We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
GClife
Gold Coast, Australia

Good value for money

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 15 Nov 2021via mobile
Pleasantly surprised, modern interior and nicely appointed hotel room, we opted for a king bed overlook the river. Friendly service, the room itself is high tech with push buttons to operate blinds, curtains etc. Nice to have a smart TV with the option of watching Netflix. Centrally located and easy stroll to town
Date of stay: November 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
AU$154
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.9 km from Gateway Hotel by Nightcap Plus
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$171
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Novotel
    AU$171
0.2 km from Gateway Hotel by Nightcap Plus
Free Wifi
Restaurant
AU$138
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
3.1 km from Gateway Hotel by Nightcap Plus
Free parking
General
AU$121
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.6 km from Gateway Hotel by Nightcap Plus
Free parking
AU$128
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.8 km from Gateway Hotel by Nightcap Plus
Free Wifi
Free parking
West Courtyard and fire place
AU$205
Fully refundable
  • Agoda.com
    AU$205
  • Vio.com
    AU$205
4.7 km from Gateway Hotel by Nightcap Plus
Free Wifi
Free parking
Queen Room with Ensuite
AU$107
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.4 km from Gateway Hotel by Nightcap Plus
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$193
  • Priceline
0.6 km from Gateway Hotel by Nightcap Plus
Free Wifi
Free parking
Garden
  • Hotels.com
  • Official Site
    AU$120
  • Priceline
1.3 km from Gateway Hotel by Nightcap Plus
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$186
  • Priceline
2.4 km from Gateway Hotel by Nightcap Plus
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Devonport
Reviews (938)
Filter reviews
938 results
Traveller rating
304
429
142
46
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
304
429
142
46
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews quality hotel spa room place to stay off street parking visit devonport excellent location comfortable stay stayed one night centre of town continental breakfast ferry terminal tasmania spirit accommodation
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 938 reviews
Reviewed 23 September 2021

Lovely room although took a while to work out the electric blinds and curtains. Bathroom was spacious and bed comfortable. The laminated sheet on the bench where the kettle was had some coffee stains on from previous customer. Not ideal. A group of us met for a meal and it was great. Terrific staff.

Date of stay: August 2021
Thank Ranipuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 July 2021

This hotel sits somewhere between 3 and 4 stars.

On the 4 star side, the location is good and the room (Executive King) was modern, clean and reasonably well appointed. Staff were friendly and helpful.

On the 3 star side, the bed (2 singles joined together) was uncomfortable as one bed sat a bit higher than the other, the aircon unit was quite loud even on the lowest setting and water from the shower leaked across the bathroom along the grout of the floor tiles. The sliding frosted door to the bathroom sits away from the door frame, so it is rather awkward in terms of sounds (and dare I say smell), even for couples.

Would stay there again at a pinch, but only if there wasn't a better alternative.

Date of stay: July 2021
1  Thank Micwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Gateway Inn Hotel, General Manager at Gateway Hotel by Nightcap Plus, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2021

Hello there,
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback for us.
We are sorry that you were disappointed with some aspects of your room - we will certainly take your comments on board.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2021 via mobile

Hotel parking plentiful
Great staff that bent over backwards to accommodate our group of 25
Hotel restaurant had great food and excellent service
Only fault was the daily room service was not consistent and our room was a little noisy late at night as we were downstairs next to the back door.
Would definitely recommend

Date of stay: March 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank lindamaryo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 March 2021 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights in the executive spa suite. The room was huge & so was the spa. Everything was clean & tidy, the bed was comfy & the location was right in town.

There was onsite parking but it was not under cover.

We'd stay here again 👍

Date of stay: March 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jason_Jacqui
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 March 2021 via mobile

We stayed here for one night to catch the Spirit if Tasmania early the following morning, and we're a bit disappointed to tell you the truth. The rooms are indeed very clean, and did appear to have been recently redecorated, but the bed was uncomfortable and it appears that the airconditioning was turned off overnight because our room became unbearably hot until the following morning. Someone else mentioned in an earlier review the lack of privacy in the toilet, very European maybe but I don't like it. All in all I had the worst night's sleep of our entire 3 week trip in Tasmania. In the morning the continental breakfast offering was poor indeed. The staff were friendly and helpful but appeared to be under pressure, and much was overlooked, such as when the fruit juice glasses ran out and weren't replaced. Look, this place might be okay for a sales rep looking for a short stay and no fuss, but if you're on vacation, don't spoil your holiday. Stay somewhere else.

Date of stay: March 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews