We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
ZenHotels.com
AU$141
No prepayment needed
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
JElliot32
New South Wales, Australia

Ticked all our boxes + close to CBD

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 9 Apr 2024
We had no complaints about our one-night stay at this hotel. Our room clean and spacious (incl bathroom), comfy queen-size bed, excellent wifi and little extraneous noise - which we were worried about with a view of the port out of our window. The CBD is just a short stroll away. Dining room also pleasant (and busy) with a good range of dinner options, and readonably priced
Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled with friends
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
AU$171
Fully refundable
  • Novotel
    AU$171
  • Expedia.com
    AU$171
  • Hotels.com
    AU$171
0.2 km from Gateway Hotel by Nightcap Plus
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Tripadvisor
AU$128
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$128
1.3 km from Gateway Hotel by Nightcap Plus
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
AU$128
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$128
1.8 km from Gateway Hotel by Nightcap Plus
Free Wifi
Free parking
General
Tripadvisor
AU$146
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
1.6 km from Gateway Hotel by Nightcap Plus
Free parking
Tripadvisor
AU$126
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$126
0.7 km from Gateway Hotel by Nightcap Plus
Free parking
Restaurant
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • eDreams
0.6 km from Gateway Hotel by Nightcap Plus
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Algotels
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$92
  • Expedia.com
    AU$96
0.6 km from Gateway Hotel by Nightcap Plus
Free Wifi
Free parking
Queen Room with Ensuite
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$117
  • Hotels.com
0.4 km from Gateway Hotel by Nightcap Plus
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$116
  • Expedia.com
    AU$119
1.1 km from Gateway Hotel by Nightcap Plus
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$209
  • Hotels.com
2.4 km from Gateway Hotel by Nightcap Plus
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Devonport
Reviews (938)
Filter reviews
938 results
Traveller rating
304
429
142
46
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
304
429
142
46
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews quality hotel spa room place to stay off street parking visit devonport excellent location comfortable stay stayed one night centre of town continental breakfast ferry terminal tasmania spirit accommodation
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 938 reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2024 via mobile

A short notice trip to Devonport over the Easter break gave us a reason to return to The Gateway for an overnight stay. It is a useful central location but despite its CBD setting it is surprising how unobtrusive the traffic noise is generally in our experience if you are on the fourth floor.

At a hectic period the receptionist was “grace under pressure” dealing with each guest in an efficient and friendly way that created a very favourable first impression. This goodwill was continued by the staff in the dining area who were busy but amiable, smiles go along way in soothing tired travellers and the genuine interactions were appreciated.

A shared serving of duck spring rolls for starters was a nice nibble along with our wines. Then curried scallops and the lamb roast were satisfying main dishes. We had reached our limits so dessert offerings were not explored but appeared popular with nearby diners. Our buffet breakfasts had a good selection to pick from and the options for cooked dishes were also appealing and seemed reasonably priced.

Room tip: If it is raining heavily be mindful that some areas of the open air Carpark can become large puddles and access to vehicles can be tricky.
Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank alisonpT9338VO
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 February 2024

There is not a lot of choice when looking for a place to stay in Devonport - so our key criteria was being within walking distance of the town centre and having free on-site car parking.

First impressions of the hotel when we walked in was that it was very dated and in need of a major renovation - there were obviously some areas which had been refurbished such as the front reception but most of the areas need a significant overhaul.

Our room was downstairs on the ground floor and walking down the stairs it felt like we were going down to the basement - the carpets needed replacement and the walls repainting. The room itself, a family room was very spacious for just two people - had plenty of storage space, decent work desk, large key sized bed, decent working a/c, though the Wi-Fi was slow with limited bandwidth. Even though the decor in the room was tired and worn, the bathroom had been refurbished the bed was relatively new (nice plush mattress and clean bed linen). The room overlooked the rear car parking area, which meant I could keep a check on the car, not that I was expecting a view given the relatively cheap room rate ($110/night as opposed to $176/night). The room however was relatively dark, with only a single window. We took advantage of the QR code room service for our breakfast option, due to its connivence - the food was alright (not amazing) and on occasions was cold/warm rather than hot. The timing of housekeeping was a bit erratic, as sometimes when we arrived back after lunch it still hadn't been done and other times it was done as soon as we left in the morning. Resupplies to the room by housekeeping was also inconsistent, sometimes we had hand towels and bathmats replaced other times we were left without. Same with tissues and water bottles.

The rear car parking area had CCTV cameras, so I was comfortable with the surveillance/security however if you got back later in the evening there wasn't a lot of vacant bays, and we were there when the hotel was relatively quiet - I could imagine parking would be at a premium when it is busy. You do get a fair bit of noise in the morning from the trucks offloading liquor to the bottle shop (reversing beepers/crashing of bottles etc)

The laundry and the gym area were really hammered and had obviously see better days - though the gym did have clean towels and fresh water bottles, when I could access it. There is only one washing machine and one clothes dryer - so you need to closely watch when other people's loads finish as otherwise you could be up half the night doing your laundry.

In summary don't hold any high expectations about the Gateway Hotel, it is what it describes itself as - a centrally located 3 star hotel.

Date of stay: January 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Dingo_dude
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 September 2023

My recent stay at the Gateway Devonport was certainly one to write about. I booked in at the last minute after a day trip for work turned into an overnight. I usually stay at another hotel in the area but was wanting to try somewhere new. I stayed in one of the spa rooms which is well worth the small extra cost. The bed was the best hotel bed I have come across in years and I enjoyed my stay so much I decided to stay another night. The room service was quick and the food was excellent quality. The extra features of the room (QR code room service, automatic blinds and curtains, spa bath, Smart TV etc) just added to my wonderful stay. I would like to make an extra special mention to Sherri at reception who checked me in on my first night and was so lovely to chat too. I also came across Sherri on my second night and she remembered me by name and again was so pleasant, it really elevated my stay. Thank you so much Sherri - your customer service skills and warm nature really made me feel at home at the Gateway. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the Devonport area and would definitely consider it a pick above the rest.

Date of stay: September 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank tassieg603
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Katherine Paech, General Manager at Gateway Hotel by Nightcap Plus, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2023

Thank you for such a wonderful review, tassieg603.
It is always lovely to receive such positive feedback and know our guests have had a comfortable stay.
I will happily pass on your comments to Sherri - she is certainly an asset to our team and she will be happy to receive this recognition.
Thanks again, and we look forward to seeing you soon at Gateway Hotel by Nightcap Plus.
Regards
Katherine
Venue Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2023

The location was good, with plenty of off-street parking. The receptionist was friendly and helpful at check-in and the lift made access to our accommodation very easy. The room was spacious and clean, with a large screen television and a very comfortable kingsize bed. The modern bathroom had all the expected amenities, although the exhaust fan was very loud when it came on automatically in the middle of the night. Overall, excellent value and we would certainly stay here again.

Date of stay: June 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Mary23Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Katherine Paech, General Manager at Gateway Hotel by Nightcap Plus, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2023

Thank you for your review and feedback, Mary23Australia.
It is great to know you had such a wonderful stay.
Safe travels, and we hope to see you again at Gateway Hotel by Nightcap Plus.
Regards
Katherine
Venue Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2023

Excellent location for ferry. The deluxe king spa room with river view was very comfortable. The continental breakfast ($) was fresh, filling and reasonably priced. some free parking out the back. Staff were friendly with check-in and checkout easy and quick.

Room tip: There are about ten steps from the car park to the back entrance, some may consider taking luggage through the front entrance before parking
Date of stay: March 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Melanie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews