We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Julia M
Melbourne, Australia

River acoss Road. Bistro and Breaky at Property. Modern comforts inside room. Close to Spirit Ferry . 6 mins drive shops ....J

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 26 Feb 2022via mobile
Thanks All at Argosy. Really enjoyed our stay
Looks older style on outside but all nice modern inside. Totally okay for short stays .
Plenty room. Breaky avaliable at Property as is Dinner in Bistro .
Walk across road to Mersey River. 5 min drive to Ferry Terminal. Short drive across Bridge to Devonport main shopping area. There are shops near Ferry too on same side as Motel and Beautiful Ocean Beach.
Date of stay: February 2022
Room Tip: Two sorts of rooms. One more up market and 2 bedrooms. We have stayed in both. Dont be put off by...
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Goodstone Group, Owner at Argosy Motor Inn Devonport, responded to this review
Responded 16 Mar 2022
Thank you Julia for a lovely review!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$206
  • Hotels.com
1.3 km from Argosy Motor Inn Devonport
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$199
  • Hotels.com
1.2 km from Argosy Motor Inn Devonport
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotel Gym
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$142
  • Hotels.com
1.8 km from Argosy Motor Inn Devonport
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Novotel
    AU$161
  • Hotels.com
1.8 km from Argosy Motor Inn Devonport
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Queen Room with Ensuite
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$97
  • Hotels.com
1.5 km from Argosy Motor Inn Devonport
Free Wifi
Free parking
General
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$125
  • Hotels.com
2.3 km from Argosy Motor Inn Devonport
Free parking
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$155
  • Hotels.com
2.5 km from Argosy Motor Inn Devonport
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$113
  • Hotels.com
2.1 km from Argosy Motor Inn Devonport
Free Wifi
Free parking
Garden
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$130
  • Hotels.com
2.9 km from Argosy Motor Inn Devonport
Free Wifi
Free parking
Standard Queen Room
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$128
  • Booking.com
2.2 km from Argosy Motor Inn Devonport
Free parking
Restaurant
View more hotels in Devonport
Reviews (184)
Filter reviews
184 results
Traveller rating
38
74
38
20
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
38
74
38
20
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews stayed here one nighter facing the road min drive great bathroom overnight stay one night stay rooms are small river view bottle shop late check great facilities main room definitely stay here again convenient location bistro reception
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 184 reviews
Reviewed 16 January 2022 via mobile

I was pleasantly surprised at the room
It was clean with a lovely refurbished bathroom
TV was large and the bed comfortable.
Parking outside the room and bistro on site serving well priced meals.
Perfect for staying near Spirit of Tasmania , just a matter of minutes.
I will definitely stay here again.
Service was friendly too

Date of stay: January 2022
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Tina-3280
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Goodstone Group, Owner at Argosy Motor Inn Devonport, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2022

Thank you Tina - we look forward to having you back again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2022

Room was clean, however I think smoking was allowed some years ago and the our room has some smoking smell.
The room was facing the road so although at night it was not too busy, still noise from the road is heard.

Room tip: Avoid rooms facing the road.
Date of stay: January 2022
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jota_Jota_O
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Goodstone Group, Owner at Argosy Motor Inn Devonport, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2022

Sorry to hear that you found the room smelt of smoke. We do not and have not allowed smoking in our rooms for many, many years. Unfortunately some guests may smoke out side the room while their door is open. We will try to address to ensure that no smell lingers in rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2021

We just needed somewhere to stay for the night so went for something cheap as just wanted to sleep. We were pleasantly surpprised. Great location, very good value. Nice and clean, tavern available on site for meals. Reception very helpful, parking outside room. Would stay here again.

Date of stay: November 2021
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Michelle Barton, Marketing at Argosy Motor Inn Devonport, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2021

So good to hear Jenny - we look forward to welcoming you back one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2021 via mobile

The total experience was fantastic. Room was perfect for 2 adults and 3 kids, the shower was great and spacious.
The lady at relation have perfect customer service 12/10. We rang up in the morning enquiring about breakfast room service and even tho we should of ordered it the night before the lady organised it for us without it being an issue and it was delivered within 30 mins to our room. Highly recommend you give the Argosy a try

Room tip: Parking is easy and spots are spacious, perfectly located
Date of stay: December 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Jason K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Michelle Barton, Marketing at Argosy Motor Inn Devonport, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2021

Thank you so much Jason for the fantastic review and comments. So pleased you enjoyed your stay and our staff took great care of you (I will make sure your comments are passed on). Hope you will think of us again if travelling through Devonport.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2021

Reception........Excellent staff and a warm welcome
Room................. Huge room and refurbished. Excellent bathroom with warm and comfy beds. The biggest TV on the wall..
Area................... Need a car to get around
Amenities...... It has all you need. A pub with a restaurant at excellent beer and food prices...
Would we stay here again?........................ YES

Date of stay: May 2021
1  Thank Ian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Michelle Barton, Marketing at Argosy Motor Inn Devonport, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2021

Thank you so much Ian! I am so sorry I missed this review until now.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews