We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Sharyn B
Melbourne, Australia

Stunning location and dedicated crew

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 4 Feb 2019via mobile
This walk was spectacular, the accommodation secluded but close to Friendly Beaches. But the highlight was the crew that made the experience a memorable one - Hectors love of nature, Jess' organisational skills, Noah's boating skills, Gemma's calm nature and Dans humour. One day it was unsafe to walk due to risk of fire. No problem, we beach hopped in the boat instead. One night I was taken down to the beach at night to sea the sparkling phosphorescence waves, a highlight. The food and wine was great too!
Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Travelled solo
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
FEWFNP, Manager at Freycinet Experience Walk Friendly Beaches Lodge, responded to this review
Responded 5 Feb 2019
Dear Sharyn,
Thank you for your kind words. They replenish the energy levels of our staff. We have to be flexible when walking in the wilderness. Luckily, Freycinet provides so many amazing options. Phosphorescence is our favourite surprise and makes life feel magical!
Best wishes,
Daniel
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Coles Bay
  • Hotels.com
  • eDreams
  • Trip.com
11.5 km from Freycinet Experience Walk Friendly Beaches Lodge
Free parking
Restaurant
    9.6 km from Freycinet Experience Walk Friendly Beaches Lodge
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    • eDreams
    • Priceline
    • Agoda.com
    11.3 km from Freycinet Experience Walk Friendly Beaches Lodge
    Free parking
    • Hotels.com
    • eDreams
    • Trip.com
    5.8 km from Freycinet Experience Walk Friendly Beaches Lodge
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    AU$194
    Fully refundable
    • Hotels.com
    • eDreams
    • Expedia.com
      AU$194
    12.6 km from Freycinet Experience Walk Friendly Beaches Lodge
    Free parking
    • eDreams
    • Priceline
    • Agoda.com
    12.6 km from Freycinet Experience Walk Friendly Beaches Lodge
    Beachfront
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Booking.com
    • Algotels
    • Vio.com
    14.0 km from Freycinet Experience Walk Friendly Beaches Lodge
    Free parking
    Beachfront
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Priceline
    • Agoda.com
    • Expedia.com
    12.8 km from Freycinet Experience Walk Friendly Beaches Lodge
    • Priceline
    12.5 km from Freycinet Experience Walk Friendly Beaches Lodge
    View more hotels in Freycinet
    Reviews (104)
    Filter reviews
    104 results
    Traveller rating
    101
    1
    2
    0
    0
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    Traveller rating
    101
    1
    2
    0
    0
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviews from start to finish wealth of knowledge lodge experience walk group hosts tasmania weather options history wood flora sleeping description serenity composting
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    11 - 16 of 104 reviews
    Reviewed 31 January 2019 via mobile

    Thank you to everyone at the Freycinet Experience Walk for a great 4 days of hiking. I was one of a small group for the four days but everyone’s needs were looked after. My specific need was gluten free food, I was impressed that if the other hikers were given raison toast or scones, I was given the gluten free version. We had two guides that took us out every day and we were able to split into two groups on one day to cater for different walking interests. The highlight for me was sitting on the beach of Wineglass Bay on the second day, it was truly breathtaking. Thank you for the lovely food, it was 5 class and the accommodation was comfy especially after a day of walking. It was nice to socialise with the guides and the cooks for dinner and before and after dinner too.

    Date of stay: January 2019
    Trip type: Travelled solo
    Thank greatsouth
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    FEWFNP, Manager at Freycinet Experience Walk Friendly Beaches Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2019

    Good morning greatsouth,

    Thank you for your comments and for your company. We'll share them with our team. It's a pleasure to make treats for all. Your positive feedback is most appreciated and nourishes us. Freycinet is magical and we're thrilled you love it too.

    Best wishes,
    Daniel

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 29 January 2019

    My wife, 12 year old son, and I did this walk in December 2018, and we absolutely loved it. True, it's very expensive, but -- beyond the cost -- it was an absolute gem of an experience, and we would do it again in a heartbeat.

    Date of stay: December 2018
    Trip type: Travelled with family
    Thank Christopher-Caitlin
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    FEWFNP, Manager at Freycinet Experience Walk Friendly Beaches Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2019

    Dear Christopher-Catlin,

    Thank you for your kind words. We'd have you both back in a heartbeat! It's a very different experience in the different seasons.

    Best wishes,
    Daniel

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 26 January 2019

    Friendly Beaches Lodge and its guided walks really are memorable experiences. The walks were at times challenging for my (very) mature body and dodgy knee, but you just take things at your own pace - no pressure from the lovely guides - and you have a wonderful sense of achievement at the end.
    I thought the walks would be reasonably flat; but they are hilly with many boulders and stone steps, so I do suggest taking walking poles. The area is beautiful, unspoilt - totally remote from city life - but best of all are the Lodge staff. Our guides, Holly and Amy, and hosts/chefs Dan and Gemma, not only excelled at their jobs, but they were genuinely warm and welcoming - and fun. Guests felt like family.
    Accommodation was very comfortable (shared bathrooms but other guests were lovely); food was plentiful and delicious, and yoga mats and rollers were ready with afternoon tea on our return each day's walk.
    This experience is worth saving for.

    Date of stay: January 2019
    • Trip type: Travelled solo
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank damascus2016
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    FEWFNP, Manager at Freycinet Experience Walk Friendly Beaches Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2019

    Dear damscus2016,

    Thank you for your generous words and sentiments. Thank you also for persevering to gain such rich rewards. We are humbled to share Freycinet National Park and Friendly Beaches Lodge with guests. We're glad you enjoyed the unique experience, our lovely staff, and the food. It's all thoroughly deserved!

    Best wishes,
    Daniel

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 22 January 2019 via mobile

    We are a family of five who stayed in early December. Everything was just perfect. Admittedly blessed with great weather. The walks are challenging, but there are easier options if you choose. Great guides who clearly value the world we live in and love sharing its delights. The food was excellent. Satisfied the varied tastes of our family. I even came away with some recipes, which I very rarely do. Would strongly recommend to anyone looking to experience the wonderful wilderness with a decent dose of luxury to soothe the boned

    Date of stay: December 2018
    Trip type: Travelled with family
    Thank Sean N
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    FEWFNP, Manager at Freycinet Experience Walk Friendly Beaches Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2019

    Dear Sean,
    Thank you for bringing your family to Tasmania to share the beauty and hidden secrets of Freycinet National Park. Thanks also for sharing your experience here. We hope more discerning travelers can experience our unique version of barefoot luxury!
    Best wishes,
    Daniel

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 26 November 2018

    Excellent. So pleased I made the decision to go on this walk and felt very rewarded after it.. Accommodation was very comfortable. Food was amazing. Staff very competent and extremely friendly. I was amazed by their knowledge on all the history, flora and fauna. Always keen to help and showed a genuine interest in all the travellers.

    Room tip: All rooms were quiet and had a bush view
    Date of stay: November 2018
    • Trip type: Travelled solo
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank Jane A
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    FEWFNP, Manager at Freycinet Experience Walk Friendly Beaches Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2018

    Dear Jane,

    Thank you for your kind review and for travelling so far to share our experience. We hope to see you again one day. Safe travels!

    Daniel

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews