We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Bay View Holiday Village(Devonport)(Great Value!)
USD 72
USD 70
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 117
USD 108
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 127
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sunrise Devonport(Devonport)(Great Value!)
USD 92
USD 70
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Edgewater(Devonport)
USD 69
USD 67
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 87
USD 80
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Barclay Motor Inn(Devonport)(Great Value!)
USD 69
USD 63
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 23% below average rates

The price you found is 23% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 82/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Discovery Parks - Devonport(Devonport)(Great Value!)
USD 99
USD 90
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Dannebrog Lodge(Devonport)(Great Value!)
USD 113
USD 92
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (126)
Filter reviews
126 results
Traveller rating
21
46
34
16
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
21
46
34
16
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgaming loungeplay roomplace to stayone nightbottle shopshort drivetwo night staycooked breakfastfree wificlean roomsconvenient locationcomfy bedthe riverdining roommicrowaveheapsterminal
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 126 reviews
Reviewed 7 March 2018

Don't be put off by the outside of this budget hotel. Rooms have obviously recently been updated and present as clean and modern. The hotel is very close to a busy road so noise is an issue but excellent for the budget conscious. Not far from Spirit of Tasmania dock.

Room Tip: Front rooms have view of sea and park but noisy road
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Wayne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goodstone2015, Guest Relations Manager at Argosy Motor Inn Devonport, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review. We appreciate the rating and the feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2018

OK it is a Motor Inn and therefore only five minutes from the ferry by car. However we had returned our hire car and were walk-on passengers who found ourselves a very long walk from the ferry, shops and cafes. It was a relief to find that it was easy to book a taxi to get us to the ferry on time for a cost of only $7.40. The Edgewater is down near the ferry and shops. Since the Argosy dining room was booked out we found a bakery two long blocks' walk to and fro with good service and a large choice of dinner options.
Our two bedroom family unit family room was clean, comfortable and pleasant with a huge bathroom with bath and shower. Parking space was not available in front of our unit as spaces were cramped. Because this is a very large motor inn the staff, although pleasant, were impersonal. The streamlined, childproof, handleless cupboard doors and drawers were a bit of a challenge but no reason to complain. Opposite the Argosy is a green strip park at the edge of the river but this view is only available to the front rooms. I'd rather have been staying closer to the ferry and cafes but if this isn't an issue I can recommend the Argosy.

Room Tip: Only the front rooms have a view of the river. We were tucked into a back corner at the back.
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 437judya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2018

We were a group of 65 people coming to Tasmania for a long weekend tour in our Mustangs. As you can imagine feeding and parking 32 Mustangs in a timely manner can be a very challenging endeavour. This motel rose to the challenge and delivered. We were all fed a hot breakfast in an hour we were all in and out. Clean and very hospitable. Can very highly recommend this as an alternative to the cafes within walking distance based purely on numbers. It is only a 2minute drive from the terrminal. Great job girls we will see you again.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with friends
Thank midnightbluekc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goodstone2015, Guest Relations Manager at Argosy Motor Inn Devonport, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2018

So glad we could help you out and that everything suited your needs. We will be very happy to see you all back again! Thank you for taking the time to review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2018 via mobile

The rooms were basic but were clean and offered exactly what we were after for a nights stay after the boat.

It’s dated and that could be seen as you drive up but don’t be too put off by it. athe beds were firm which was no good for our backs (however we prefer soft). The staff were excellent and couldn’t have been more helpful.

We would stay there again.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
Thank Jarrod C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goodstone2015, Guest Relations Manager at Argosy Motor Inn Devonport, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2018

Thank you for the review. Would love for you to try our newly upgraded suite rooms next time - we think you will be really happy with the quality. Our standards offer good budget accommodation and while we have refreshed as we can we do have big plans for major renovation on all these rooms and our venue as a whole. Appreciate your feedback

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2018

Our room had two queen beds in the main area and a smaller bedroom with bunkbeds for the children (who loved their individual reading lamps). The beds were comfortable, and the cupboards well-stocked with cutlery and crockery. The bathroom is large, and the water pressure good, although the bath takes a long time to fill.

Unfortunately the tv (right in front of the bed) could not be unplugged, which left the standby lights glowing all night: bring an eye mask!

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kydjar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goodstone2015, Guest Relations Manager at Argosy Motor Inn Devonport, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2018

Thanks for the review - we will pass your comments onto our maintenance team in case there is a way to shut this off.

Hope we will see you again one day

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews