We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lock in great prices from these sites
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (44)
Filter reviews
44 results
Traveller rating
24
10
9
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
24
10
9
1
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 44 reviews
Reviewed 16 February 2020 via mobile

Initially chosen for its proximity to the Spirit of Tasmania ferry terminal, we stayed in the First Officers Quarters for one night.

The house has been beautifully restored and represents its history exceptionally well.

Whilst the accommodation is neat with expected amenities, the first officers quarters is a bit challenging in a few areas.

Bar fridge is sitting on the floor with a microwave sitting on top of it. A table please!
Bathroom is poorly designed with a common floor for toilet, shower and basin. The shower rose is in the centre of the room without an enclosure.
Double bed is far too small!!!! I’m 6’ and my feet hang over the end.
Motion sensor light is annoying at night.

None of the drawbacks would deter me from returning now I understand what’s on offer.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank AFCB123
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 October 2019

This is a large 19th century house which has been restored beautifully, and divided into 2 separate areas for accommodation. We (2 adults and 2 kids) stayed in the "Captain's Lodgings" section. The place has free wifi. There is lots of antique furniture and ship-themed decorations. Despite being an old house, it has been beautifully restored with a modern bathroom. It has a full kitchen with cooking and eating utensils, knives, boards, pots and pans, microwave, stove/oven, jug etc. There is a lovely garden with some chairs to sit on, and an old kid's swing set. There's no laundry facilities for guests to use, so be aware of that.

The price is also very affordable for such a nice place.

The only downside to this accommodation is that it's a little out of town. All the restaurants, shops and lighthouse are about a 10 minute drive down the highway and across the bridge.

However, there is an IGA Xpress supermarket, a butcher and a cafe nearby (cafe is in another historic house).

Date of stay: October 2019
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glenn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 October 2019

This accommodation is just beautiful. The furnishings are olde style but the kitchen and bathroom amenities are very modern, clean and has everything you didn't know you wanted. We stayed 4 days in this lovely old home and would not hesitate to stay again. Convenient to town, just across the river and pleasant riverside walks and importantly just 2 minutes from the ferry. Shops are just around the corner for the grocery items etc. Our love of history was satisfied when we saw the history of the house and found the hand written message from a daughter of the Port Master.
What was most surprising, was the image of an old fashioned lady which appeared in my camera when I reviewed the following morning. I then took another photo with my camera on a direct line of sight and with none of us nearby to reflect in the frame.
Same result with the young lady appearing. This is, to us, a most treasured photo.

Date of stay: February 2019
Thank Adventure66770211893
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 November 2018 via mobile

Quiet location with many period features.
Very handy for ferry. Plenty of facilities in the house. Two things that were a little difficult ... the people sleeping in the living room had 2 door frames but only one door and the shower splashed water like crazy. We spent a while each day squeegeeing the floor.
But in spite of that the Port Masters Lodgings were a step back in time and a quaint start to our holiday.

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank TrowleyGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 September 2018

Such a smooth easy booking with Claudia. I had changed the day we were to arrive on the Spirit of Tasmania so sent Claudia a txt and organised everything. We stayed in the First Officers Cabin and had everything we needed for our first night. Nice and close to the terminal and an absolutely beautiful, peaceful setting. Secure behind gate parking (not that you need it!)

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank familyofiveMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews