101
1
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
101
1
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews from start to finish wealth of knowledge lodge experience walk group hosts tasmania weather options history wood flora sleeping description serenity composting
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 104 reviews
Reviewed 2 June 2019

We went on the Freycinet Experience Walk immediately after having completed the Bay of Fires Lodge Walk (see our separate review). These two walks were similar in many ways, even the lodges were designed by the same architect. However, as much as they were similar, they were also different.

The Freycinet Experience Walk does not have the same remote and windswept feel of the Bay of Fires, in fact, there was a small cruise liner anchored in Wine Glass Bay. However, while there are more people around in the Freycinet National Park, the walk itself had a more intimate and personal feel to it.

On the first day a short boat trip to Schouten Island – with detours to admire the marine birds – was a great way to relax. While my wife and I opted to go fishing for flathead in the afternoon, the rest of the group opted to climb Bear Hill. The boat captain knows the best fishing spots and we took over 30 flathead – these were served for dinner that evening.

The next two days involved about 7 hours of walking each day (about 14 km a day). The walks, most of which were off the beaten track, were fantastic with a combination of beach, inland and cliff top treks. The landscapes and wildlife (mainly birds) make all the effort worthwhile. The walks were at a reasonable pace but included frequent refreshments stops – as well as opportunities to go swimming in in the fantastic surf.

On the third day we were unable to use the boat to access Bluestone Bay due to rough seas and walked from the main national park carpark – the alternative walks were excellent and secluded once we made some progress away from the car park. While Wine Glass Bay was fairly busy when we arrived, everyone seemed to disappear at lunch time leaving the bay to us.

The highlight of the walk are the fantastic guides and Beach Lodge. Our guides were enthusiastic and knowledgeable - especially Isaac, who is the grandson of the founder of the walk and lodge, and gave insights into the history and philosophy of the walk and the lodge. Nothing was too much trouble for Amy and Isaac, and the team at the Lodge.

The lodge is designed to sleep about 10 guests and has enough rooms to cater for some singles (at no extra cost). The sleeping area is split into two smaller lodges with a sitting room with fireplace and shared bathroom facilities (including a bath) in each. The main central lodge includes a large sitting room, library, decks and dining area. The food is excellent and includes ample wine and beer.

The design and feel of the lodge are fantastic providing an intimate atmosphere but also privacy if desired. The lodge is hidden from the beach and is nestled among trees at the top of the hill above the beach.

Highly recommended

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SWKA
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
FEWFNP, Manager at Freycinet Experience Walk Friendly Beaches Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2019

Dear SWAK,

Thank you kindly for your review, it is wonderful to hear that you felt the intimate and homely atmosphere that our team endeavour to create. We are so lucky to have such a secluded and peaceful space to come home to, and to share!

As a family owned operation, we are delighted to hear that Isaac was able to share our story with you personally.

Should you wish to share the experience with others, returning guests are always most welcome, either on our signature four-day walking trips, or, on our lodge-based or personalised experiences (you might find our shoulder seasons to your liking, with fewer visitors to the Peninsula).

Please do not hesitate to get in touch if you would like to hear more. Until then, best wishes, and happy traveling.

Warm regards,

Zoe (on behalf of the Freycinet Experience Team).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2019 via mobile

I reluctantly divulge this piece of paradise to TripAdvisor readers.

Firstly the name is so apt- the guides and team are genuinely in love with what they do. Authenticity is in everything they do.

Secondly the experience is tailored for those who want to work up a sweat ( Thanks Dan for jogging 10km at 6am) , climbing a mountain or a leisurely 14 km beach walk. The team structure each day so smartly.

Where else can the guide dive into the sea and pull out a massive abelone for dinner? And the respect for the wilderness was to leave the other few dozen in the sea. Friendly beach is about 8kms and I saw absolutely no one else on it through my binoculars. Wineglass Bay reminds me of the best lakes in Europe except it’s a bay in the sea.

The place is heaven- miles of empty beaches, translucent seas, and what great hosts! They ( Dan and Gemma) can really cook- the food was exquisite.

I’ve traveled around the world and the best place seems to be on my own doorstep. Just do it.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank 217jeremyj
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
FEWFNP, Manager at Freycinet Experience Walk Friendly Beaches Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2019

Dear 217jeremyj,

Thank you kindly for your review. We are delighted to hear that you loved our team as much as we do. We are so lucky to work with such genuine and passionate lovers of the coast and mountains that our Peninsula offer.

Should you wish to share the experience with others, returning guests are always most welcome, either on our signature four-day walking trips, or, on our lodge-based or personalised experiences.

Please do not hesitate to get in touch if you would like to hear more. Until then, best wishes, and happy traveling.

Warm regards,

Zoe (on behalf of the Freycinet Experience Team).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2019

Words and photos aren't enough to describe how insanely beautiful and momentous this experience was. I climbed mountains, saw astounding sunsets, learnt history about the history of the land and tasted some incredible food and wine. The architecturally designed accommodation offered everything we needed for four days and fits seamlessly into the surrounding landscape and coastal woodland. The walks were the perfect balance of a physical challenge to be conquered and awe-inspiring views. Our guides, Holly, Danny and Dan were considerate, supportive, so easy to connect with and always willing to go the extra mile to enhance our experience. Dan and Gemma prepared us some incredible meals (and good wine) made with local produce to enjoy out on the trail and back at the lodge after a long day exploring. We were never hungry. Our skipper, Noah (yes, his actual name) and our bus river, Lauren also shared their knowledge and passion for Freycinet. I can't give enough praise to the incredible crew who took such good care of our group. You feel their love for their work and their experience and understanding of what makes Freycinet magical. Intimate, reflective, moving and de-toxing, choose Freycinet Experience Walk and you'll have four days you'll remember for the rest of your life - hot tip: turn off the phone, be sparing with the camera, just take in the moment and breathe the fresh air

Room tip: N/a - all rooms are perfect
Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank emjboard
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
FEWFNP, Manager at Freycinet Experience Walk Friendly Beaches Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2019

Dear emjboard,

Thank you kindly for your review. We are delighted to hear that our team took good care of you! We are so lucky to work with such genuine and passionate lovers of the coast and mountains that our Peninsula offer, and the local produce that is available to us!

Please do not hesitate to get in touch if you would like any details about the food or wines we shared.

Should you wish to share our experience with others, returning guests are always most welcome, either on our signature four-day walking trips, or, on our lodge-based or personalised experiences.

Wishing you a safe and happy 2019, and we hope to see you again (we have so many beautiful wildflowers blooming at the moment!).

Warm regards,

Zoe (on behalf of the Freycinet Experience Team).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2019

Would I go back and do it all again? Absolutely. The lodge, the food, the staff, the fellow guests, the Freycinet. Excellent value. There is plenty to do, but at an easy pace and with options to suit all.

Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Craig P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
FEWFNP, Manager at Freycinet Experience Walk Friendly Beaches Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2019

Hi Craig,

Thank you. We'd love to have you back again. The seasons offer a different experience of a place we always find renewing. Travel well!

Best wishes,
Daniel​

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2019 via mobile

This walk was spectacular, the accommodation secluded but close to Friendly Beaches. But the highlight was the crew that made the experience a memorable one - Hectors love of nature, Jess' organisational skills, Noah's boating skills, Gemma's calm nature and Dans humour. One day it was unsafe to walk due to risk of fire. No problem, we beach hopped in the boat instead. One night I was taken down to the beach at night to sea the sparkling phosphorescence waves, a highlight. The food and wine was great too!

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Sharyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
FEWFNP, Manager at Freycinet Experience Walk Friendly Beaches Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2019

Dear Sharyn,
Thank you for your kind words. They replenish the energy levels of our staff. We have to be flexible when walking in the wilderness. Luckily, Freycinet provides so many amazing options. Phosphorescence is our favourite surprise and makes life feel magical!
Best wishes,
Daniel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews