We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a very welcome breakfast”
Review of Laneway

Laneway
Ranked #1 of 103 Restaurants in Devonport
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Open from 6:30am 7 days a week including public holidays. Our aim is to focus on turning great quality locally produced goods into simple fresh cafe-faire food. Together with a professional standard of coffee and a warm and welcoming service we hope you enjoy what we have to offer.Owners Rhys Taylor and Alex McVeity have both been involved in the hospitality industry in various guises for over ten years now. Rhys a chef has more recently been working as the owner/operator of a quality Italian establishment in Hawthorn, Melbourne. Alex has for the last 5 years been working as head barista and bar manager of the renown Pantry Cafe in Brighton Melbourne.
Reviewed 28 April 2021

After arriving at Devonport on the Spirit of Tasmania we headed to the Laneway Cafe in Devonport for an early breakfast. Great service and a great breakfast menu. First rate all round.

Date of visit: April 2021
1  Thank Alex S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (664)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 51 of 664 reviews

Reviewed 18 April 2021

We were famished for midday breakfast after a delayed arrival of the Spirit and lengthy queues. Laneway offers all the usual suspects, but does them in an interesting way. Vegetarian breakfast for me (even though I am not) and smashed avo for my friend- both excellent. Cool vibes and friendly efficient staff. On our way out we got coffees to go- not up to the same standard as the food- a bit cool and weak

Date of visit: April 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank reins76
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 April 2021 via mobile

Sensational find. Coffee superb, omelettes fantastic. Great Vibe, staff super helpful and on the ball. Couldn’t fault it. Only wish it was closer to home!

Date of visit: April 2021
1  Thank tonyg401
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 March 2021 via mobile

Laneway had been recommended as a good breakfast choice coming off the Spirit of Australia. It was easy to find and popular, but on a Tuesday morning we had no problem getting a table. Coffee orders were quickly taken a d fulfilled but my piccolo was pretty ordinary. Both our breakfasts were delicious and despite coffee were deemed to be sufficient to draw us back again. However, our next visit on a Sunday morning discovered a crowded premises and we didn’t have the time to wait for a table to become available and for our order to be filled.

Date of visit: March 2021
Thank StephenR285
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 March 2021 via mobile

Went for breakfast after disembarking the spirit of Tasmania as it had received quite good reviews. The coffee was okay and the breakfasts are a big serve however it came with possibly the worst scrambled eggs I have ever had. Oily and grey and completely inedible. The down stairs seating area had The Aircon on so high, it wasn’t a hot day, that it was literally blowing the serviettes off the table. Also quite grubby. Don’t bother.

Date of visit: March 2021
Thank AnnaColt
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Laneway also viewed

 
Devonport, Tasmania
Devonport, Tasmania
 

Been to Laneway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.